Bumped #1 Draft pick in about 6 or 7 years

Cooper Harvey will be the first 12 year old recruited to an AFL club.

[youtube]G0XWg2bemDQ[/youtube]

[youtube]g-lrZpmrstw[/youtube]

I assume the kid will probably head to Maribyrnong College (says he's from Maribyrnong Park FC) for high school.

Maribyrnong College is the first public school in Victoria which the government has turned into an American styled "Special Sport School" were kids have to qualify for their sport and they intergrate training into their weekly school routine, where they actually have proper specialist coaches dedicated to the kids in the sports program, not just PE teachers.

I know a kid at the school in the swimming program, they've got kids with national contracts in the squad. Apparently there's a few kids in junior national soccer teams and there's a heap of kids there who play footy. It'll be interesting to see if they can start to give the kids who aren't quite so privilege and can't afford to go to private schools the same training opportunities

The program has only been going for about 2 years, but this could mean that in a few years the Jets and Cannons TAC sides could be advantaged by having players go through this system in a similar way that the private schools players assist the Eastern suburbs based teams.

U meAn like box hill secondary which has has been on for years

This is a massive bump, but this is what Touk Miller is up to these days:
- He's 15 years old and playing seniors
- He polled 2nd in the U16's Div 2 League B&F as a bottom age player
- He represented Victoria in the School Sport Championships
- He was selected in the All-Australian side
- He made the Calder Cannons U15's Dick Reynold's Squad
- He plays U15 rep for EDFL

He's 15 playing against 14yo's and younger?

GUN

I assume the kid will probably head to Maribyrnong College (says he's from Maribyrnong Park FC) for high school.

Maribyrnong College is the first public school in Victoria which the government has turned into an American styled "Special Sport School" were kids have to qualify for their sport and they intergrate training into their weekly school routine, where they actually have proper specialist coaches dedicated to the kids in the sports program, not just PE teachers.

I know a kid at the school in the swimming program, they've got kids with national contracts in the squad. Apparently there's a few kids in junior national soccer teams and there's a heap of kids there who play footy. It'll be interesting to see if they can start to give the kids who aren't quite so privilege and can't afford to go to private schools the same training opportunities

The program has only been going for about 2 years, but this could mean that in a few years the Jets and Cannons TAC sides could be advantaged by having players go through this system in a similar way that the private schools players assist the Eastern suburbs based teams.

or Essendon/keilor college where they have an AFL program, its closer to Marby Park aswell. Or Penleigh/Essendon grammer could give him a scholarship to their school which is a powerful footy school. Or he could go to St Bernards which is also a footy factory. Lots of good footy schools around the area

It is a shame that kids get tagged at under 11's level. I know this is one of the reasons one of Russel Eberts kids quit footy. He was getting tagged from a very young age because of his dad's name.

I read a article last year where it said that Ray Shaw was very upset when Rhyce lined up to play his first ever game of competitive Aussie Rules Football and he got tagged simply because of who is father was.

This is a massive bump, but this is what Touk Miller is up to these days:
- He's 15 years old and playing seniors
- He polled 2nd in the U16's Div 2 League B&F as a bottom age player
- He represented Victoria in the School Sport Championships
- He was selected in the All-Australian side
- He made the Calder Cannons U15's Dick Reynold's Squad
- He plays U15 rep for EDFL

This kid is an absolute freak :thumbsu:

Agreed will be a star. Not much he can't do. Has had EDFL junior coaches ripping their hair our for about 4 years. Just gotta keep him away from the cricket pads. Could play for Australia.

Will be interesting to see how it plays out. 11 is too young to accurately predict an AFL career, as SO much can happen between then and draft time.

Obviously kids develop at very different rates, too. I recall my school team's captain from way back when. He was practically shaving from age 10, was our ruckman, and would get the ball at full back, take 12 bounces and kick goals, whilst I was picking my nose in the forward pocket. By the end of high school we were the same size, and he respected me as one of the "smart kids". As adults he probably bags my groceries or washes my cars or something.

But back on young gun footy players. My step-sons play in the EFL and there's a young kid there who played U13s this year and has won the B&F 4 years straight. He's not big, or particularly fast or anything, but he's just a pure FOOTBALLER. Kicks both sides, takes overhead marks, runs all day and tackles. He's an absolute ripper. I wonder if he'll make it?

I've also got a nephew who went the other way. Didn't play footy until he was ~15 (and after moving from Vic to QLD... go figure). He's now 17, 201cm (with a bullet), 90-odd kg and will be invited to the draft camp when eligible. Would never have picked it as a kid.

Went to the U12 AFL National Championships in sunny Canberra this year and the SA team went through undefeated including beating a combined Vic Country and Metro team. First time in 10 years. Some kids are good because they've developed early and some are just good. One of the many to watch from SA include Jackson Edwards (son of Tyson). The Vic captain also showed some composure.

ripped off. i got on the long odds back in 2008. OP owes me money

:)

My son first played against him back in 2005 and even back then he was pretty special and I thought (with luck) he'd go on to do good things. He certainly hasn't failed to deliver in that regard.

mate hes about 11 are u aware of the development he'll go through before the draft so many kids tear up junior footy but dont get anywhere. and he could get an on going injury which ends his future.
LoL, He continues dominating. I was wishing hawthorn would draft him this year but Gold Coast stole him.

Bumped #1 Draft pick in about 6 or 7 years