2005 Line-up

F-U said:
What you fail to see Sydney_Eagle is that if we have 5 tall forwards then the opposition has to muster 5 tall defenders. Now considering the fact we barely have 2 tall defenders you can imagine that getting 2 ruckmen when most teams barely have one, and 3 other tall defenders is gonna be a hard task for the best of teams. The opposition infact will probably have to get 6 tall defenders as most of the year Matera has been picked up by a tall defender. Although we will struggle to keep the ball from being rebounded, you imagine that the other teams will struggle to rebound the ball aswell with that many tall defenders down there. It aint like Western Bulldogs are gonna play Lindsay Gilbee on Mark Seaby so they can rebound the ball out of our forward line. If you could come up with any team that could field suitable opponents for those 5 then i would like to see it, because i believe they would be very hard to stop.

And if you dont think Staker is a suitable forward player, how the heck did u come to imagine he would be any better in defence, a position he has never played before in his life??

Staker actually debuted for us playing in the backline.

The reality is that someone is going to have to bite the bullet next year and play CHB, with Hunter/Waters and Stenglein in support on the flanks.

I agree with you that a taller forward line is the way to go - within reason.

Three players of 197cm+ along with Embley at 190cm is enough. If you want to rotate Embley through the midfield and use one of Lynch and Staker up forward from time to time that's OK.

But Sampi and Matera are two of the competition's best small forwards. 4 talls is the maximum, and I'd prefer Embley to be the fourth tall at 190cm.

There's no point stacking our forward line with talls, if we have an undersized backline. One of Lynch and Staker will spend 2005 at CHB, maybe they'll rotate - but one of them will be down back throughout next year.

Theres way too many short people on that ground for my liking coasting plus i have no idea how Seaby and Selwood were displaced for Wooden and Nicoski.

As far as CHB goes you would think Zac Beech, Travis Gaspar and Jaymie Graham would be in the hunt for that spot ahead of the likes of Brent Staker.

F-U said:
What you fail to see Sydney_Eagle is that if we have 5 tall forwards then the opposition has to muster 5 tall defenders. Now considering the fact we barely have 2 tall defenders you can imagine that getting 2 ruckmen when most teams barely have one, and 3 other tall defenders is gonna be a hard task for the best of teams. The opposition infact will probably have to get 6 tall defenders as most of the year Matera has been picked up by a tall defender. Although we will struggle to keep the ball from being rebounded, you imagine that the other teams will struggle to rebound the ball aswell with that many tall defenders down there. It aint like Western Bulldogs are gonna play Lindsay Gilbee on Mark Seaby so they can rebound the ball out of our forward line. If you could come up with any team that could field suitable opponents for those 5 then i would like to see it, because i believe they would be very hard to stop.

And if you dont think Staker is a suitable forward player, how the heck did u come to imagine he would be any better in defence, a position he has never played before in his life??

Actually, iirc Staker was a TAC cup tall defender of some repute before we drafted him, and I think long term he will probably be a defender again.
He is skinny at the moment, but its easy to lose sight of the fact that he is playing seniors at the moment mainly because his pace and agility are exceptional for a kpp sized player- at this point in their careers, neither McDougall nor Hansen had gotten a game in the seniors because they were so damn skinny, the difference between Staker and them is he is agile enough to play AFL on the flanks before the bulk comes.

You simply cannot afford to play ultra-tall forward lines for entire games- its an (extremely effective) 10-15 minute tactic when our midfield is dominating out of the centre, but if you try it all game long it costs more goals than its worth, because whenever the opposition gets any possessions anywhere on the field, they effectively have 3 or 4 extra runners coming out of defence and pushing forward.

If that wasn't the case, teams would have dispensed with small forwards and defenders a long time ago, and just drafted 195cm plus players and nothing else.

Stuffed Line-Up

This is mine:

Matera-McDougall-Sampi
Embley-Gardiner-Seaby
Kerr-Cousins-Braun
Stenglein-Hay -Chick
Wirrpunda-Glass-Hunter

R:Cox-Fletcher-Judd
I/C: Butler :D -Waters :D -Wooden-Banfield

F-U said:
Theres way too many short people on that ground for my liking coasting plus i have no idea how Seaby and Selwood were displaced for Wooden and Nicoski.

As far as CHB goes you would think Zac Beech, Travis Gaspar and Jaymie Graham would be in the hunt for that spot ahead of the likes of Brent Staker.

You can't criticise my naming Staker as a potential CHB on the grounds he hasn't played there before, and then suggest players who can't even crack a regular game as preferable replacements.

That's completely illogical.

I thought Nicoski showed a hell of alot of potential before he injured his shoulder. Almost reminded me of David Hart, great player and should be back in our starting 22.

I think we should persist with Lynch at CHB. Got to remember that he is still just a kid. And with one kick, he can clear the danger by 70mtrs. Huge bloke and just needs a bit of time to come through

FWIW, assuming every potential starter is available and in form (something which I don't think has happened ever in the history of the WCE), as of round 1 next season-

B: Chick Glass Wirrpunda
HB:Waters Gaspar Hunter
C: Fletcher Cousins Butler
HF:Sampi Gardiner Embley
F:Seaby McDougall Matera

R:Cox Judd Kerr
Int:Staker, Braun, Stenglein, Banfield

One thing to remember when picking any team is that roughly 4-5 out of any figurative best 22 will manage to play out an entire season, and chances are that whatever side you selected will never actually get out on the park in its entirety.

The guys who missed out but should play substantial footy next season-

Lynch- versatile, but just not as classy Gaspar. Realistically, he'd have the Gassy's spot if (when) Travis is injured. Would also be the tall utility on the bench if he found himself in better form than Staker.

Wooden- Quality midfielder and probably the backup of choice when any midfielder finds themselves out of form or injured.

Adkins- I rate him as a HFF, he'll breathe down Butler, Sampi and Matera's necks.

Nicoski- very very tough to leave him out, and personally I think he will improve and become a certain starter next season, and take over from Banfield. Will need to prove himself though.

Brett Jones- Hunter or Waters' place if they are in poor form.

Rowan Jones- Stenglein displaces him immediately, needs a massive form reversal to be considered again.

Hansen- Will have a tough time making an impression next year. He lacks versatility, which means if you can't find a spot for him in the starting 18 he probably won't get a game. Will most likely be the immediate backup to Gardiner or takeover from McDougall if the latter can't find form.

Selwood- I rate personally, but with Stenglein's arrival is going to have to prove himself in a big way.

When i met Staker he told me he was more of a forward player....

Anyway, Good point Sydney_Eagle BUT I didnt explain why i thought that so I will. I think that Beech was very close to being named CHB for our finals game against the Swans (he was an emergency) and was in red hot form in the WAFL playing CHB and Graham is young and developing CHB who had a great last half of the year in the WAFL. As for Gaspar, i heard his name mentioned as being built to play CHB next year on the radio and i just put 2 and 2 together really. so thats why i said those 3 are probably ahead of Staker in that department.

Here is a list of our 'talls':

Those in our best 22:

Gardiner - 25 y.o., 199cm (CHF)
Cox - 23, 204 (RUCK)
Glass - 23, 192 (FB)
Seaby - 20, 203 (FP/RUCK)
McDougall - 21, 197 (FF)
Staker - 20, 196 (CHB/INT)
Lynch - 21, 194 (CHB/INT)
Hunter - 23, 190 (HBF/BP)
Embley - 23, 190 (W/HFF)
Stenglein - 24, 190 (HBF/RR)

Those outside our best 22:

Beeck - 22, 197
Gaspar - 23, 197
Hansen - 21, 198
Graham - 21, 195

My argument is that of those guys in our best 22, at least one them has to hold down CHB, and that it is going to be ery hard for us to squeeze any more talls in there.

Hence, guys like Beeck, Hansen and Gaspar will be struggling to get a regular game.

The idea that we could get more than four of these guys into our forward 6 is ridiculous.

Unless Staker asks Kerr for some advice and gets his hands on a fair bit of anabolic steroids, I doubt he will be big enough to play KP next season. Prefer him on a flank as he still has alot of developing to do. I agree with SydneyEagle that we need a taller backline. In the Sydney final if the rain hadnt have come, I think it wouldve been alot more obvious how stretched for height we were. Id like to see either Lynch or someone else (Beeck, Grayham) being given a go there rather than just stick Hunter there where he should without doubt be take the third tall. Hay should be a target of trade IMO (12,28 wouldve been good :rolleyes: ). With the tall forward line, I'd doubt Gardiner and Seaby would be in the forward line at the same time unless Gardiner played CHF. IMO Gaspar or Hansen should play there and let Gardy play in a pocket. Then Sampi, Matera and Embley (rotating through the midfield) should take the other forward positions. 6 talls couldnt work. No crumbers if the ball goes to ground youll have all these tall blokes breaking their backs trying to get down low :( . Stenglien should rotate off the flank and into the midfield. Doogs needs to hit the gym abit and I would like to see him at around 95-97kg next season. Staker needs to put on 5kg but I doubt he will be big enough 2006 should be the year for him. So with Gardy in a pocket and Doogs at FF, Gardiner will play the role Seaby did whilst in the forward line, playing out of the goal square and giving us a marking option up there, whilst McDougall will play as the leading forward. Hansen impressed me alot the few times I saw him and he could really step up next season and I hope Gaspar can string some good games together. We've got heaps of forward line options so Im hoping the young backmen will be able to develop alot and hold their own down back in 05'.

Wirrapunda (untradeable IMO our sole rebounder out of D50)
Glass Hunter

Chick Lynch/Beeck/Grayham Waters
(undecided Lynch probably atm)

Fletcher Cousins Stenglein (tag role)

Sampi Hansen/Gaspar Embley
(whoever is fit)

Matera McDougall Gardiner

Cox Judd Kerr

INT: Braun Seaby Staker Butler

Em: Banfield Adkins Wooden
A quick question- can somone tell me something about McConnell? And will Waters grow much as hes only 17.

People keep saying that Staker is too skinny to play KP, and while I agree that he's needs to build up, I don't think you need to be massive to play CHB.

Look at someone like Jared Riers - he's a skinny kid but he's dominated at CHB this year.

Besides, for the bigger CHF, we could use Lynch.

Either way, someone needs to hold that position down next year, and I can't see someone coming from nowhere to do it.

Anyone who writes Hunter as CHB is lost...Imagine him playing on Barry Hall :eek:, Richardson :eek:, Riewoldt (pfft) and/or Tredrea (Whoo)
Think you guys.
Quinten Lynch- Hard to match up on, rarely goes missing, strength to take them on (another large player)

:eek: indicates HUGE or good player

SYDNEY_EAGLE said:
People keep saying that Staker is too skinny to play KP, and while I agree that he's needs to build up, I don't think you need to be massive to play CHB.

Look at someone like Jared Riers - he's a skinny kid but he's dominated at CHB this year.

Besides, for the bigger CHF, we could use Lynch.

Either way, someone needs to hold that position down next year, and I can't see someone coming from nowhere to do it.

I dont think its just his size, its prescence. Whilst Rivers is very skinny for a KPP he plays off his man very well and can assert his own physcial prescence. Staker will just get pushed around like a schoolkid. If we are having to rotate Lynch and Staker through CHB, I dont htink I'd like that. Id be more confident with a player who can man up on any CHF. (Most good CHF's are big and very agile). IMO we need someone who can matchup on Rievoilt as he is the perfect CHF. Staker could do this but not for a few years. Apparently McDougall could play down there- someone said that anyway.

Eagles_Rock said:
Anyone who writes Hunter as CHB is lost...Imagine him playing on Barry Hall :eek:, Richardson :eek:, Riewoldt (pfft) and/or Tredrea

I agree but Hunter did a good job on Goodes whos alot bigger than him. But he matches up better on the Whittnall types (shorter+fatter :p ).

If a tall foward 6 is what your after you could probably only fit in 5 at best and that depends on your definition of 'tall'.

My 5 man tall foward line considers Embley and Stenglein talls (IMO they are not but hey for theory sake lets call em talls). It would go:

Embly/ Gardiner/ Stenglien
Matera/ McDougall/ Seaby.

I'd say that this idea isn't totally crazy, as Embly and Stenglien are tall midfielders and they could help strech defences if they play of HFFs, also they tackle well, the both of them, and that could help the rebound 50 problems we are having.

As for the CHB thing IMO Gaspar is locked in there as long as he is healty.

I imagine though that Lynch will be given first crack at it rightly so and it will be up to Gaspar to show form and displace Lynch.

SYDNEY_EAGLE said:
Chick has done nothing for us - he plays about two decent games a year.
I reckon chick kicks arse.
He had the most or second most shepards in the league this year.
He is allways putting his body on the line.
Thought some jobs are beyond him like the o'loughlin match up.

Chick -- Glass-- Wirrapunda
Staker -- Beck/Lynch/Gaspar -- Hunter
Embley -- Cox - Judd - Fletcher- Cousins -- Waters
Braun-- Gardiner-- Sampi
Matera -- McDougall -- Seaby

IC: Stenglein - Kerr - Wooden/Butler - Banfield/Nicoski

Major weakness for WC is still contested marking power which is why i'd like to have a tall, mobile HB line.

Lynch is no certainty if Beck or Gaspar step up to take CHB.

All the good teams now have rebounding CHBs. Ports premiership can pretty much go down to the way Chad Cornes played there. Cornes is listed at 191 but I'm telling you he isn't taller than Hunter. We need a rebounding CHB, thats why Hunter was preferred there. Hunter has actually done well at CHB against some bigger opponents. Its no coincidence that our late season run came when Hunter was moved there. If not Hunter, we need to find a rebounding CHB.

Mitch Morton.... wat do people thing, will he debut next season and if not... why?

I play school footy with him and was wondering wat everyone thought about his chances

I've heard a number of first hand sources rave about him, with the big positive supposedly his foot skills.

Given that he is basically a top 10 calibre draftee, you'd think he would certainly debut next season. In previous years Woosha seems to like to bring in new-guys around the round 12-18 period when injury and fatigue start to take their toll on the top-liners. I think that would be the most likely time for him to get a guernsey.

Morton will get a spot if he puts in the hard work and bulks up. There is definetly a need for a good kick in our forward line after our dismal goal/behind ratio this year, so if he does get a guerensy most would expect it would be somewhere near the forward line and then rotating into the midfield to give the others a breather.

You would expect him to definetly get a game next year, when it is will depend on his form and injuries i guess.

MY team

Wirrpunda Glass Hunter
Chick Lynch Waters
Fletcher Judd Kerr
Sampi Gardiner Embley
Matera McDougall Seaby
Ruck: Cox, Cousins, Stenglein
Inter: Braun, Wooden, Selwood, Staker

- Butler - harsh to miss out, but i rate selwood slightly higher
- Nickoski + B.Jones - will push for games on the HBF
- Banfield - pushed out by waters, could still be in the team depending on form and body
- R.Jones - form reversal needed for return
- Adkins - Needs to improve, but will get games on the bench or up fwd
- Hansen - backup tall fwd

2005 Line-up