Player Watch #12 Angus Sheldrick

Hey Swans sorry to intrude, I have watched Angus play with the Claremont Colts and reserves this year as one of his team mates is a family friend. I think he suits Swans footy perfectly, he's tough as they come, pretty fast and a good kick. FWIW, I was hoping my team would draft him. Good luck this season and I hope Sheldrick marks his mark with the Swans.

*Edit: "last year"

Hey Swans sorry to intrude, I have watched Angus play with the Claremont Colts and reserves this year as one of his team mates is a family friend. I think he suits Swans footy perfectly, he's tough as they come, pretty fast and a good kick. FWIW, I was hoping my team would draft him. Good luck this season and I hope Sheldrick marks his mark with the Swans.
Very gracious of you.
You guys did well out of this year's draft. Might not bear fruit until next year but a good mix and quality.
Probably be a bit tough for Angus to break into the side this season but he shows lots of good signs.

Mate, I was at those same colts games - and I think this board was getting sick of my Sheldrick posts!

Very decent of you to wish him all the best. People I know down at Christchurch reckon he’s a terrific young bloke as well as a hard-nut footballer.

Go well Gus. :thumbsu:

Selected at pick 18 in the 2021 AFL Draft, Sheldrick revealed he was speechless when head coach John Longmire informed him he would be playing this weekend.

“Horse (John Longmire) called me and asked me why I thought they should pick me this weekend. I went through a couple of points about the way I play and he agreed and told me to bring my strengths on the weekend,” said Sheldrick.

“I was lost for words, it took a few minutes for the news to sink in. I said ‘thank you so much’ and told him I would do everything I could to prove him right.

“Dad was lost for words too, he didn’t know what to say, he was just super proud of me. Mum was a little more frantic and just started going crazy with her excitement.”

Coach John Longmire praised Sheldrick’s efforts over the pre-season to get himself ready for selection.

“It’s great to give another player their first jumper for the Sydney Swans,” said Longmire.

“We know he’s really hard, he’s a massive competitor and we’re really excited to see what he can do. He’s really impressed us so far and we know whatever happens from here, he will just keep improving.”

Dubai Quacker :D

Hopefully the Swans can get his family on a flight for his debut
:heart:

A_241121AFLdraft65.jpg.2021.JPG

*Edit: "last year"
Guess you'll be pleased he's debuting on Saturday. He will have earnt it for sure.

Really happy, but not surprised. Went to school with his Dad who was a tough as footballer too and a world class swimmer. I'll be barracking for the Bloods.

You are always welcome here. I followed his progress last year in the Claremont games and the state games. Love the relentless way he goes about his footy. He seems to just follow the football at a 3/4 pace and when he gets close he can accelerate into a contest. He hangs around waiting for opportunities. If the ball gets out he is away again always following the ball. He can hit hard too and is hard to tackle. Enjoys the rough stuff but is not dirty at all.

Very gracious of you thanks. Looks like a pretty good side you've named. Good luck for the rest of the year.

I hope Longmire gives Sheldick time in the middle today as it really seems like his best position by a long way.
He'll most likely play him exactly like he did when Warner started. Which was forward then midfield.

I hope Longmire gives Sheldick time in the middle today as it really seems like his best position by a long way.

Little early to make that call. You haven't even seen him play forward yet!

I think Sheldrick, like literally every other young mid before him, will start as a forward and I actually reckon he'll prove better suited to it than the other mids were.

Little early to make that call. You haven't even seen him play forward yet!

I think Sheldrick, like literally every other young mid before him, will start as a forward and I actually reckon he'll prove better suited to it than the other mids were.
Swans like to play them forward, get them working on defence in f50 and working with the forwards and protect them a little from the midfield big blokes.

So Jjpk started as a fwd to hone his skills?

Rowbottom played onball from his first season.

By the second half of his first season he was playing on ball, and even that was rare. I think the last first year player to be at a centre bounce before him was Parker about 8 years earlier. But he played his first few games as a forward, and he also dislodged an ageing Kieren Jack to get his opportunity. Looking at our current midfield, I'm not sure I see a Kieren Jack in that group. JPK the obvious candidate, but I'm not prepared to write him off.

Player Watch #12 Angus Sheldrick