Mid-Season Draft

Average skills for a forward pocket.

Did not weight the ball for several passes. Poor awareness at times, and most importantly poor kicking. I was hoping he would at least have elite skills, and be capable of kicking impossible goals.
I’m honestly not sure if you’re serious or if you are, what you’re expecting from an MSD selection…

That was the game I watched where I was impressed and wanted him on our list to give him a go. Most of his field kicks were great and were fluffed by his team mates, not him and I’m not even sure what kicks you thought we’re poor tbh.

Please let it be known if Buller and Hunter are on the board and we draft Buller instead I'm taking a one way trip to the vent thread
And fair enough too imo.

Buller won't make due to his lack of athleticism. Hunter like every player available at our selection is a reasonably low chance of making it but at least he's a chance.

I think Buller goes undrafted again.
Wouldn’t be surprised at all if that is the case. Also just my opinion but I don’t believe he is on our radar.

Sydney having only two picks is a god thing. They will likely go mature age with both. They have long injury list and has impacted their VFL team.

I’m honestly not sure if you’re serious or if you are, what you’re expecting from an MSD selection…

That was the game I watched where I was impressed and wanted him on our list to give him a go. Most of his field kicks were great and were fluffed by his team mates, not him and I’m not even sure what kicks you thought we’re poor tbh.

What I saw.

Missed goal
1st kick was not in front of his team mate, and he was forced to change direction. Probably harsh, maybe he kicked to space. Team mate did mark it
2nd kick was a tough kick, but not in front of sokol (too his right)
3rd kick was pretty good
4th kick - took too long to get rid of it. Maybe not used to the pace of WAFL
5th kick - good
6th kick - Hit the post.
7th kick - point
8th kick - tried for too much, rushed point.
9th kick - good kick

3 shots on goal for 3 points. A couple times he did not place the ball that well, either over hitting it or kicking to the right or left of the leading player.

Not elite pace - chased down twice.

Agree, he is a late MSD selection, so I was hoping for too much. If he had turned the 3 points, to 2 goals 1 behind and hit sokol on the lead then I would be very excited.

Did anyone see that coming? I remember reading, after the fact, that WC were into him and were planning grab him with their next pick.
Thewest raised it pre draft

I think you're misremembering the wce thing, he was in their academy and they passed on him

Fwiw Hansen was also in their academy and passed on

Now in future years if eagles pass on an academy player, we (and other clubs) can sign them then and there as a cat b rookie

Thewest raised it pre draft

I think you're misremembering the wce thing, he was in their academy and they passed on him

Fwiw Hansen was also in their academy and passed on

Now in future years if eagles pass on an academy player, we (and other clubs) can sign them then and there as a cat b rookie
I don't get why they wouldn't be wanting to use their cat b spots more.

At the absolute worst, you get a couple of extra players for the Beagles for a few years. Which means less ammo fill ins.

Were we top of the ladder this time last year?

2022 Mid-season draft

Round 1
1. West Coast Eagles — Jai Culley (Dandenong Stingrays)
2. North Melbourne — Kallan Dawson (Williamstown VFL)
3. Essendon — Massimo D’Ambrosio (Western Jets)
4. Adelaide Crows — Brett Turner (Glenelg)
5. GWS Giants — Wade Derksen (Peel Thunder)
6. Hawthorn — Max Ramsden (Sandringham Dragons)
7. Gold Coast Suns — Oskar Faulkhead (Bendigo Pioneers)
8. Port Adelaide — Brynn Teakle (East Fremantle)
9. Collingwood — Josh Carmichael (West Adelaide)
10. Richmond — Jacob Bauer (North Adelaide)
11. Sydney Swans — Hugo Hall-Kahan (Sandringham Dragons)
12. Geelong Cats — Zane Williams (Woodville-West Torrens)
13. Carlton — Sam Durdin (Glenelg)
14. St Kilda — Pass
15. Fremantle — Sebit Kuek (East Perth)

Round 2
16. West Coast Eagles — Pass
17. North Melbourne — Pass
18. Essendon — Jye Menzie (South Adelaide)
19. Adelaide Crows — Pass
20. Hawthorn — James Blanck (Box Hill Hawks)
21. Collingwood — Pass
22. Carlton — Will Hayes (Carlton VFL)
23. Fremantle — Pass

I don't get why they wouldn't be wanting to use their cat b spots more.

At the absolute worst, you get a couple of extra players for the Beagles for a few years. Which means less ammo fill ins.
They actually have both their spots filled right now

Think they were trialing some basketball players back when sebit was eligible

You'd think that one of the concessions that the WAFC could give them though would be to be able to add ex-Academy players to the WAFL squad for a set term before they become free range?
Why would they want to though, a lot of them are better suited in Colts or reserves footy and wce doesn't provide that

For the players development it's better off going to a different club

You'd think that one of the concessions that the WAFC could give them though would be to be able to add ex-Academy players to the WAFL squad for a set term before they become free range?
Not the worst idea.
Free range? Yeh, they do look like headless chooks at the moment.

From Bell's mouth:

"We’ll go into tomorrow night just looking to add the best player that we think is available to our list and, first of all, we have to hope that player is available as it’s not a deep pool and there won’t be a huge amount of selections across the league.

That would be our strategy (developing a player), it’s someone that we think has an AFL future, it’s not a short-term measure for us."

From Bell's mouth:

"We’ll go into tomorrow night just looking to add the best player that we think is available to our list and, first of all, we have to hope that player is available as it’s not a deep pool and there won’t be a huge amount of selections across the league.

That would be our strategy (developing a player), it’s someone that we think has an AFL future, it’s not a short-term measure for us."

Tbh I'm reasonably happy with best available as long as it isn't a ruck.

Everywhere else we have one or two reasonably old players that'll need replacing soon enough, so there's a case everywhere else.

Eagles to take Maric and Jaiden Hunter 'gets interest from third Vic club'. Paywalled...

Mid-Season Draft