Votes: 87 37.8%
  • Adem Yze

Votes: 146 63.5%

DARK HORSE FOR DIMMA’S JOB

Melbourne midfield coach Adem Yze was all the rage for a senior job last year but was pipped by Adam Kingsley (GWS) and Brad Scott (Essendon). But suspect the Demons’ backline coach and ex-Tiger Troy Chaplin is one to watch when Richmond gets to work on hunting Damien Hardwick’s replacement. Chaplin is only 37 but spent the tail of his playing career coaching at Sturt and Oakleigh Chargers and served as Hardwick’s assistant in the final months of 2016 before former teammate and former Demons football manager Josh Mahoney poached him. Chaplin was named the 2022 AFL Coaches’ Association assistant coach of the year after he was runner-up in 2021. He is highly-rated inside Richmond’s football department and Hardwick was the catalyst for Chaplin pursuing coaching. Word is another ex-Tiger, Shaun Grigg, recently purchased a house in Geelong and is impressing under Chris Scott while former captain Chris Newman coached Box Hill to the 2018 VFL flag and now oversees Hawthorn’s forward line. They could all be of interest however some sharp minds expect Chaplin – who the bookies don’t even have in their early markets – to receive a call.
tumblr_n8ymghbUb31qfrw7to1_400.gif

What about Sydney Stack as coach?

Wow that’s a slam TT , what if I sad May and Lever were losers until they got to melb under chaplins tutelage , next minute premiership defenders
fair enough just my vibe, may and lever both very highly regarded juniors who left their clubs under average terms maybe they are good footy players that grew up but are still flogs maybe chappy will be ok just dosent seem like he has it to me.

I have tossed and turned over leppas time at lions , especially so in view of vossy flaws coming to the surface 12m into his time at blues and looks certain to be sacked . would need a closer look at team around leppa at the time , he most certainly sounds like a much better footy head lateral thinker than Voss and has since worked in very successful environments. Voss was at PA by comparison,,, I wouldn’t be ruling out leppa on that basis , and fortunately we know the strength of his relationships thru his time at tigerland
i'm serious here. leppas biggest problem is he's a fiery red head, leppa had some young lions player up against the wall for being slack and thats probably not the only one in his time, would'nt be surprised if voss has manhandled a few of the carlton nancy boys.

need to mollycoddle and nourish them these days the experts say, noble and mark neild excellent technicians by all reports...two more redheads that the fire and brimstone antics backfired. lost the players pronto.

i'm serious here. leppas biggest problem is he's a fiery red head, leppa had some young lions player up against the wall for being slack and thats probably not the only one in his time, would'nt be surprised if voss has manhandled a few of the carlton nancy boys.

need to mollycoddle and nourish them these days the experts say, noble and mark neild excellent technicians by all reports...two more redheads that the fire and brimstone antics backfired. lost the players pronto.
You’ve obviously had a long night mate. Enjoy the game day if you make it by then. 😂

It really don’t understand the Leppa love, great assistant but can’t head coach IMO.
Well who do you love then? Our opinions are merely only that just as you stated Leppa can’t head coach is just your opinion. We are only going with what we know about individuals and stating them. Yes Leppa had an unsuccessful early stint at coaching, but he’s since came a long way under successful people and shouldn’t be ruled out based on his early failure. In the end the club will hopefully select our next premiership coach and not us supporters as we’re just speculating on who it may be.

Dimma can be pretty firey too. The players still love him.

I think the whole mollycoddle and hug them thing is largely a "kids these days" myth. Like any time in history, there is some players that are fine with that method of coaching, others who don't take well to it. The main difference now is that players are more likely to speak out about it where as back then they just kept it to themselves. I am sure Leigh Matthews, Dennis Pagan and Malcom Blight thought their players were soft compared to them back in the day too.

What about Neil Craig? Was always known to be a good tactical coach and can Step right into the role and have an immediate impact on getting the best out of our players

DARK HORSE FOR DIMMA’S JOB

Melbourne midfield coach Adem Yze was all the rage for a senior job last year but was pipped by Adam Kingsley (GWS) and Brad Scott (Essendon). But suspect the Demons’ backline coach and ex-Tiger Troy Chaplin is one to watch when Richmond gets to work on hunting Damien Hardwick’s replacement. Chaplin is only 37 but spent the tail of his playing career coaching at Sturt and Oakleigh Chargers and served as Hardwick’s assistant in the final months of 2016 before former teammate and former Demons football manager Josh Mahoney poached him. Chaplin was named the 2022 AFL Coaches’ Association assistant coach of the year after he was runner-up in 2021. He is highly-rated inside Richmond’s football department and Hardwick was the catalyst for Chaplin pursuing coaching. Word is another ex-Tiger, Shaun Grigg, recently purchased a house in Geelong and is impressing under Chris Scott while former captain Chris Newman coached Box Hill to the 2018 VFL flag and now oversees Hawthorn’s forward line. They could all be of interest however some sharp minds expect Chaplin – who the bookies don’t even have in their early markets – to receive a call.
Runner up assistant of the year, then wins the award, and has been in charge if Melbourne's backline. I remember him as a pretty smart and composed player too.

That's a pretty good pedigree, definitely worth short-listing.

I think I can recall leppa did do that , he’s prob moved on and learnt a heck of a lot since then

McQualter
Leppitsch
Yze
Carr
I dont want McQualter because I believe we need fresh voices and ideas from outside the tent, and he is not that.

But happy to keep him as an assistant, you need some form of continuity and he seems highly rated as an assistant.