2008 Draft Top 10 Predictions

Using Present Ladder:
Melbourne: Rich
West Coast: Yarren
Fremantle: Natatui (Expecting that they lose Warnock)
Port Adelaide: Watts
Essendon: Hartlett/Hurley
Richmond: Hurley/Hartlett
North Melbourne: McKernan
Carlton: Trengrove
St Kilda: Suban
Collingwood: Ziebell
Brisbane Lions: Sidebottom
Adelaide: DeBoer
That's all I got..... Thoughts?

A couple of thoughts.

Yarran is a great prospect, sublimely skilled, a real goal poacher, but plays mainly off the HFF, and I don't see him playing a large amount of time in the midfield at AFL level. Think he is a good chance to still be around at 6, certainly don't think he'll go at 2.

You'd think West Coast would jump at the chance of getting Natanui too.

He's athletic, has a huge leap, can play ruck and forward, just has too much upside to pass on in my opinion. Still think he's a massive chance to go at 1.

Ziebell is much too high up for my liking. Would rate Sidebottom, DeBoer and Heyne in front of him.

Plus, you've done a top 12 ;)

Really good effort for so early in the drafting process.

i disagree with a few i feel deboer will be a top 10 for sure and possibly a top 5 pick but should be around 7-9. Heyne i read in the paper could be a potential number 1 pick and larke medalist he can play as a tall forward like he has for VIC C and also a goal kicking mid. He could very well be drafted at pick 4 or 5. Yarran a real chance to be a 3rd or 4th pick but wont play middle for an AFL side in the close future he needs to improve his fitness. Freo and WCE will be eyeing him off especially freo if they finish 3 or 4th last. Also port would enjoy a player like Heyne as they dont have any good HFF type players who can kick goals and win substantial amounts of the footy. I agree that Mckernan will go to the roos but Brissy need a CHB/ruck and he is that man. Patful will not be a good enough CHB imo and M.Clark not a dominant ruck but a 3rd tall forward. Charman doesnt seem to play his age ever and may have a limited career.

Port, WCE, Freo and Melb bottom 4 whilst Carlton, saints will finish higher than the dons.

Don't understand the rationale behind thinking Brisbane need another ruckman urgently, I think they'd prefer a CHB, but they don't need one urgently either.

They have Charman and Leunberger who both are more than handy, and Leunberger in particular looks very promising.

As for the CHB spot, they've got Patfull and Roe who are both in the 22 and can play there, and Mills and Garner coming through who both look like handy prospects. McDonald is undersized but plays as a third tall down there, and Drummond can also. It's not overly convincing but does the job at the moment.

I don't know if McKernan is their man, as I believe he is more a Ruck/CHF type, and query his ability to hold down CHB at AFL level.

I reckon Birsbane will get a pick in the top 10, and Trengove is their man if still available.

It was said on Triple M by Damian Barrert yesterday that Watts is looking more and more likely to be taken at as the first player with Rich struggling at the Championships and Natatui still having some question marks over his overall game. Being someone who would hear first hand from recuirters do people agree?

i really hope so

Melb: Watts
WC: NikNat
Frem: Rich :thumbsu:

Don't understand the rationale behind thinking Brisbane need another ruckman urgently, I think they'd prefer a CHB, but they don't need one urgently either.

We have Clark, who's been keeping Leuenberger out of the team. His quite tall too, nearly 200cm.

I reckon Brisbane wants a midfielder, looking at the game on Sunday, if we didn't have Black and Power, we'd have been in huge trouble.

You wouldnt think Hurley would slip past Essendon's pick. We're covered (mostly) for midfield depth now, the forward line has fantastic talent both tall and short but the backline is still looking a little bare.

I've always been a proponent of drafting best available in the first round, but given the Dons are likely to pick in the 5-8 range you would think Hurley would be considered best available if he slipped that far?

You wouldnt think Hurley would slip past Essendon's pick. We're covered (mostly) for midfield depth now, the forward line has fantastic talent both tall and short but the backline is still looking a little bare.

I've always been a proponent of drafting best available in the first round, but given the Dons are likely to pick in the 5-8 range you would think Hurley would be considered best available if he slipped that far?

Yeah, he'd definitely be best available if let go to 5.

He's not got any worse since people said he was a lock for top 3, there are just some other bolters who've impressed during the carnival like Watts. Hurley seems to have been solid and unspectacular and people have been talking about him less, but i still think he's every chance to still go top 3.

On BF he might have slipped to 5+, but you have to consider the people talking about players on here do so on performances, so it's much harder for Hurley to be in the best playing as a KP defender.

Once they have the draft camp i'd say he'll be right up the top again, essendon would be lucky to get him at 5

Had a tackle at the top eight, will do the rest when the ladder is more settled and we get a better idea of whos who in the drafting stakes.

Melbourne - Melbourne are, and will be last for a reason, they're shite. They have the worst forwardline, worst backline, one of the worst ruck divisions and their midfield is second rate at best. Best available is the key for Melbourne. Natanui is that, plus he tackles some of Melbourne's KPP (or should I say lack of KPP) problems, not to mention their thread bare rucks. White wont be around forever. Natanui
Fremantle - I can see Fremantle pulling out the tank to be honest, infact I think it's out there now, either that or they're just really, really bad. I can see Fremantle going for midfielders. Their best midfielder is a first year player who has some kicking issues. Their second best is... Rich is a nice fit. Local boy, good foot skills and fits Fremantle's needs down to a tee. Rich
West Coast - Another team who has pulled out the tank, well hopefully for their sake anyway. West Coast have drafted a fair few midfielders in the past with Masten, Ebert and Selwood. Their midfield is far from good but with Priddis and Kerr it's the least of their worries. What is a worry is their KPP stocks. Hansen has a history of injury, Glass is only one man and you can only rely on Hunter to do so much. Lynch is all about delivery. West Coast could do with another big man to help them out. Hurley or Watt you say? Whoever they leave is going to Alberton, but who do the weagles want? Both would be good but I'm leaning towards Watt, he sounds like he is more suited to forwardline duties but they also said Roughead would be a FB. Whoever they take, it will be one of the top four. Watts
Port Adelaide - I see Port also pulling out the tank. They have an aging midfield and a host of young players who need a run, plus the coach has said so so it's official. Hurley rounds out the top four. Port need KPP, forward and back. Hurley
Essendon - Interesting pick here. Essendon will pick up a bit more wins I think and are improving. Their midfield is poor and slow and might want a midfielder. Considering that they also have picked up Ryder and Gumby in the past, the tendency to bring a classy small maybe too much to resist. Yarran fits that. He's not a pure midfielder but can rotate there and has good foot skills. Plus Essendon need another player who can set up goals and pinpoint passes to their KPP forwards. Maybe a bit high but I think Yarran will be the bolter a la Pendles. Yarran
Richmond - Who to pick who to pick? Trengrove, the ruck cum CHB? McKernan, who is another ruck/KPP? Or maybe a Harlett who would boslter Richmond's midfield? This is a tough pick. Richmond have strengths and weaknesses in all sections, a list which is not bad but not good either. Trengrove is probably the more mobile of the two but at 196/7/8, he's a bit short. May grow but may not. Injured too. McKernan is a good forward prospect but we have Hughes, Riewoldt and Morton. Not sure here but I'll go out on a limb and say Hartlett purely on the fact that our midfield isn't ready yet. Hartlett
North Melbourne - see Kangaroos slipping to be honest. St. Kilda still have something and Carlton look keen. North are like Richmond, strengths and weaknesses all around the ground. One area that would trouble them is their forwardline. Got good smalls, but what about the talls? Thompson isn't young and Petrie isn't a CHF. McKernan seems the obvious choice. Big, can play forward while helping out in the ruck. I know they just drafted Tarrant but this guy isn't Tarrant, he's better. McKernan
St. Kilda - this team is crying, CRYING out for ruckmen. King and Gardiner are short term prospects and Lyon knows it which is why he's playing McEvoy. Trengrove seems a good pick. Will help out down back and could play second fiddle to McEvoy. Injured yes, but the saints should be smart about this, one injury doesn't mean your career is over. Trengrove

I think everyone is happy with that. This year looks to be the year of the tall like 2006 and like 2007 was the year of the small so don't be surprised if a whole lo of talls are taken in the top ten.

Had a tackle at the top eight, will do the rest when the ladder is more settled and we get a better idea of whos who in the drafting stakes.

Melbourne - Melbourne are, and will be last for a reason, they're shite. They have the worst forwardline, worst backline, one of the worst ruck divisions and their midfield is second rate at best. Best available is the key for Melbourne. Natanui is that, plus he tackles some of Melbourne's KPP (or should I say lack of KPP) problems, not to mention their thread bare rucks. White wont be around forever. Natanui
Fremantle - I can see Fremantle pulling out the tank to be honest, infact I think it's out there now, either that or they're just really, really bad. I can see Fremantle going for midfielders. Their best midfielder is a first year player who has some kicking issues. Their second best is... Rich is a nice fit. Local boy, good foot skills and fits Fremantle's needs down to a tee. Rich
West Coast - Another team who has pulled out the tank, well hopefully for their sake anyway. West Coast have drafted a fair few midfielders in the past with Masten, Ebert and Selwood. Their midfield is far from good but with Priddis and Kerr it's the least of their worries. What is a worry is their KPP stocks. Hansen has a history of injury, Glass is only one man and you can only rely on Hunter to do so much. Lynch is all about delivery. West Coast could do with another big man to help them out. Hurley or Watt you say? Whoever they leave is going to Alberton, but who do the weagles want? Both would be good but I'm leaning towards Watt, he sounds like he is more suited to forwardline duties but they also said Roughead would be a FB. Whoever they take, it will be one of the top four. Watts
Port Adelaide - I see Port also pulling out the tank. They have an aging midfield and a host of young players who need a run, plus the coach has said so so it's official. Hurley rounds out the top four. Port need KPP, forward and back. Hurley
Essendon - Interesting pick here. Essendon will pick up a bit more wins I think and are improving. Their midfield is poor and slow and might want a midfielder. Considering that they also have picked up Ryder and Gumby in the past, the tendency to bring a classy small maybe too much to resist. Yarran fits that. He's not a pure midfielder but can rotate there and has good foot skills. Plus Essendon need another player who can set up goals and pinpoint passes to their KPP forwards. Maybe a bit high but I think Yarran will be the bolter a la Pendles. Yarran
Richmond - Who to pick who to pick? Trengrove, the ruck cum CHB? McKernan, who is another ruck/KPP? Or maybe a Harlett who would boslter Richmond's midfield? This is a tough pick. Richmond have strengths and weaknesses in all sections, a list which is not bad but not good either. Trengrove is probably the more mobile of the two but at 196/7/8, he's a bit short. May grow but may not. Injured too. McKernan is a good forward prospect but we have Hughes, Riewoldt and Morton. Not sure here but I'll go out on a limb and say Hartlett purely on the fact that our midfield isn't ready yet. Hartlett
North Melbourne - see Kangaroos slipping to be honest. St. Kilda still have something and Carlton look keen. North are like Richmond, strengths and weaknesses all around the ground. One area that would trouble them is their forwardline. Got good smalls, but what about the talls? Thompson isn't young and Petrie isn't a CHF. McKernan seems the obvious choice. Big, can play forward while helping out in the ruck. I know they just drafted Tarrant but this guy isn't Tarrant, he's better. McKernan
St. Kilda - this team is crying, CRYING out for ruckmen. King and Gardiner are short term prospects and Lyon knows it which is why he's playing McEvoy. Trengrove seems a good pick. Will help out down back and could play second fiddle to McEvoy. Injured yes, but the saints should be smart about this, one injury doesn't mean your career is over. Trengrove

I think everyone is happy with that. This year looks to be the year of the tall like 2006 and like 2007 was the year of the small so don't be surprised if a whole lo of talls are taken in the top ten.
Sorry mate but your assessment of Essendon shows how little you know about our list, calling our midfield old and slow is seriously three or four years out of date. One thing we absolutely have covered is speed in the midfield and short classy forwards.

Our main hole is tall defenders, although I think they'll go best available so Yarran isnt without a shot of getting picked up by us.

What year are you living in?

Would be awesome if true.

Your a F*cking idiot, And clearly don't know anything about most of these teams.:thumbsdown:

Thats a great scenario Richo . Although the mail is that Watts is going no 1 . If Melb have the first pick they may just go for him to he's a kkp quick and will fill some holes for them . They dont have a good big leading forward and he fits the bill. That will suit West coast who then can grab natanui a local boy to develop for life as they have a bit of time with cox having a few years a head of him where Melbourne probably havent got the time to develop a ruckman and nata needs some time.
i'll look for your next couple.

Thats a great scenario Richo . Although the mail is that Watts is going no 1 . If Melb have the first pick they may just go for him to he's a kkp quick and will fill some holes for them . They dont have a good big leading forward and he fits the bill. That will suit West coast who then can grab natanui a local boy to develop for life as they have a bit of time with cox having a few years a head of him where Melbourne probably havent got the time to develop a ruckman and nata needs some time.
i'll look for your next couple.

2008 Draft Top 10 Predictions