Preview 2024 Mid Season Draft Prospects & Discussion

MSD Info

Full list of MSD Nominees

I thought that Comben looked very good up forward. He looks better down back, though.

He's not going to kick 60 goals but he brought a lot of pressure and had a bit of gravity as a marking target.

My thing is that Maley can probably almost do what Comben can as a forward (although I can't speak to Maley's tackling and pursuit). Put him in there if you just need a marking presence.

God, I'd love a little pest of a small forward, though. Someone with a bit of attitude and energy who brings tackling pressure and puts the fear into back men when the ball hits the deck.
If you have questions about Maley his number one fanboy lurks these forums and will be happy to state him opinion as fact

Has there ever been a super player picked up in this draft , was Newcombe ? I reckon Kallan Dawson could be good but he has been diagnosed with 2 weeks so we will probably never see him again lol.
Newcombe was, and Mihocek and Noble are more than handy pickups from the mid season draft.

I’m pretty sure mihocek goes back further than the MSD? But ash Johnson has had his moments for the pies and was msd (I think)
Yes he was - seems like a bit of a flash in the pan at the moment. Noble has been solid and better for 200 games now. Mihocek was named in an article recently as a mid season pickup but I didn’t check.

Edit - 2018 rookie draft.

Disappointed Szekely isn’t among those who the clubs have requested a medical for.
maybe....for north if you requested a medical that just gives away free info that we are keen on him most likely at our second pick. Means if another club is keen and down the order a little they just jump in front of us. Nothing wrong with picking up the phone, "hey kid, any niggles or injuries now or in the past?"......not like its a long term contract on big dough and our track record on MSD suggest getting the first pick right is hard enough let alone the second, if he's playing and running as fast as he is, and doesn't have a terminal illness, that's good enough for me on the medical side of things.

Scaife has busted his ass to get his shot, after being overlooked in his draft year he has added close to 10kg to his frame. Despite being only 20 he looks as though he has the body of a 25 year old.

That work ethic alone will hold him in good stead in an AFL environment.

I like the upside of Howes, but his injury history has me a bit wary.
If there was no MSD, where do you think Jasper Scaife would be picked in the 2024 National Draft?

I’m pretty sure mihocek goes back further than the MSD? But ash Johnson has had his moments for the pies and was msd (I think)
Ash Johnson should be so much better but he seems to have a pretty ordinary attitude

Back? Forward? Can’t decide, heck it put him in the middle.
Not such a bad idea.hes played plenty of midfield games .till he had a late growth spurt.15 cm in one year.. alledgadley...plenty of speed quick hands. Can take a grab so why not even if it's only occasionally.mix it up...the king used to go into the midfield now and then did it easy.

Here is a twist:

Sam Edmund just said he believes North's No.1 pick is Geordie Payne
To be honest, probably the best young talent on offer not to be drafted atm. Just doesn’t really fit a list need for us.

I’m not the slightest bit interested in Scaife, his stats don’t scream much to me, I can see him being on someone’s list for 18 months and going back to the wafl after 2/3 games here and there, could be wrong but just what I feel.

I like Noah Howes the best, from his highlights for a young KPF playing senior footy I thought he showed the most, if he can have a day out for SA U18’s before the draft against the Allies, I hope our recruitment team takes note.

His latest game stats for the Tassie Devils against Smillie's Eastern Ranges: 29 disposals, kicked 4 goals, 7 marks, 9 i50s, 6 tackles.

View attachment 1995962

View attachment 1995922

Payne presses mid-season draft claims in Devils win​

A four-goal performance did Geordie Payne’s mid-season draft hopes no harm as the Devils notched a fourth straight Coates Talent League win on Sunday.

Jon Tuxworth
less than 2 min read
May 20, 2024 - 1:23PM
News Corp Australia Sports Newsroom

Geordie Payne in action during the Devils' win over Eastern Ranges on Sunday. Picture: Linda Higginson/Solstice Digital' win over Eastern Ranges on Sunday. Picture: Linda Higginson/Solstice Digital

Geordie Payne in action during the Devils' win over Eastern Ranges on Sunday. Picture: Linda Higginson/Solstice Digital

Devils young gun Geordie Payne continues to enhance his hopes of being snapped up in next week’s AFL mid-season draft after another standout Coates Talent League display.

The north-west talent booted four goals in the Devils’ 14.10 (94) to 8.4 (52) victory over Eastern Ranges in Hobart on Sunday.

Payne was chosen for a ‘Young Guns’ side, selected by AFL recruiters, to play Victoria Metro and Victoria Country.

He was interviewed by a handful of AFL clubs before last year’s draft, and was considered unlucky to miss out.

Payne won the Devils’ player of the year award after using his speed and ball use off half-back, but has played mostly up forward this season with some time as an inside midfielder.

The 18-year-old is affiliated with North Launceston this season, and Bombers coach Adrian Smith was impressed by his display.

Geordie Payne is congratulated by Devils teammates after a goal. Picture: Linda Higginson/Solstice Digital

“The game he played with us off half-back, he’s got speed and an ability to read the game,” he sad.

“The thing I really liked about him when he went forward was he plays so tall for his size. “He’s such a difficult match up because he’s so good above his head, but when the ball’s on the ground he hunts it so well.

“I hope he does get drafted, he’s a good kid, and a bit of fun. I think a lot of people will be happy for him if he does get picked up.”

The mid-season draft will be held on Wednesday, May 29, with players needing to nominate by later this week.

The Devils’ win over Eastern Ranges was their fourth straight after opening the season with three straight defeats.

Small forward Lenny Douglas continued his consistent goal scoring form with three, while Jasper Hay was a standout in the ruck.

The Devils’ girls slipped to a 3-3 record after they were humbled by Eastern Ranges 11.12 (78) to 3.2 (20).

COATES TALENT LEAGUE

BOYS
DEVILS 4.5 7.7 9.8 14.10 (94) def EASTERN RANGES 1.1 2.3 6.4 8.4 (52)
Devils goals: Geordie Payne 4, Lenny Douglas 3, Emig French 2, Jaxon Thorpe 2, Dominic Pitt, Connor Ling, Toby Callow
Devils best: Jasper Hay, Dominic Pitt, Geordie Payne, Max Roney, Harry Elmer, Oscar Van Dam
Info here ^

To be honest, probably the best young talent on offer not to be drafted atm. Just doesn’t really fit a list need for us.

I’m not the slightest bit interested in Scaife, his stats don’t scream much to me, I can see him being on someone’s list for 18 months and going back to the wafl after 2/3 games here and there, could be wrong but just what I feel.

I like Noah Howes the best, from his highlights for a young KPF playing senior footy I thought he showed the most, if he can have a day out for SA U18’s before the draft against the Allies, I hope our recruitment team takes note.
You also have Will Elliot but he's out for a few weeks with an ankle injury.

Screenshot_20240522_085133_VFL.jpg

Preview 2024 Mid Season Draft Prospects & Discussion