Oppo Camp Other Clubs News/General Discussion

View attachment 1909426
So I’m guessing the laws in Australia getting access to text messages (unless they were freely given up) are different than the States where the FBI can’t get access to a shooter’s phone but the SIA apparently found text relating to Smith and drugs.
He willingly gave his phone up as part of the investigation.

He should get a payout but this is the AFL.
Collingwood had to foot the bill for Beams and include it in the salary cap.

Brayshaw was contracted for 6 more years (I believe) so how many years should the AFL / MFC / Insurance pay for and should it be included or excluded from the cap will all have to be negotiated.
If I am the AFL I would be granting future cap relief for any concussion-based retirement. MFC on the hook for the whole contract term, but negotiated down a bit for mitigation of loss. On the hook for full dollars in this year's cap.

Future years don't count to cap. Another(small) thing to be done in the concussion battle. Partially removes what might be an incentive for clubs to keep trying to convince a player to play on.

I've suspected he is the source complaining about poor Joel being left out to dry by the club...
💯

On a more serious note the Brayshaw news is extremely conflicting. The link to Maynard will forever be there with Demon and many neutral fans and I want to leap to the defense of Maynard in the strongest fashion online, but to do that is to ignore the sensitivities of Brayshaw needing to call time on his career.

Unfortunately the media has chosen to stoke that fire with a news report on SEN that was literally “Brayshaw retires due to the hit in last years finals” so much for journalistic integrity…

💯

On a more serious note the Brayshaw news is extremely conflicting. The link to Maynard will forever be there with Demon and many neutral fans and I want to leap to the defense of Maynard in the strongest fashion online, but to do that is to ignore the sensitivities of Brayshaw needing to call time on his career.

Unfortunately the media has chosen to stoke that fire with a news report on SEN that was literally “Brayshaw retires due to the hit in last years finals” so much for journalistic integrity…
Point me to one example of journalistic integrity...... you'd have to go back decades, I'd reckon. Click-bait generators is what they should be referred to nowadays.

You have to go all the way back to Alf Brown & Tom Pryor. They dont make journalists like that anymore.

The Melbourne flogs are already all over social media blaming Maynard. They have even suggested he be stripped of his premiership medal. Ffs it’s the distraction they wanted over the drugs saga. Might bring Shaun Smith out of hiding to have another crack at Maynard.

Brayshaw must have just got some bad medical news otherwise why retire just after the SSP cut off.
I hope he’s ok, I keep thinking of how bad the doggies player Liam Picken suffered and Tuck from Richmond, it’s not a good thing.
I dont think we'll be hearing from Shaun any time soon!!!

Looks like North got rid of Thomas. How much do you wanna bet North get help from the AFL after knowing they have a flog on their list yet Melbourne get no help from a guy having concussions from actually playing footy.

Pick 3!!!!!!!!
Surely

It was a 50/50 one, Maynard left his feet to smother not bump which wasn't suspension worthy under the rules at the time but then the duty of care arguments that could be had etc etc Could have gone either way, came down to who had better lawyers as it often does (Cripps)

I think both club's will get help from the afl.
North won't need help. This is TT's last contract year. If they can roost him, they can do it without pay. If they have to keep paying him this year, they will and they won't get cap relief and they shouldn't need it anyway because they are so pox.

Dees should get relief.

Who knows. I guess I was referring to the AFL allowing Dee's to get another player in..

As for their contracts, I can understand why Brayshaw gets his full contract.

Wouldn't have a clue about TT's nor where either of them should now fit into the salary cap.
I don't think they will allow another player on in either case. In terms of cap management in a particular year, losing Brayshaw/TT is akin to someone doing an acl. It's more about Brayshaw's future entitlements(which he will get) and whether the AFL lets them do it outside the cap.

As for TT, North have ditched him. With 7 months to go on his contract, am guessing they said, "here is $X, sign this and get lost".

Taryn Thomas career is over for sure you'd think, getting sacked for that would have his cards permanently marked by all teams
At the very least he will need to prove himself at a lower level. Now that he has been exited, wonder if there is some club out in the wilderness that might sign him with a view to giving him a few games after July 22 and have him ready for finals?

I did a bit of digging and could only find the rule was a payout up to $500k (for a career ending injury like concussion)

I was wrong about a blanket rule though, and probably completely irrelevant now even that article said clarke got $600k , plus the big class action suite comes up whenever i look up anything concussion wise.

Also it shocked me Swan and Blease played local footy for $$ after getting these payouts, when surely the money comes with not playing again

Melbourne shouldn't have to pay the contract out IMO, if he can't play he can't play, why should they have to.
You really think an employer shouldn’t have to pay out a contract of an employee who was injured at work to an extent that they can’t perform their duties anymore…?

At the very least he will need to prove himself at a lower level. Now that he has been exited, wonder if there is some club out in the wilderness that might sign him with a view to giving him a few games after July 22 and have him ready for finals?
I just can't see the club that would want him. Maybe a club with a strong culture that won't tolerate his crap. But I doubt he'd get a game with that club. Certainly wouldn't get a game with us. Frankly I think he's high risk for piss-all reward.

He's Harley Bennell 2.0, all the talent in the world but a piss porr attitude and he'll have to be content with grafting away in local footy wondering what could've been.

Taryn Thomas career is over for sure you'd think, getting sacked for that would have his cards permanently marked by all teams
I'd like a team to give him a second fifth chance. Yeah, he's probably cooked unfortunately.

Oppo Camp Other Clubs News/General Discussion