Votes: 26 19.3%
  • We're cursed

Votes: 41 30.4%
  • We're number one!

Votes: 27 20.0%

As good a contested mark that the Gov is, without him we miss out on maybe 2 speccy's for the game, which could have resulted in scores of 2.0, 1.1 or 0.2
Plus if he's not there Walker and Jenkins will know they have to pull their finger out and contest more in the air.

Gov's main strength is his speed, pressure and ground work - none of which Otten can provide. We can live without his aerial stuff but need someone who will cover his other strengths. Otten, great clubman that he is, aint it.
Gov most goals for us over the last 5 matches.

I know but how many came from pack marks, which we'll miss, and how many from leads, ground plays etc, which we can cover as long as we don't pick Otten.
I think we'll miss him greatly, however i think we are a better team than geelong by more than mcgovern though.

o_O
I don't care about Butler & co, or want to compare them to Betts. We were talking about CC.

You said: "Responses in here rave about his defensive pressure, but is that enough reason to play a small forward? Isn't his main role to kick goals?"

I drew a comparison to Richmond's small forwards, who aren't picked to kick goals, they are picked to apply defensive pressure - any goals that come about as a result of that pressure are a bonus. Their job is to lock the ball inside 50.

Yes it's enough reason to play a small forward - Richmond play three of them because that's their structure and that is the role they're all expected to fulfil.

Yes, and that's the mystery to me :huh:. Selecting a small forward (goalkicker) mainly for his defensive pressure when he has the worst goalkicking efficiency in the side puzzles me.
I used to think CC was a champion in the rough --- his speed and evasive skills are jaw-dropping, but he burns the ball at the end of those runs and has been one of our worst 5 players for 4-5 weeks now.
You're right --- too late to drop him, and we all hope he has a blinder this week.

I don't think you're quite grasping the fact the game has moved way, way past the point of picking forwards purely based on their ability to kick goals.. this isn't the 80s, or any other era before the introduction of other sporting codes' tactics being used widespread in the game.

Your comment "Selecting a small forward (goalkicker) mainly for his defensive pressure when he has the worst goalkicking efficiency in the side puzzles me." is a contradiction in itself - if he's selected for his defensive pressure, we're not fixated on his accuracy in front of goal, we're worried about his ability to lock the ball in our attacking half, nothing more. That's his role, any goals he scores are a bonus.

We have enough forwards who are more than capable of sharing the responsibility of kicking goals.

You believe anyone picked in the forwardline should be given the role of "goalkicker", when there's just so much more to it than that :thumbsu:

Not sure if it has been mentioned elsewhere, but only 5* players remain from our last Prelim in 2012: Mackay, Walker, Sloane, Douglas, Jacobs.

The other 17 that played that day: Porplyzia, Tippett, S.Thompson, Dangerfield, Otten*, Vince, Henderson, Wright, Reilly, Van Berlo, Doughty, Smith, Rutten, L.Thompson, Callinan, Johncock & Petrenko.

*6 if Otten is picked.

Most recent is 1992 - West Coast beat Geelong twice. 1991 Hawthorn beat West Coast twice. 1990 Collingwood beat Essendon twice. 1987 Carlton beat Hawthorn twice. In 1985, Essendon beat Hawthorn twice and Hawthorn beat Footscray twice.
Great work mate!
I stopped at 2000, just because A - you've gotta stop somewhere,. and B - I seem to remember the finals sytem being different from 1999 back..

You said: "Responses in here rave about his defensive pressure, but is that enough reason to play a small forward? Isn't his main role to kick goals?"

I drew a comparison to Richmond's small forwards, who aren't picked to kick goals, they are picked to apply defensive pressure - any goals that come about as a result of that pressure are a bonus. Their job is to lock the ball inside 50.

Yes it's enough reason to play a small forward - Richmond play three of them because that's their structure and that is the role they're all expected to fulfil.

I don't think you're quite grasping the fact the game has moved way, way past the point of picking forwards purely based on their ability to kick goals.. this isn't the 80s, or any other era before the introduction of other sporting codes' tactics being used widespread in the game.

Your comment "Selecting a small forward (goalkicker) mainly for his defensive pressure when he has the worst goalkicking efficiency in the side puzzles me." is a contradiction in itself - if he's selected for his defensive pressure, we're not fixated on his accuracy in front of goal, we're worried about his ability to lock the ball in our attacking half, nothing more. That's his role, any goals he scores are a bonus.

We have enough forwards who are more than capable of sharing the responsibility of kicking goals.

You believe anyone picked in the forwardline should be given the role of "goalkicker", when there's just so much more to it than that :thumbsu:

You're going to fit in here rather well I suspect :)

76 pages is a lot of opinions to read, so I'll just say that I'm keeping an open mind about our chances. Even though we have the home ground advantage and on paper are better I'm not going to be shocked if we lose.

I'm not overly fussed, but it's the principal. If Richmond were top there wouldn't be a coin toss. The AFL are just a dodgy organisation.

Let's hope it's a problem we have to deal with!

And if we do make it, i will be ok if we end up in white. My dream in February or March (can't remember which thread i posted it in, but i did document it on this board somewhere earlier in the year) that we won the flag wearing white. I dreamt Talia was holding the cup with his back to the fans on the boundary lifting it in celebration with them

I'll be at ease if we make it and the AFL makes us wear white ;)

If being the key here..... Carn boys!

Let's hope it's a problem we have to deal with!

And if we do make it, i will be ok if we end up in white. My dream in February or March (can't remember which thread i posted it in, but i did document it on this board somewhere earlier in the year) that we won the flag wearing white. I dreamt Talia was holding the cup with his back to the fans on the boundary lifting it in celebration with them

I'll be at ease if we make it and the AFL makes us wear white ;)

If being the key here..... Carn boys!
I like that dream.

Actually, my vision was last year about us in white and Talia lifting the cup!

i even made a post about it in the predictions thread and about the vision i saw of Talia on GF day wearing our white guernsey

Posted on July 14th 2016. Must've put it in the predictions thread for 2016

May be it comes true in 2017 instead of 2016?

**** you Gillon you soft ****.

He's just said that if we play Richmond in the GF, we don't get the right to wear our home jumper because it's not a home game. The advantage we get is another days break.

Sounds like it will be a coin toss.

Just to pander to KB and the Richmond army. Flog.

And further to this, let's be very careful what clash jumper we choose from here, win a flag and its etched in history.

If we're going to win a premiership wearing a clash guernsey then this year is it because ours for 2018 is going to look terrible

Joel Selwood gave a quick pressor earlier this week stating they are just focusing on the first quarter. I expect AFC to really bring it in the first.

Oh good, so we can expect them to say "good job boys, pack up" after the first quarter :p

I'll have a go. Please read the post above yours about Skippy and his fears. Please try to accept that it's out of our hands and up to Pykey and the boys (who finished Top).

Then, please consider this --- there's two main schools of thought:
1) The pessimists who've said we're cursed/doomed, look at our PF record, those injuries why-do-they-always-happen-to-us, if they lose this year we'll spend another 19 years in the wilderness, and so on. They are not bad people, or silly. They just prefer to expect/predict a loss so that
--- if we lose their disappointment will be in line with their expectations. Some of them will meltdown post-match, but it's basically a pain-limiting device.
--- if we win, they'll be euphoric and quickly forget about their pre-game negativity. Then they'll rinse and repeat for the GF.
2) the optimists who look mostly at this year's form (Walsh's death cannot be ignored, but 05/06 results are irrelevant), Pyke and Co's smart/meticulous planning and player management after Round 21, the current leadership/coach/playing group. They are not good people or smarter than the pessimists. They just prefer to think about winning knowing that
--- if we lose it'll hurt like hell, but a game of footy is not the be-all and end-all. Like Simmo, they ...

--- if we win, they'll be euphoric and look forward nervously to the GF.
AmericanCrow, choose your poison, brother. Believe :thumbsu:. Enjoy the buildup and the game. :)

Fwiw, when we won the first 6 games, I was thinking "Holy Schlamoley, who's gonna beat us?" but found out pretty quickly :(.
Those middle games had me worried until it became clear that Pyke and Co were planning, shuffling and executing changes.
The Hawthorn loss (Clarkson always comes up with something), and the Sydney loss in Round 22 (poor goalkicking, plus really good teams find a way to win close games) concerned me, but I like what they've done since (the WC loss was inconsequential, except maybe for the Dees, who can suck eggs). All of my instincts (such as they are!) are saying we might fall short this year, either this week or in the GF, but I have a bottle of Wild Turkey waiting for a GF win, just in case. I'm not saying there's-always-next-year, but I've thought for a few months now that in 2018 we will improve further and dominate, not lose to sides in the bottom 5 or 6, and surge to the Flag. But 2017 is here and now and I'd love them to win it.

Mate, good post. Let's hope we get through Friday night and enjoy the nervous energy during the week after :)

MCrouch 2017 Brownlow Winner

If they tag those players they just have to make sure the umpire sees all the holding that will inevitably happen. Make sure we get the frees. Play for every single free possible because you know that's exactly what Dangerwood will be doing.
Derek Humphrey-Smith (x umpire) was on the Run Home (sen) tonight and one of the thing he said was that Danger got three free kicks he shouldn't have got last week, including the one where he help an opposition players arm and dragged him onto his back resulting in a free kick to Danger for in the back. He got a free kick he didn't deserve from each of the three umpires and he then said that the umpires will have their eye on Danger on Friday night.

1st Preliminary Final - Adelaide v Geelong - Pre-game Thread