2009-2010 Off season player movement/recruiting

Dockers in trouble...I have been about the club since the first days of statewide and i can say i have never seen the club in such a bad position. I know of 19 players leaving club and a few officials that have been the backbone of the club for over 40 years and some with less service to the club.. all going. The reason they are all leaving is the board.. the board pushed plappy .. he would of loved to coach another year.. Plant to coach ...lol. it is such a pity to see the club like this. I put a vote of NO CONFIDENCE in the board. I think Plant might have to be playing coach with Vincent pulling on a jumper as well along with Marmion, Jago, Batt , Wright , Radford and Weller. It was suggested to one of the board to try and sign up some of these players leaving .. his answer was let them go if they want.

I think the appointment of Plant will be a huge mistake and will set the club back ten years..... will he show the commitment to the club that is needed or will it be like Ulverstone all over again..as talk and feeling goes around the club the feedback is bad amongst members ... not many have a good word for him or want him as coach. I feel that you may have a mass exodus of supporters as well as players. Burnie bottom four team 2010.. How good is the Board going making all there Life Members pay to go to the Dinner tonight..

As reported in the Mercury today, Clint Brown will join his brother Trav and be playing coach of North Hobart in 2010. Confirmed on the NHFC website this afternoon. Very happy with that will be really good for the club i reckon :thumbsu:

I think the appointment of Plant will be a huge mistake and will set the club back ten years..... will he show the commitment to the club that is needed or will it be like Ulverstone all over again..as talk and feeling goes around the club the feedback is bad amongst members ... not many have a good word for him or want him as coach. I feel that you may have a mass exodus of supporters as well as players. Burnie bottom four team 2010.. How good is the Board going making all there Life Members pay to go to the Dinner tonight..

Very interesting reading with what's happening up North :thumbsu:

Sounds like Burnie are in the same position Hobart were a few years back (very unpopular board, mass exodus of fans, losing players, bad appointments etc).
Could be a difficult year ahead, but you wouldn't underestimate them under any circumstances.
Doesn't sound like Plant's time at Burnie will be a good one if the knives are already out for him over his previous history, actually it sounds like the exact same scenario when Todd Lewis took over coaching Hobart.
Had a past at Hobart which made him unpopular with longtime fans, members and others connected with the club, the knives were out for him the day he was appointed and never stopped until he got the boot (err 'resigned').

:spade:

I think you must agree Plapp was a fantastic influence to the club great leader ... great with the juniors ..(showed how he can play at top level in the state game at Bellerive).. but now all the good work done in the last 2 years is all gone.. he actually wanted to go on next season with Burnie... he was severely undermined by Plant ... who continually back stabbed him to the board..he also got alot of the blame that went on .. on mad monday..so yeah they have really gone backwards. I think when you take 20 players away .. the great coaching panel they had ...the junior development man Tyson Mihocek (has done a great job last two years) ... Team Manager ... Jumper Washer (for as long as i can remember) .. trainers ..it just goes on and on .. and the great number of topline players .. they are heading for a very poor season.

Was interseting hearing last night what went on at the BFC dinner. From the sound of things the board screwed over most of the players with match payments and stuff. I heard a story about one player who played every senior game at $50 bucks a game and he ended up owing the club $160. Apparently they were charging some players for the free GYM memberships that they had received for the past 2 years! One top line player actually said to me "Burnie are F@#&ed mate". Good to see they handled things well and looks like they will be a force in 2010. Good luck to Plappy in whatever he does and good luck to Browny coaching North Hobart, I reckon he will do well.:thumbsu:.

Can you cofirm that metal detectors were installed at the enterance of the door and 3 board members and a 09 ass coach were nabed for having knives stuck down their socks entering the annual dinner last night. Or was that just a rumour :)

Do you know the womens commitee presented the Burnie Football Club with a cheque for $30,000 .. they worked there butt off all year for the club with little thanks ... and the club had the cheek to make them pay for there Annual Dinner and they all sat with the paying Life Members at the same table on the night. I know that there are many NTFL clubs waving the cheque book in front of some of the Dockers players and if Burnie dont get off there arse and appoint a coach NOW they will miss the boat.

does anybody know who is at least in the mix for the burnie job? the only name i read on here is Plant, surely there are other names?

The Shack has been approached by a few clubs .. a NTFL club.. a DFA club and anothers TSL club ... come on Peter announce the new coach you are not dealing with stiffs now

I must say good luck to Clinton Brown with North Hobart I can see him being a fantastic coach .. he has played at top level and knows what it is all about .. I know he is the kind of guy that will get the absolute best out of the Demons .. if you coach they way you play Browny you will do just fine champ ... All The Best...

If anyone is planning on travelling to the UK, the West London Wildcats need you!
We are the largest and most successful club in London, and quite probably outside of Australia. We field three teams across three divisions, catering for a range of abilities. In recent times we have been incredibly successful. In the premiership division we have won the last 6 flags in a row, and in the conference, we have won 9 out of the last 10!
Becoming a Wildcat offers many benefits including discounted travel, cheap drinks etc through our many sponsors. Plus it gives you the opportunity to meet like-minded people from all across the globe and have a kick of the footy!
wildcatsfc.co.uk
or e-mail
wildcatsrecruiting@yahoo.com

heard a rumour that crawford is a strong chance to play at the dockers next year, played under plant several years ago at ulverstone, whish-wilson, harding also strong chances!
brown will do very well at north hobart and should have got the job at burnie.
was talking to some boys from launi area, said that lots of the north launy boys maybe headed for hillwood, big coin there you'd think??

Brent Plant coaching Burnie! Was ringing players today announcing his appointment. Has told players he has a week to think about it and his decision is based on what the players do! Told a key senior player today that if he doesn't play he won't coach cause he doesn't have a good enough list!

On what grounds would this bloke get the gig. A week to think about it? The worst appointment ever in the history of the Burnie Football Club.

Can we assume that this key player would be Luke 'Darky' Shackleton?

Here.. Here.. North Wester ..The appointment of Plant is most definetly the worst decision that Board could ever make .. I have spoken to 3 existing players today that have stated they will not play if Plant coaches. I really do question this Board at Burnie .. they had a great coach this year and did not want him to go on next year... i am sure Plapp was so much better than the sniper they are trying to replace him with. I think they should just shut the doors the Club is stuffed... bring back Cooee in NTFL

2009-2010 Off season player movement/recruiting