Player Watch #13 Clayton Oliver – UNPRECEDENTED 4x B&F, 3x AA, 2x AFLCA Winner and Premiership Player (formerly)

OK, I've removed about three pages of posts.

Please do not use this thread to speculate about Oliver's private life – medical or otherwise.

Regardless of the veracity of your rumour, or what you know/have heard, if it's not public knowledge, just don't post it.

I don't want to turn this place into Demonland, but if you can't see the potential harm that this sort of rumour-spreading can cause (regardless of your intentions), then perhaps it's best if you take a bit of a break.

Thanks.

Ollie wines is more than capable of matching Oliver's out put and they have Boak and Powell Pepper who completely nullify Viney if not beat him. Then it's Trac vs Rozee, Butters and JHF.

Yes smutty we beat them so therefore our forward line must be better than port right 😂

Wines is more than capable of matching Olivers output? You’ve gone full nuff from two games (Well technically three, as you said practice matches mean nothing unless you say they mean something in which case they do).

Starting 4: Gawn, Trac, Oliver, Kozzy
Wings: Langdon, Hunter
Rotations: Viney, Harmes, Sparrow, ANB and Grundy as second ruck

vs

Starting 4: Lycett, C Rozee, Wines, Butters
Wings: Bergman, Duursma
Rotations: Powell-Pepper, Drew, Boak, Horne-Francis and Dixon/Finlayson as second ruck

Come on mate, Port don't have the rucks, top end talent or wings to match us. Only thing they have is good youngsters with scope for improvement and decent depth running through there. Boak is cooked and played as the sub last week and Wines was garbage last year.

Starting 4: Gawn, Trac, Oliver, Kozzy
Wings: Langdon, Hunter
Rotations: Viney, Harmes, Sparrow, ANB and Grundy as second ruck

vs

Starting 4: Lycett, C Rozee, Wines, Butters
Wings: Bergman, Duursma
Rotations: Powell-Pepper, Drew, Boak, Horne-Francis and Dixon/Finlayson as second ruck

Come on mate, Port don't have the rucks, top end talent or wings to match us. Only thing they have is good youngsters with scope for improvement and decent depth running through there. Boak is cooked and played as the sub last week and Wines was garbage last year.
Even including SPP in there is tenuous he’s basically a failed mid that’s become a good pressure forward. He’s ANB more or less.

Agree with the rest of your post though. If Butters and Rozee announce themselves as bonafide top 10 players in the league this year and Wines gets back to his 21 level there’s a case to be made for Port having a better midfield. Pretty big if though.

I apologise. Change it to if you are 15 years old and Neitz gets into the picture.

Among other candidates, I reckon the Melbourne side that won 5 Premierships in 6 years might have had a few blokes in it who could go alright.

But I suppose if you define "ever" as the period since everyone carries a mobile phone (a period over most of which Melbourne were a rank laughing stock) and you make "the conversation" a long winded one - by all means put him in the conversation.
A fraise that Mr Wu from Deadwood would often say to the character in you avatar comes readily to mind when I read your posts in this thread.

Even including SPP in there is tenuous he’s basically a failed mid that’s become a good pressure forward. He’s ANB more or less.

Agree with the rest of your post though. If Butters and Rozee announce themselves as bonafide top 10 players in the league this year and Wines gets back to his 21 level there’s a case to be made for Port having a better midfield. Pretty big if though.
Powell Pepper is terrible. Port are flaky af. In no fn universe is there mids as good as ours. I'd take Sparrow over Powell Pepper in a heartbeat.

Wines is more than capable of matching Olivers output? You’ve gone full nuff from two games (Well technically three, as you said practice matches mean nothing unless you say they mean something in which case they do).
In what world is he not? Other than your Oliver's the greatest thing ever glasses ya wearing what does Oliver do better than Wines every single week?

I know you're not normally capable of your own opinion, you just rehash whata been said by David King a month earlier so this will be an interesting response

An interesting interview with Oliver alongside childhood friend Jy Simpkin.

To sum up for those that can't be bothered listening, here is a long summary:

- Sydney made him cry at the draft camp. Kinenar beatson asked him why he’s so fat in the interviews. Clarry said he holds a grudge and tries even harder every time he plays Sydney. He said he’s a person who holds grudges. He joked that he needed to talk to the psych about that. Lol

- I think it was at Maroopna or another junior club where they were like ‘we just want some more consistency from you clarry’. This was after he’d had like 40 touches and 5 goals or something. Clarry didn’t really appreciate it and the season was done anyway so he packed up and went to play for Murray Bushrangers. I may have got the clubs wrong but that’s the gist.

He didn’t think he’d be playing AFL footy until about 2 weeks before the draft. I’m sure he’s exaggerating a little bit but he said he knew he was a rookie chance, but then a chance to be taken in the top 50 and then next minute he got a phone call to say he should go to the draft because he may be taken early.

- Richmond said that they’d rookie him before the draft so he didn’t try all that hard at school once he found that out. He got 70 as his ATAR.

- Oliver sometimes reminds the recruiters that he’s a bit annoyed that they bid on Callum Mills before him.

- Clarry said he’s never late to meetings but he’s never early because he’s fidgety and hates being early to things. He’s too fidgety to sit there doing nothing if he’s early. Petracca, Lever and Gawn are the typical early ones.

- Shoulders are stuffed. His fingers are banged up also.

- He swims a lot but he doesn’t love swimming. He just hates the other cardio stuff more like boxing and Brazilian jiu jitsu.

- Viney is a beast. And he’d hate for him to play on another team. He says Viney is built to hit and be hit. If he ever put you in a headlock, you’d never get out of it.

- He doesn’t care about the people that hate his hair :)

- He reflected on 2022. He said we shat the bed a bit after being 10-0. He was confused why we kept coughing up leads in the 2nd halves. So they worked with the strength and conditioning team in the off-season to figure out how to avoid that this season.

- He’s confused at how they got Grundy. He rates Grundy, he’s a gun and loves getting silver service. It’s great having a premier ruck as our 2nd ruck so he doesn’t have to work as hard every time Gawn is off or resting fwd. He was flat about Jackson leaving.

- Petracca is the funniest guy at the club. Constant antics in the gym. Constant jokes. Not all of them are funny. But he has a shooters shoot mentality with his joke telling.

- Clayton doesn’t like the beach. He reckons he’s got a sand phobia lol

- James Jordon is one of his closest mates at the club.

- He doesn’t pump himself up before a game and he doesn’t calm himself down before a game. He basically doesn’t feel anything until the first centre bounce.

- His favourite beer is ginger beer.

- There was a bit of self-deprecating humour throughout the interview. Mostly about his looks.

- He probably won’t live in Melbourne post-football because of the cold weather. But when asked where he’d want to live he didn’t know.

In what world is he not? Other than your Oliver's the greatest thing ever glasses ya wearing what does Oliver do better than Wines every single week?

I know you're not normally capable of your own opinion, you just rehash whata been said by David King a month earlier so this will be an interesting response

'Not capable of your own opinion' mate I said years ago I think he'll be the best MFC player ever. Don't give me the not capable of my own opinion crap, you and A11 need to have a meeting before any divisive topic on this board to ensure you're both on the same page. Oliver is a much better version of Wines - clears him in all stats, miles ahead in accolades and eye test Oliver also clears. I know you're very harsh on him and I get that, because his ceiling is still extremely high but Olivers last couple years are still ahead of Wines even in Wines' brownlow year.

'Not capable of your own opinion' mate I said years ago I think he'll be the best MFC player ever. Don't give me the not capable of my own opinion crap, you and A11 need to have a meeting before any divisive topic on this board to ensure you're both on the same page. Oliver is a much better version of Wines - clears him in all stats, miles ahead in accolades and eye test Oliver also clears. I know you're very harsh on him and I get that, because his ceiling is still extremely high but Olivers last couple years are still ahead of Wines even in Wines' brownlow years.
That's one player and I don't think Oliver is that much better, better sure. Oliver's ball use is horrible so until he improves that he's just an inside mid and Wines is pretty bloody good at that. Trac and Oliver can go against anyone, then what? Harmes, Sparrow, ANB, Viney... It's crap. These guys get spoken about being dropped every week. Meanwhile port have Rozee and Butters who are young stars, SPP who is a good inside mid and does what Viney does plus JHF who is talented AF.

We don't have the best midfield in the comp, the fact all you wanna argue about is the port take shows how right I am on that. Can't have a 2 person midfield.

That's one player and I don't think Oliver is that much better, better sure. Oliver's ball use is horrible so until he improves that he's just an inside mid and Wines is pretty bloody good at that. Trac and Oliver can go against anyone, then what? Harmes, Sparrow, ANB, Viney... It's crap. These guys get spoken about being dropped every week. Meanwhile port have Rozee and Butters who are young stars, SPP who is a good inside mid and does what Viney does plus JHF who is talented AF.

We don't have the best midfield in the comp, the fact all you wanna argue about is the port take shows how right I am on that. Can't have a 2 person midfield.

I literally have never said we have the best midfield, stop with this ridiculous strawman. Will Ports midfield be better in a few years? Yep totally on board with that. Are they better now? No lol

Because dummy that was the original point that we don't have the best midfield in the comp so I'm not sure exactly what advantage we have to win a flag

If you think that Oliver isn't much better than Wines let's compare their accolades.

Oliver:
-4 best and fairests
-3 AA selections
-2 AFLCA awards
-1 Premiership

Wines:
-1 best and fairest
-1 AA selection
-0 AFLCA awards
-0 Premierships

And before anyone mentions that Wines won a brownlow in 2021, any neutral observer would say that Oliver was significantly better than him that year.

'Not capable of your own opinion' mate I said years ago I think he'll be the best MFC player ever. Don't give me the not capable of my own opinion crap, you and A11 need to have a meeting before any divisive topic on this board to ensure you're both on the same page. Oliver is a much better version of Wines - clears him in all stats, miles ahead in accolades and eye test Oliver also clears. I know you're very harsh on him and I get that, because his ceiling is still extremely high but Olivers last couple years are still ahead of Wines even in Wines' brownlow year.

He could have tagged me Tulip !

If you think that Oliver isn't much better than Wines let's compare their accolades.

Oliver:
-4 best and fairests
-3 AA selections
-2 AFLCA awards
-1 Premiership

Wines:
-1 best and fairest
-1 AA selection
-0 AFLCA awards
-0 Premierships

And before anyone mentions that Wines won a brownlow in 2021, any neutral observer would say that Oliver was significantly better than him that year.

I mean premierships might be the worst metric to prove someone is better than another. Funny how you include premierships but dont include Brownlow's lol.

FWIW I do think Oliver is easily better than Wines, just saying that is dumb.

I mean premierships might be the worst metric to prove someone is better than another. Funny how you include premierships but dont include Brownlow's lol.

FWIW I do think Oliver is easily better than Wines, just saying that is dumb.
Alright fine. Taking premierships out of the comparison, Oliver is still clearly the superior player.

I just felt to urge to bring up the premiership part because it feels nice to finally be able to boast about something as a dees fan.

Alright fine. Taking premierships out of the comparison, Oliver is still clearly the superior player.

I just felt to urge to bring up the premiership part because it feels nice to finally be able to boast about something as a dees fan.

Fair enough.

Wines? Is he even a top 80 afl player right now? He was so bad last year.
You literally have been in the Oliver Cripps thread talking about how great Oliver's game was on the weekend 😂 don't come in here asking for trouble when you live your life hovering above a report button as your only friend.

Showed it in spades tonight against a fierce crows midfield.
In fairness, Port were up against Izak Rankine who’s probably the greatest player in the history of the AFL if not any sport that’s ever been invented according to David King.

Showed it in spades tonight against a fierce crows midfield.
Someone said Ollie Wines is as good as Oliver 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 my goodness that made me laugh. Had a few beers, but Like I said, Port only look good on paper. Flaky af midfield and team. They go to water when the heat is on. JHF is as bad as Dogga. Gets his mum to tuck him in at night. I'll be gutted if Koz leaves for that rabble

Player Watch #13 Clayton Oliver – UNPRECEDENTED 4x B&F, 3x AA, 2x AFLCA Winner and Premiership Player (formerly)