#13: Chris Yarran

You're obviously entitled to your opinion mate but when you go on these rants you really need to get your facts right.

We chased Yarran well before we lost another final so your implication that his targeting was a result of pressure to win a final is a little off. Also if you don't rate him yet suggest he was targeted to help win us an elusive final isn't that quite Contradictive.

And finally, isn't the pressure to win finals what drives every team???

Is that little rant over. Yes im entitled to my opinion, your entitled to your right of reply, i take umbrage at you calling it a rant.
Hardly a rant just because i think we had hb options within our list and just dont play em there or refuse to develop them in the role.

I still ask was there really a need to target Yarran to play hb with the likes of McIntosh, Deledio, Mendue, B Ellis Conca and others. Thats not a rant but asking proper questions.
The lack of run out of the back half has been evident since Hardwick has been there,especially in three elimination finals. Yet the back half has remained the same almost. Me i dont think we had to trade for a hb flanker i thought we had some good options already there and on the list..We just needed to play em in the role.

My question now is, How do we play such unaccountable players like Houli and Yarran in the back half??

Your right its all about winning finals and flags. We are yet to achieve that and have not looked like it. That has been obvious for yrs.

Finally i dont rate him your right, but where have i remotely suggested on this thread where i think he will help us win a final.I have said the CLUB obviously thinks he will help them win a final. That we will have to wait and see won't we its not contradictive.

Any way we now have him. I hope he becomes the player we all want him to be. Personally he will have to prove himself. Personally i would rather we try other options in the back half and play him thru the middle.

Was thinking similar in terms of pace but not sure how quick/slow tigga is over say 20m...

Without wanting robbing the defence, Could Grimes play as an attacking/defensive forward? Seems to have all the attributes. (just trying to think outside the box)
I just think we should develop new and existing forwards to work both ways. I do think grimes would make a very good tall winger though.

Is that little rant over. Yes im entitled to my opinion, your entitled to your right of reply, i take umbrage at you calling it a rant.
Hardly a rant just because i think we had hb options within our list and just dont play em there or refuse to develop them in the role.

I still ask was there really a need to target Yarran to play hb with the likes of McIntosh, Deledio, Mendue, B Ellis Conca and others. Thats not a rant but asking proper questions.
The lack of run out of the back half has been evident since Hardwick has been there,especially in three elimination finals. Yet the back half has remained the same almost. Me i dont think we had to trade for a hb flanker i thought we had some good options already there and on the list..We just needed to play em in the role.

My question now is, How do we play such unaccountable players like Houli and Yarran in the back half??

Your right its all about winning finals and flags. We are yet to achieve that and have not looked like it. That has been obvious for yrs.

Finally i dont rate him your right, but where have i remotely suggested on this thread where i think he will help us win a final.I have said the CLUB obviously thinks he will help them win a final. That we will have to wait and see won't we its not contradictive.

Any way we now have him. I hope he becomes the player we all want him to be. Personally he will have to prove himself. Personally i would rather we try other options in the back half and play him thru the middle.

None of those players you mention play half back. Deledio did once, now forward of the pill. Ellis and McIntosh are basically wingers/outside. Conca has never played half back and Menadue will be another winger.

So yes targeting Yarran for HB fills a need

Not to sure about Yarran, but I reject the notion the Houli is a 'such unaccountable' player. Houli has improved greatly since coming over. He isn't any more unaccountable than our other defenders and being the 4th best would suggest we do ok. In fast paced game that is the AFL players can get out the back very easily which should also be considered.

G'day mate and happy new year.

Agree with you 100%...the Houligan has been told to create run methinks...hence he has been assured that his fellow back liners acknowledge that role and should be covering for him in case there is a turnover up the field after he has gone north.

G'day mate and happy new year.

Agree with you 100%...the Houligan has been told to create run methinks...hence he has been assured that his fellow back liners acknowledge that role and should be covering for him in case there is a turnover up the field after he has gone north.
Yes it is simplistic to suggest that the back six all stay on their man these days, with the all out run from the BL that they all essentially do these days.

Maybe not the right thread...but the only thing Bacchar lacks at time is composure...the finishing touch. I have seen him streaming north...and hit a fella lace out...lol just not wearing y&b.

Serious question...he can't eat meat during Ramadan, yes? Protein deficit there, might he lack endurance for that month? Be fascinating to see his intra year stats to explore this.

Agree Houli has improved every year he has played, him and Yarran streaming down the G of HB lace out to Jack, Griff, TV - can't wait

Maybe not the right thread...but the only thing Bacchar lacks at time is composure...the finishing touch. I have seen him streaming north...and hit a fella lace out...lol just not wearing y&b.

Serious question...he can't eat meat during Ramadan, yes? Protein deficit there, might he lack endurance for that month? Be fascinating to see his intra year stats to explore this.

As far as I'm aware he can eat whichever foods he likes. He just should take a normal (for him) "amount" of food & not , Scoff out (almost said Pig out:p:oops:)....

I just think we should develop new and existing forwards to work both ways. I do think grimes would make a very good tall winger though.

Yes, it's the way the game has been going for a while. Almost gone are the days players play 1 position. The more versatile the team the better for gameday & unsettling opposition teams by changing player positions...Our forwards are already doing it, Jack, Ty, Ben G, rotating mids through etc

What 2 blokes who haven't even played a game for us?

A bloke who really wanted to come to us & turned down advances from the Hawks & the other who has a very famous family name. We can dream about the possibilities for these 2 can't we ?......But for me it was more about welcoming a new Tiger to BF, that OK?

Only stirring you up mate

You got me!,(First:oops: but probably not the last of 2016).
No worries mate:thumbsu:...Happy new year!!:)

Given where we have come from I don't think Houli too bad and adding Yarran is a plus. Which ever way given we will have two choices out of the back line and I think we'll see an improvement.

If you have a listen to most indigenous players and the way they talk about chris yarran and his skills/talent most are in awe of him and i truly believe he has been mis managed by carlton and their coaches in the past.

With Hardwick and Chocco around him and in a winning team around a winning culuture, I feel he could really become a damaging player and get to the elite level which most during his draft year believed he would become the best out of his draft

Emma QuayleVerified account‏@emmasq
I could watch Chris Yarran play footy all day long

He can eat what he likes during Ramadan (as long as its Halal) just only before or after sunset.