Training Pre Season '23

On the wage he is on I think he needs 1 more year of good consistent footy to be absolutely wort
I fear this. There always seems to be some god of hubris that is prized to come down and smack us with his dick. I really hope the team haven't been reading all the press and expecting it to just h
So in the years 2010 to 2020 he has polled the 3rd most brownlow votes in the league, won 3 norms, a brownlow. And you still reckon he needs one more year to justify the salary? Absolute piss take.

This will excite plenty, from Livingstone (from the article above)

Noah has been doing most of his training down back as has Liam Baker this pre-season. So we are looking to have a good settled back six down there.”

Should clarify the Noah he is referring to Balta and not Cumberland. We don't need campaigners thinking Cumberland is being turned into a HBF:tearsofjoy:
Seems like they've acknowledged that a lot of our problems with leaky defense in the first half of last year stemmed from being too unsettled back there.

Thats how I read it too. Good.
It was that but also a lack of midfield defence. That will be helped with adding in Taranto and Hopper and hopefully a fit-again Graham (carried turf toe most of the season apparently).

I think a fit again Dusty makes a big difference too, we have to defend less when we have our best player wreaking havoc. I also think Cotchin is going to be a star up forward. He looks a gun there when he has the occasional rest.

A forward line of Lynch, Dusty, Bolton, Cotchin, and an aging but crafty Jack, topped off with Cumberland kicking goals from everywhere, or MRJ hunting? Madness.

It was that but also a lack of midfield defence. That will be helped with adding in Taranto and Hopper and hopefully a fit-again Graham (carried turf toe most of the season apparently).

I think a fit again Dusty makes a big difference too, we have to defend less when we have our best player wreaking havoc. I also think Cotchin is going to be a star up forward. He looks a gun there when he has the occasional rest.

A forward line of Lynch, Dusty, Bolton, Cotchin, and an aging but crafty Jack, topped off with Cumberland kicking goals from everywhere, or MRJ hunting? Madness.
I was banging on about Cotchin forward last year and most were dismissive. We needed him in the midfield last year and he responded so the idea was moot,
but having Cotchin around will always add quality to any line because of his intensity and that he is such a good footballer.

I have a feeling he will be in for a good year, both on the ball and forward. Freed form captaincy he responded, I think moving to mid/forward will be a new challenge. Reckon he is looking forward to this year as much as anyone.

Yeah no doubt. It's very exciting to think we should now be able to gain some midfield dominance on top of a settled backline. We already have the highest scoring forward line, imagine we can get back to having the stingiest backline as well as a gun midfield o_O
I love Trent 'forever captain' Cotchin, but the one true weakness in his game is goal kicking. He is very very poor at set shots, snaps, roving off forward packs.... Forward line pressure:absolutely; goal kicking: I'm sceptical.
Cotch kicked plenty of goals as a misfielder early in his career, it was a strength of his right up until 2017. Now that he can have some freedom and doesn't have to carry the team hopefully he can be the one getting off rhe chain. You don't forget where the big sticks are.

I love Trent 'forever captain' Cotchin, but the one true weakness in his game is goal kicking. He is very very poor at set shots, snaps, roving off forward packs.... Forward line pressure:absolutely; goal kicking: I'm sceptical.
Agree Cotchin is a shit forward imo his worse position on the ground .

Needs to stay as a mid or nothing.

We've brought in two class midfielders, Dusty is primed and ready to go and doesn't have to shoulder the bulk of duties. We also have kids like Sonsie and Juddy Clarke pushing for selection.

A forward line that scored the most points last year, now with more Dusty and an even spicier MRJ

If we tighten our defense up (Hello Truck) and the mids and forwards do what they did last year, I can see us finishing 3rd at the end of the H&A games (pending injury of course).

Barry Round won a Brownlow at 31 and if there's anyone that can break the stereotypes, it's Dusty.

I've put my money where my mouth is and bet on him to win the Brownlow.
Me too! Go Dusty - those odds were delicious!

Yeah, no probs, i'll bust your kidney in half, watch you drop 10 kilos, then see how you cope with a significant person in your life passing away, then deal with the scrutiny, and i'll throw in two hamstrings to as well. Yeah, that Martin, what a weak prick for not coping in season 2022.
Mate you are so far away from my point the distance could be measured in light years.

The man is 31 and a lot of people here and in the media are talking him up like he is coming off his 17 season. I just don't understand how everyone thinks that he is going to go back to this dominant force. Do I think he is primed to have a good year? Yeah he is probably going to end up top 10 in our BNF but if you read some of the things said any result other than a second Brownlow and 4th Norm Smith is surprising

Mate you are so far away from my point the distance could be measured in light years.

The man is 31 and a lot of people here and in the media are talking him up like he is coming off his 17 season. I just don't understand how everyone thinks that he is going to go back to this dominant force. Do I think he is primed to have a good year? Yeah he is probably going to end up top 10 in our BNF but if you read some of the things said any result other than a second Brownlow and 4th Norm Smith is surprising
Sadly I think you’re probably close to the mark. I expect Dusty to be one of our top half a dozen players but probably not the dominant force he was. A lot will be determined by injury and provided he is mainly injury free will add plenty to our side. Fingers and toes are crossed and the roar of the tiger army round 1 may just be the pep up/ tonic he needs.

Lynch to play minutes against North
Prestia and Grimes in rehab with him but only due to a very conservative approach
Taranto and Hopper have done full preseason
Vlastuin recovered from rib issue
Gibcus might get back within the first month
Graham likely for round 1

Good call re settled backline, I think it’s vital we get that right, too unsettled last year albeit losing Grimes was a killer.

Love Baker back, great pressure player, who knows the balance between defence/attack.

We’ll be significantly better with Grimes Baker deep in defence
and with Truck back as well as a midfield full of 2 way gut runners its gonna be great to watch

Dusty is no ordinary player. He's not even used in the same capacity as he was in 2017. But, it's about impact. I personally believe he can still impact and influence a game significantly. I think it's a brave person to write him off.

Touche, you never lose your footy smarts or skills even if you get a little older in age!

Training Pre Season '23