Cigarettes are legal too mate. Would hate for Carlton to start backing Winfield Blue 20s even if it made money.Richmond can survive without the revenue from pokies, we are one of the few, the 20 year licenses are resellable and it would be poor business practices not to grab one if given the opportunity, we are moving into other areas but pokies are legal.
WCE major sponsor is Hungry Jacks and they give away burgers when you win, junk food is addictive and can cause many.problems for peoples health. Crown is also an official partner, they have pokies, so Im not sure who is doing a bigger diservice to their supporters, if either?Australia is after all supposed to be a democracy, choose your own poison.
lol can't believe there's ppl here attempting to justify pokies in our community... got to love one eyed supporters.
lol at supporters who take moral high ground because their club no longer has pokies and that's somehow helped the problem gamblers..........newsflash - the pokies are still there, just now some fatcat is taking the clubs share of the profits rather than a community based football club. I know who I would rather take the profits (after the government takes its big cut)
There's plenty of "dirty" money to be made in this world.lol at supporters who take moral high ground because their club no longer has pokies and that's somehow helped the problem gamblers..........newsflash - the pokies are still there, just now some fatcat is taking the clubs share of the profits rather than a community based football club. I know who I would rather take the profits (after the government takes its big cut)
I dont disagree entirely but the licenses are just that, they can be resold when Pokies are inevitably banned by the AFL, they do not require a club to have pokies they just allow you to do so.Cigarettes are legal too mate. Would hate for Carlton to start backing Winfield Blue 20s even if it made money.
Im one-eyed as they come, but on this one Id love Carlton to stop Pokies revenue.
Hope that works
With all those pokies living in Australia its only a matter of time before the machines take over.1 in 10 pokie machines live in australia. Must be a lot of suckers in australia
Nah, it's gross and Essendon should ditch pokies ASAP.Excellent
OkNah, it's gross and Essendon should ditch pokies ASAP.
Richmond can survive without the revenue from pokies, we are one of the few, the 20 year licenses are resellable and it would be poor business practices not to grab one if given the opportunity, we are moving into other areas but pokies are legal.
WCE major sponsor is Hungry Jacks and they give away burgers when you win, junk food is addictive and can cause many.problems for peoples health. Crown is also an official partner, they have pokies, so Im not sure who is doing a bigger diservice to their supporters, if either?Australia is after all supposed to be a democracy, choose your own poison.
You can eat all the free HJ's you want as long as you can cope with the consequences of your choice.Ahh yes having Crown as a sponsor is the same as running and promoting a gambling facility. If you are unsure who is doing the bigger disservice it is the one owning and operating the gambling facility that targets the poorest and most vulnerable in society (check the demographics of who the biggests users of pokies are).
You can choose whatever you want do. Just as you can cope with the consequences for your choices.
Lol, Freos sponsors include Carlton Draught, TABtouch and Crown Casinos.The only thing more pi$$weak about those clubs taking gambling money is the posters on here trying to justify it. Slink off quietly on this one.
You can eat all the free HJ's you want as long as you can cope with the consequences of your choice.
Your club accepts money from a Casino and a fast food outlet its a bit ripe of you to be complaining about other clubs making money from gambling when your own club does the same, dont you think?
People will always blow their money somewhere so y not pokies. If there were no pokies they would just blow it at the tab or on more smokes, alcohol and drugs. I would prefer my club had them if it meant I could watch them play in Melbourne more as opposed to having to sell games to Tasmania.
Who paid for that shiny new stadium that you play in and earn revenue from?
If semantics and technicalities are the only retort against the premise of my argument, then it seems you really don't have a retort to begin with.
WhataboutismBut they are not the same and you know it. Don't try to bring us down to the gutter with you.
WCE does not actively promote gambling like Richmond does. Plus the gambling industry is a lot different in WA then in Victoria (much stricter management).
I think its telling you have reverted to "but everyone is doing it (sorta) so its okay!" line so quickly though.
Your sponsor is Crown Casino their advertising is every where at your games if thats not actively promoting gambling what is?But they are not the same and you know it. Don't try to bring us down to the gutter with you.
WCE does not actively promote gambling like Richmond does. Plus the gambling industry is a lot different in WA then in Victoria (much stricter management).
I think its telling you have reverted to "but everyone is doing it (sorta) so its okay!" line so quickly though.
Your sponsor is Crown Casino their advertising is every where at your games if thats not actively promoting gambling what is?
#4 Kicking On
Keep the buzz of the game alive and join party-goers at one of Crown's late night venues, including Crown Sports Bar, The Merrywell and Groove Bar & Lounge. Not to mention plenty of thrills on offer in the Casino with 2c games across 300 gaming machines and table games starting at $2.50. See bars and nightclubs.
I got the link from your website
Richmond don't advertise their one pokies site at our national games as far as I know, so who is the one actively promoting gaming?
Im not actually a fan of pokies the way they are everywhere in Melbourne, which is my old home town but they are legal and gamblers will always fing a way to lose their money.
More of an issue for me is what it did to the great Melbourne band scene, what were once stages are now just another alcove for a few more pokies.
Richmond chief executive Brendon Gale says his club almost has a “higher purpose” than football, as he reiterated the Tigers' shift to reduce their reliance on pokies.
“In that respect, it’s important as a club for talent. Don’t get me wrong, footy’s really important. But we almost play to a higher purpose.”