Moved Thread #1: Majak Daw -

Knew this one was comming , clearly some people dont watch Werribee games . The kid isnt ready and it wouldnt do him any good to play him , he doesnt to anything right now for our backline issues .

You really did steal my thunder here, I've lost count how many times I have felt obliged to send in texts to SEN when you get uninformed North supporters calling up.

It's all well and good to read my player reports each week, but you need to come to along to support Werribee/watch Maj rather than just seeing how he performs in a telecast game on ABC.

He will be right to go next year and Brad Scott shouldn't be critcised for not playing him, the coaching staff will know when it's right to blood Majak at AFL level.

No: Daw- Not ready. Had 8 p's. I go to VFL games.
Yes: McIntosh- Can you play 2 ruckman?
Yes: Ross- Deserves a game
Yes:pratt- Deserves a farewell game

No gimmicks and no gifting games please. I want to win this game and finish above the Tigers. It's important.

Great to read that there are some North supporters who do get along and wach the VFL. :thumbsu:

I don't want to see the kid play until he is consistantly tearing it up in the VFL.

Can you imagine the absurd hype he will have to deal with when he debuts?

If he reels of 4 clangers in a row, the same mindless dick heads that have built him up out of all realistic proportion will be the first ones to start tearing him to shreds. Just look at Hansen.

It's important that we do what's best for Majak.

My thoughts exactly. The same fools that are building him up will chop him down if things don't work out. He is still on the learning curve.

I think most learned people are not suggesting that Daw should come in becuase he is the best performed bigman at VFL level, rather that it might fast track his development over the pre-season.

H should play this week obvisously. But i don't think playing Daw in a match that has nothing riding on it is the worst idea i have heard.

I wander why Port didn't play Butcher all year. Maybe they thought he wasn't ready.

Have been thinking about Majak and comparing many of his physical football attributes to those of Buddy Franklin, of course not at Buddy's level, yet, and wondering why does he have to be developed as a ruckman?

Could he not be developed as a CHF, he has the physical prowess to do this, does anyone know why he has been targetted as a ruckman, and/or why he cannot be developed into a possible Buddy type player.
He sure has all the elements of excitement and crowd pulling attributes, what do you think?

Thoughts, feedback welcome

Personally, I think if you were to put him in the forward arc for 100% TOG, he would only see ball for 15-30% of the time. The odd marking contest, a few leads and a few shots on goal then the final siren sounds. Developing him in the ruck, gets him more involved in the play, forces him to deal with 360 degree awareness and it also sharpens a wider range of skills.

I've no idea where the club see him long term, but I can only assume he learns around the ground first, and then hones his attacking skills as he progresses.

Grima once said Majak was one of the hardest to defend once he gets on his bike.

There are many what if's with Maj, if our collective will have anything to do with it then it's only a matter of time...

He is a North player, something will be horribly wrong if we don't try and turn him into a defender, anyone over six foot has been tried as a defender.

Majak Daw the half back flanker we need to break the lines and kick goals on the run.

Deeloping him as a ruckman is probably the best way to fast track his fitness and knowledge of the game, but in reality he is probably not a full time AFL ruckman. I reckon he would best be used as a third tall marking target in the forward line where he will present matchup headaches for opponents and apply top shelf defensive pressure, as well as being a relief ruck, possibly taking all forward 50 ruck contests and releaving around the ground for about 20% game time.

For the time being having him develop as he is is a good thing. Coming up against bigger rucks will be good for his body work as a forward, fitness and implementation of the full range of skills required at AFL level that most take for granted as we grew up playing the game.

Have been thinking about Majak and comparing many of his physical football attributes to those of Buddy Franklin, of course not at Buddy's level, yet, and wondering why does he have to be developed as a ruckman?

Could he not be developed as a CHF, he has the physical prowess to do this, does anyone know why he has been targetted as a ruckman, and/or why he cannot be developed into a possible Buddy type player.
He sure has all the elements of excitement and crowd pulling attributes, what do you think?

Good post.:thumbsu:

He's going to have to make it as a forward first if he is going to forge a career in the AFL. IMO, he is strongly suited to playing a straight forward catch and kick role as a deep forward.

The problem: He's simply at the wrong affiliate club in Werribee.

Majak should be playing 70/30 forward/ruck whereas at Werribee he is more likely playing 30/70 forward/ruck due to the presence of McKinley and Werribees weak ruck stocks.

Solution: Pack him off to North Ballarat in 2012, where they are screaming out for a big forward and Big Orren is available to share the major load of the ruck work..

Will never have the footy smarts to play CHF.

I tend to agree. He is coming a long way back from a footy education perspective and he needs to be given simple roles. Mark the ball, kick goals unless you have a team mate wide open in a better position, chase and harrass the enemy when we do not have the ball.

If our future is with H & Goldie sharing the ruck load.....then Majak will have to make it as a forward. We've seen his good hands and vertical leap he can take a decent contested mark...but will need to learn how to do that playing as a forward. Work rate, running into space, how to out muscle an opponent one on one for a mark are just some of the things he'll need to add to his game.

I don't think he's tall enough to be a ruckman in the AFL. So I agree with the suggestion that he should be developed as something else. And I think he will be next year.

It's good that he's been running around in the VFL getting a bird's eye view of the contests and getting involved but eventually he'll play CHF or FF, I reckon.

As for Buddy, I wish! I've seen Majak cut loose a couple of times and he's pretty hard to catch when he does. If he's going to become a similar player, he's going to have to become much more confident in his own ability and more aggressive.

I have a fantastic mental image of Daw, Black and Kennedy running amok in the forward line, with big Drew the collosus amongst them. If those three fire, what a forward line we'd have.

Back in 5 Bigfella........

I certainly see Maj as a very difficult to stop tall mobile forward long term, who's able to spend some time in the ruck if required, and to do the ruck work in the F50. He's an unbelievable mark and I reckon he'd be nigh on impossible to spoil on a hard lead. Good call KL.

As mentioned it's the footy smarts that would hold him back. Knowing when to lead and positioning himself. Things that Franklin would've been tought from a young age that Maj would only be learning. I hope you're right. He certainly has the brains to make it happen, and I personally think Maj is going to be a sensation if he gets it right.

People compare him to Nic Natanui all the time. A better comparison is Setanta O'Hailpin IMO. It took the big Irishmen a while to have an impact, but he's useful enough for them now. Daw has better ability as a ruckman though and will hopefully develop more tools. Setanta has been in the system quite a while now and I don't think is that far ahead of Majak really.

If Daw were at Carlton he would have been playing a Semi Final tonight. I have no doubt about it.

Would of thought Petrie was the perfect player to model him on, not Franklin.

Power Forward/15-20% in the Ruck.