Training Pre-Season 2023 (First game 18/3 v North)

Hopefully he can still impact with his running back. I certainly don't think it's in the guts.

Maybe it's not off a wing either. A poster some ways back suggested him forward. With few options there I actually don't mind that - get him absolutely gut running to be a linkup option every time the ball is turned over and we have a chance to attack. Run 200m in an arc to get seperation from his man even if it's just for that extra handball we need coming through the centre square. He's not creative enough coming out of the back half but he's excellent at being a clean link in the chain after running what would gas most players, and a clean link is really what we need. Someone connecting between Yeo/Jones/Hunt moving it out of the back half to a Ryan/Kelly/Cripps working out how to generate a scoring opportunity.

We saw in the praccy match he can find that seperation for a loose mark in the 50, and he's actually not a bad shot on goal if not too far out. Could also be played on their distributors and make life hard for them by keeping up wherever they go, where say Ryan would be better served saving his energy.

Petrucelle is yet to show he can consistently produce that same type of seperation running and Long probably needs to be allowed to play on instinct a bit more this early on.

It may not be his natural position but I think he could do it. And like Redden said last year, got to sacrifice your best/most involved role sometimes for the good of the team. We have a few candidates for wing spots, would allow us to fit a Clark/Hough/even Winder or Burgiel there and see what they're made of

His ability to help out the defence (either clogging the hole, dropping in front of a lead, or providing an outlet) has been severely missed.

That said, if he is trying to do that as a pseudo inside mid, or as our main attacking wingman, or even as a mark/kick wingman then we are in trouble.

Ideally he can be that extra defender, and if used as an outlet can release runners with quick handballs (occasionally kicks) to allow us to get the ball moving.

It looks likely we’ll see at least four, if not five, of Culley/Chesser/Ginbey/Hewett/Long in the round 1 side, that group has a combined 4 games of AFL experience.

I guess that’s what makes it just a minor obsession?

This year, i would agree that aforementioned selection scenario would appear more probable then not. Which is great, prioritize youth

Within the past few seasons though? Not so much. There is a very, very good reason why Simpson is infamous for his "credits in the bank" remark

The Hewett hanger is up.

Keyser was unfortunately correct, it's pretty stock standard.

The angle doesn’t do it much justice either tbh. He did get some decent elevation that you can’t really pick up from the footage

But you still get another one of these

6822F28B-4F4D-4F04-8850-B12E71890B55.jpeg

I think a lot of the talk around Gaff has been about where he has been playing, inside v outside. I think we all knew he was carrying a significant problem last year and we can only respect how durable he has been.

What
I also dont get why people are saying Hewett cant run out a full game, play him in a similar role to venables/rioli role in 2018,
It’s harder now that our forward line isn’t as dynamic as it was then and we also now intend to roll/rest mids and other players through there. I reckon he’ll make an excellent sub to start off with.

They all got fined and I don’t doubt they got a decent spray from Nisbett

Weren’t suspended or asked to spend time away from the club like Winder was forced to for the month of December

All up he’s lucky that he didn’t injure the tourist and will escape with what’s effectively a slap on the wrist
Well he is, after all, a "young gun". I'm surprised they didn't go with the usual "star" handle they seem to apply to average or unproved footballers.

Simply using your draft picks, as opposed to trading them away, isn't prioritising the draft. It isn't some special state of affairs that rarely happens that inferences can be drawn from. It is just the normal state of affairs. Most clubs in most years use their top 30 draft picks. Or if they trade them the trade involves minimal movement in draft position such as trading pick 20 for pick 25 and a role player. The Tim Kelly and Luke Jackson deals where you completely trade out your early picks for an established player is the exception, not the norm. The mere act of using your picks and not doing a trade such as that is not prioritising the draft. Prioritising the draft would be trading out a bunch of tradeable players over 27 years old, and therefore not in your 5 year premiership plan, for draft picks, ala Hawthorn last year.
Not trading out happy best 22 players is the conservative thing to do. Also creates a better developing environment.
However we could do more because the cliff is coming.

Simmo's comments on Gaff's injuries negates a lot of the BF gripes on Gaff for last couple of seasons.
Same could be said for Sheed and others. We're not always privy to the full extent of injuries here.
Gaffy's proof will be in his pudding (?) - lets see him play some games before we crucify him totally.

Re: Simmo's comments on Ginbey, Hewett, Chesser+Long about easing them in, without the pressure and expectations...I think the cats already out of the bag!?

Great to see the new WC media program -reconnecting to the fanbase - and the comprehensive vision and interviews of training...good insights..and Schoey's a gem!
Gaff was clearly waaay off 100% last season. So far off that he shouldnt have been playing.
There were times when XON had been playing ok and was dropped..
Theres no excuses for gaff playing if others were available. He was a liability out there, and i rate him and think some posters on here have very short memories but nevertheless he was a liability

On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Nelson was more persecuted than Jesus after that debacle. He lost his AFL career cause of that incident. I genuinely think it’s one of the biggest injustices in footy and speaks volumes of his character that he agrees to come back to a club that caused so much trauma for himself

Not as persecuted as anyone who had the pleasure of watching him play.

Nelson was more persecuted than Jesus after that debacle. He lost his AFL career cause of that incident. I genuinely think it’s one of the biggest injustices in footy and speaks volumes of his character that he agrees to come back to a club that caused so much trauma for himself
Aw, c’mon Jesus signed a form 4 to play for Rome, did the dirty on them and accepted a better offer to play for Jerusalem……and we all know what happened after that. On a positive note, Freo are waiting for the second coming and are hoping to pick him up in the mid-season draft.

Gaff was clearly waaay off 100% last season. So far off that he shouldnt have been playing.
Theres no excuses for gaff playing if others were available. He was a liability out there, and i rate him and think some posters on here have very short memories but nevertheless he was a liability

Sure, I was critical of him also. He was a liability to himself injury-wise, and that was borne out. Simmo said he was played through his injury because at some stages there was nobody else or the playing list was so depleted.
In other words, there wasn't anyone else available (according to his coaching standards?)
So this stuff about credits is sometimes far off the mark.
But there were so many contributing factors in that 'perfect storm' we had to endure, both on field and on BF, as often happens, facts get blended with fiction..if something gets repeated often enough on BF, it almost becomes gospel...

This year, i would agree that aforementioned selection scenario would appear more probable then not. Which is great, prioritize youth

Within the past few seasons though? Not so much. There is a very, very good reason why Simpson is infamous for his "credits in the bank" remark

I think that he is infamous for that if it’s being evaluated by nuffies. I disagree. I mean we have got a fair few early minutes into Hough, Bazzo, H Edwards, Luke Edwards pretty early and when fit, Bailey Williams. A heap of the same people that say we should be playing the youth complain about the performances of a few of those - can’t win.

I think with the stage we are at just playing youth at all cost actually hurts us because you need some leadership and not to get shellacked, also they actually lose confidence if not ready and thrown in the deep end. I feel like it basically needs to be play if good enough / showing enough and when it’s a coin toss on talent select youth as a priority where possible. I feel like we actually have done just that pretty well the last couple of seasons. Have a look at our list and say the players that should have legitimately been given more games to this point?

That said we are obviously in a far greater spot now with an abnormally decent list of young players that are legitimately pushing for selection. It’s a great spot to be in and if they are ready and up to it I’m sure plenty will get some valuable experience this year. Got so many with rising star nom possibilities next to their names coming in to round 1

Gday Fellas, sorry if this is the wrong thread. Crows supporter but Perth local, does anyone know if the game Friday arvo is ticketed or can I just turn up to MRP? Thanks

$1500 for assault is bonkers. Feel bad for the victim

That's actually on the higher end for a common assault believe it or not.

I've seen some come away with court costs only.

Team of 26 to be named tomorrow so thought I’d have my best guess

FB: Rotham, HEdwards, Cole,
HB: Duggan, Barrass, Witherden
C : Gaff, Yeo, Hunt
HF: Petrevski-Seton, Allen, Cripps
FF: Ryan, Waterman, Jones
R : Williams, Culley, Kelly
INT: Sheed, Ginbey, Hewett, Hough, Petruccelle, O’Neill, Jamieson, Long

Unavailable - Darling, Barnett, Baker, Dewar, J Williams, Bazzo
Rested/Managed - Naitanui, Shuey, Hurn, McGovern, Chesser
Omitted - LEdwards, Winder, Trew, Foley, West, Burgiel, Clark

Don’t think Shuey or Naitanui get up and because it’s a practice match the club won’t risk them. McGovern left early on Monday so guessing they’ll give him a rest after a big preseason, along with old man Hurn. Chesser they’ll continue the conservative approach they’ve taken all preseason with him

Having done that exercise it’s going to be difficult to bring in down to 23, especially with Darling and the other managed players to potentially be ready for round 1

The phrase 'clearly injured' was used multiple times by multiple posters. We could all see it.
I said the same when they played Trew. Clearly hampered and didn't get a chance to build any match fitness via the Beagles. I hope he gets a proper go this year.
Shuey was another who looked at times like he shouldn't have been out there.
JK (warrior) also.

Congrats to all those who stuck their collective hands up and played when they shouldn't have.
But at the end of the day it doesn't really help the team or the individual when you have 5 or 6 guys not able to really put in.

Gday Fellas, sorry if this is the wrong thread. Crows supporter but Perth local, does anyone know if the game Friday arvo is ticketed or can I just turn up to MRP? Thanks

Ticketed

From memory, didn't both Nesbitt and Simpson front the media about that and were both "outraged"?

Yep they were. Whether it was phoney or not is unknown. I do remember Nisbett on Sportstalk with Wheeldon, Duffield and Malthouse throwing the kitchen sink. It was embarrassing when they did nothing wrong. They’d all if not most already had covid, 1 was chesser who wasn’t playing and who ****ing cares when they didn’t do anything illegal