No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club news

What I’m asking Ned Ryerson is why “standing” would even be an option at the starting gate - this should be a last resort
Agree partially.
There should be an option for standing room only, and allocate those FIRST (for p1)
This would then open up the seating.

A big issue is they don't allocate seats in blocks, but rows, so a a group of 8 registering together need to be allocated half a row, rather than giving them 4 seats behind 4 infront etc.
All these little things make a difference

Is there anyone else that is totally apathetic to the Brownlow, AA, HOF awards nights etc?

I just don't feel anything towards these nights.

The Brownlow would be okay if it didn't take the ENTIRE night. I enjoy the drama of the count but when it takes so bloody long it kills it a little.

Surely that can't be real. What sort of half wit gets that done before you've even navigated the Prelim? It's not even like they were top team. They came off the back of a Goldilocks run just to make it. Not to mention the s**t tat-iness of it as well
Still my fave 667E4C10-0E5D-4C8D-87B8-37DDB2350D1C.jpeg

The Brownlow would be okay if it didn't take the ENTIRE night. I enjoy the drama of the count but when it takes so bloody long it kills it a little.

I used to enjoy it as a kid because it was mostly footy stuff. Now it's just padded out with junk and I haven't had any interest in it for as long as I can remember.

My friends are beside themself. They say it's the greatest night of the year and I just can't feel it.

Agree partially.
There should be an option for standing room only, and allocate those FIRST (for p1)
This would then open up the seating.

A big issue is they don't allocate seats in blocks, but rows, so a a group of 8 registering together need to be allocated half a row, rather than giving them 4 seats behind 4 infront etc.
All these little things make a difference

I am happy to agree the ballot needs work and amendment. The fact that Ticketek take a fee from all prelim competing clubs and don't refund it to the losing teams is obscene. However when these fans who are having the cry didn't follow the fairly clear instructions I don't have much sympathy.

I don't know but I'm sure there's a reason for it - however in 4 ballots when selecting this option I never once got standing room tickets. Any Pies fan who missed out by not selecting the right option only has themselves to blame.

And yet I’m reading that some have been given standing room tickets. Is there also a section where you pick which section you want your ticket allocated. I just don’t get a P3 being level 2 and a P1 being level 5

Seems like the whole allocation process needs an overhaul

And maybe some competition introduced for Ticketek

And yet I’m reading that some have been given standing room tickets. Is there also a section where you pick which section you want your ticket allocated. I just don’t get a P3 being level 2 and a P1 being level 5

Seems like the whole allocation process needs an overhaul

And maybe some competition introduced for Ticketek

Yes - some people get standing room or even restricted viewing. It's a random ballot. You don't get any say on where you sit. I would have happily taken any seat I could get all 4 times I was lucky enough to go. If you want to get picky - tough luck. Again - it was worked this way for a very long time and people haven't had this kind of issue with it. Perhaps Collingwood fans who can afford such pricey memberships can also splash some coin at comprehension lessons. If you gamble on specifying you only want a seat then you run the very real risk (particularly at a club with as many members as Collingwood) of getting nothing. If you want to attend select the right option.

At least the Cats were top H&A team in '08! Not squeaking in after a hot run from 15th!

But still very much 🤣🤣🤣

I used to watch the Brownlow. I liked how you got a little summary / highlights of each round before the votes. Was a good fullstop and reflection of the season for me. But it's current 'guise where it starts off with that rampant in your face celebration of heterosexuality (Who are you wearing?) followed by the slowest most drawn out count plus having random fashionable shit jammed in. Gave it away years ago. Won't even give it a second thought tonight.

Trying to remember the last one I watched. Didn't watch the Michell one, so pre 2018.
OK - had to go and look at the list of winners to try and figure it out. Definitely watched 2015 - Fyfe, but can't remember any of 2016 - Dangerfield, so I reckon that was it.

images

Gay Premiers, and Right Arm/Left Arm... still the funniest

They really didn't - Collingwood supporters just needed to learn how to read.

Exact same rules existed during our grand finals and I don't remember our supporters crying to the media.

The ticketing guide CLEARLY articulates that if you don't select the option stating you are happy to get a standing room seat then you lose any guaranteed ticket access.

This is on the website with the same instructions.

View attachment 1813157

I generally have empathy for people who are hard done by - but these are people who didn't bother to read fairly clear instructions and are now having a cry. This condition has existed since at least the 2012 grand final and I am sure well before that - clearly people over the years have been able to comprehend it as this is the first time the media has made a spectacle of it on behalf of a very silly minority.
37 of them missed out this way, apparently - very small number considering the coverage it got.

The other beef was that P1s were randomly allocated seats or standing in worse spots than P2 or P3, people not realising this part of the process is random, and just coz you are able/ have the means to pay more doesn't make you more entitled to a better spot

Pretty funny to read the very same folk who are having a cry about the above being unfair (P2s and 3s and others getting better seats than them) also having a large sook about all the corporates getting tickets ahead of the "real fans" .

The ****ing entitlement of it all

LMFAO the North board is melting about being 'reamed' 'absolute joke' 'shafted'

How embarrassing being gifted that package and still whining because 'it isn't enough'

They do realise they are getting pick 3 from the McKay FA as well

Could have been worse. I’m kind of okay with that?
I'm not.

Imagine if someone said you could have an end of first round pick + 2x F2 picks for Brockman.

And then said "actually, you don't need to give us Brockman"

It would be absolutely ridiculous and you would take it and laugh at how stupid it is.

3 picks for absolutely nothing, in a comp where you already have a weighted draft advantage from finishing bottom 3 for several years in a row

Their supporters are just as bad as the club. No wonder they’ve gone nowhere.

Imagine complaining because they are only getting 3 free first rounders as well as a gift of pick 3 for McKay.

I'm not.

Imagine if someone said you could have an end of first round pick + 2x F2 picks for Brockman.

And then said "actually, you don't need to give us Brockman"

It would be absolutely ridiculous and you would take it and laugh at how stupid it is.

3 picks for absolutely nothing, in a comp where you already have a weighted draft advantage from finishing bottom 3 for several years in a row
An absolute joke of a league

It feels shit as a fan to be honest - when you're hanging on every move and working out what complex ways your team can improve it's draft position and then out of nowhere the rules (that your club and most others are working to)just get thrown out the window for one of the clubs.

It feels s**t as a fan to be honest - when you're hanging on every move and working out what complex ways your team can improve it's draft position and then out of nowhere the rules (that your club and most others are working to)just get thrown out the window for one of the clubs.
The worst part is how can clubs plan for it, it is all made up on a whim. Even the picks for next year.

The Dogs were by all reports heavy favourites for the Suns pick, clearly putting time in to it. Now might be outbid because of magical picks appearing out of no where.

The only real tool for teams to rebuild is the Draft and yet every single year it is completely compromised from father sons, academies and priority picks.

No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club news