Player Watch #17: Jake Bowey – signed to 2026

I was a bit Tapscott fan. I reckon he had loads going for him apart from a body that could remain not injured. Turns out the injury thing overcame anything else. Sad :(
I liked him too, but did he seem too big to you? I'm not sure his physique was going to allow him to make it at the level. Sure, conditioning and the right fitness staff would have made a difference, but he always seems too big to me.

I always use to think this as well. He wasn't really a natural ball winner and spent majority of his career at half forward where you'd need to have a big running capacity to get up and down the ground. I found Tapscott struggled with this and always thought he played his best footy down back in his debut year under Bailey.

So many players who come into the comp that developed have massive injury issues down the track. Jesse Hogan and Matt Rowell the most recent examples.

Hogan wasn't really that big though was he? HGH himself Marcus Adams is in that category as well though

O'Meara another one. Not sure it's coincidence these guys come in with big rigs and have continued injury issues. Didn't Tappscott have an unlucky incident with a sprinkler or some s**t? Sometimes you can just be unlucky but he always seemed too big to me.

Yeah tripped on a sprinkler divet at Junction oval or something and ****ed his hip, I think.

He's going to be a good player but what he needs to do to get anywhere near Caleb Daniel's level is to be clearer in his decision making. He gets a mark and he frantically assesses about 50 options before kicking. He just needs to take a breath, calm down. I'm sure he'll improve that side to his game with time.

Game 3 🤷‍♂️

Wish he'd be decisive and bomb it long instead :hearteyecat:

Do you really want me to find the exact moments in the game where he is freaking out during the decision making process. Because I will.
The kids played 3 games. 3 very good games as well might I add. I think you're being very harsh. His disposal looks very good. Decision making is sound tbh. Will take him a season to pick up the pace of AFL. Looks a beauty tbh and is exactly what we need in the team. Nothing wrong with a kid being cautious with ball in hand. He backs his disposal in once he makes his mind up where he's going with it. I don't mind that. 92, 81 and 83 are his % numbers for efficiency in his first 3 games..I think you're being far too critical. Pace of finals footy will test him, but so far he's been bloody fantastic.

The kids played 3 games. 3 very good games as well might I add. I think you're being very harsh. His disposal looks very good. Decision making is sound tbh. Will take him a season to pick up the pace of AFL. Looks a beauty tbh and is exactly what we need in the team. Nothing wrong with a kid being cautious with ball in hand. He backs his disposal in once he makes his mind up where he's going with it. I don't mind that. 92, 81 and 83 are his % numbers for efficiency in his first 3 games. Thats an elite ball user right there. I think you're being far too critical. Pace of finals footy will test him, but so far he's been bloody fantastic.

Do you really want me to find the exact moments in the game where he is freaking out during the decision making process. Because I will.
It's not hard, use the AFL stats pro to see his involvement in the game.

Can't think of too many moments where I thought he looked panicked, he usually looks back for the release handball or waits for something to open up, I wouldn't call that hesitation. On the comparison to Caleb Daniel yes he is usually pretty composed but against Hawthorn he lost his head. So it happens even to the best.

Super promising first couple of games.

Looked a class above in the Casey games I’ve watched this year. Excellent skills and quick decision making. Was interested to see whether (or how quickly) he could find that same time at AFL level.

Sure he’s had a couple of moments of hesitation (which every new player has as they find they adapt to the speed of the top tier) but not nearly as many as I expected and his good has been very good (great skills, not only quick but consistently good/creative decisions).

The only criticism I have (and it’s another criticism that will resolve over time) is he doesn’t have any power in his tackling. There was one goal the Crows scored, he was tackling McHenry on D50 and McHenry just shook him off to punch it I50. Now McHenry isn’t exactly huge himself so it was a bit surprising but that’s the difference of a couple of years in the system.

Yes, I would. I'd much prefer him to bomb it long then spend 10 seconds freakingout before being asked to play on and then bomb it long. Whatever it is, be clear in the decision making. A quick pan of the options is okay but just breath a bit.

Mate, this is so far off the mark.

In that WCE game he had chosen the right decision before he had even gotten the ball. Bloke has eyes in the back of his head.

One of the most composed first 3 games i've ever seen. If he looked to pause before making a decisison, i'm trusting him that it was necessary

Jeez , stop for a moment and reflect on who was our backline yesterday . Bowey 3 games , Petty (more or less 26 games? ) Rivers 30 games . Add in Joel Smith who barely gets on the park . Collectively did a great job with General Lever as the experienced head and Hibberd being Hibberd . And Salem .
They did a GREAT JOB !!!

Yes, I would. I'd much prefer him to bomb it long then spend 10 seconds freakingout before being asked to play on and then bomb it long. Whatever it is, be clear in the decision making. A quick pan of the options is okay but just breath a bit.

With an attitude and logic like that, you really missed your calling as a Melbourne strategy coach 2007-2020

Player Watch #17: Jake Bowey – signed to 2026