2009 MLB Season Thread

Was just watching the Arizona Marlins match. Arizona led 7-0 and are now down 8-7 at the top of the 8th. Their pitchers have lost the plot.

I haven't been watching much baseball due to clashing with the footy season, should be following it a lot more than I should.

mets trade ryan church to the braves for jeff francouer

Braves really wanted to get rid of Francouer, trading him to a division rival. Seems they were basically waiting for the first offer and took it. Happy to get rid of him but at 25, he could still turn out alright. Just needs to listen to hitting coach.

Getting Church is no real improvement at present as his stats are pretty similar, hopefully he can return to the form he showend before being concussed.

October baseball is upon us.

Interesting final day of the season ahead. Twins and Tigers tied for the lead to be the least worst team in the AL Central with 1 game to go.

Unless 1 wins and the other loses we will have a 1 game playoff on Wednesday our time (the Vikings play Green Bay Tuesday in the NFL so we have to wait an extra day)

Whoever wins will get absolutely thumped by the Yankees in the ALDS, but that is neither here nor there.

Red Sox and Angels will meet in the other AL series, for the 3rd year in a row. 3rd time lucky perhaps for the Angels?

In the NL the Rockies, Dodgers, Phillies and Cardinals are all in.

By the looks of it it will be St Louis v LA and Colorado v Phillies (barring a meltdown in the next half an hour by the dodgers anyway)

Every game of the playoffs live on fox sports. Some coverage on one (delayed I think)

Sox are coming good at the right time. Beckett, Lester, Dice-K and Bucholz are looking the goods. I think the Yanks would be dreading facing them in the ALCS. I just hope Martinez does most of the catching. Teams can run at will on Tek and V-Mart but at least Martinez can hit.

G'day fellas

First time poster, long time reader!

Well my Mets had another year to forget! Doesnt help when your starting 9 are all struck down at various times with injury. Nonetheless at least I had myself prepared for no October action from about July! Beats last year :p

Shapes as a very intriguing post season for mine.

I like St Loius to beat the Dodgers, Yankees to prevail over whoever wins Game 163, Angels to take down the Sox (even though they are my 2nd team!!) and Philly (cannot believe I just said that).

My support will turn to whoever plays Philly although I will be barracking for the Red Sox after our trip to Fenway this time last year.

God I love October (aside from the lack of footy).

Sox are coming good at the right time. Beckett, Lester, Dice-K and Bucholz are looking the goods. I think the Yanks would be dreading facing them in the ALCS. I just hope Martinez does most of the catching. Teams can run at will on Tek and V-Mart but at least Martinez can hit.

Martinez making a big difference with the bat as well - hit his first career Grand Slam (and the Sox first for the season) in game 161, against the Indians!!!

Sox pitching rotation announced for ALDS - Lester Game 1, Beckett Game 2, Buchholz Game 3. Would prefer Dice-K going in Game 3 myself - looks good since his return - but hopefully we can return to the Green Church of Baseball 2-0 up, and looking to sweep!!

You're kidding right? The way the last 3 series vs the RedSox have, the Yanks would be wanting them more than any other side!

Well its only a choice of 2 ;)

Twinkies win an epic playoff after Jim Leyland uses his "closer" for a staggering 48 pitches for some unknown reason.

Schedule

Thursday

5:37am AEDT Colorado @ Philadelphia (Game 1 Jimenez v Lee)
9:07am AEDT Twins @ Yankees (Game 1 Duensing v CC)
12:37pm AEDT Cardinals @ Dodgers (Carpenter v Wolf)

Friday

5:37am AEDT Colorado @ Philadelphia (Game 2 Cook v Hamels)
9:07am AEDT Cardinals @ LA (Game 2 Wainwright v Kershaw)
12:37pm AEDT Red Sox @ Angels (Game 1 Lester v Lackey)

Saturday

9:07am AEDT Twins @ Yankees ( Game 2 Blackburn v Burnett)
12:37pm AEDT Red Sox @ Angels (Game 2 Beckett v Weaver)

Sunday

9:07am AEDT Dodgers @ Cardinals (Game 3 Padilla v Pineiro)
12:37pm AEDT Phillies @ Rockies (Game 3 Blanton v Hammel)

Monday

Angels @ Red Sox (Game 3 Buchholz v Kazmir)
Yankees @ Twins (Game 3 Pavano v Pettite)
Dodgers @ Cardinals (Game 4, if required)
Phillies @ Rockies (Game 4 if required)

Tuesday

Angels @ Red Sox (Game 4 if required Matsuzaka v Saunders)
Yankees @ Twins (Game 4 if required CC V Baker) Editorial comment - won't be required. This will be a sweep for the Yankees.

Wednesday

Cardinals @ Dodgers (Game 5, if required)
Rockies @ Phillies (Game 5 if required)

Thursday

Angels @ Red Sox (Game 5 if required)
Yankees @ Twins (Game 5 if required)

All games Exclusively live on Fox Sports. Will update when times are more known. Some of these look like they are being replayed on One, but I hate their tv guide so I can't be arsed looking further.

I like

Yankees to face Angels in the ALCS
Cardinals to face Rockies in NLCS

You're kidding right? The way the last 3 series vs the RedSox have, the Yanks would be wanting them more than any other side!

My thoughts too, especially if Beckett gets the ball. How many hits has this guy given up the last month or so? The big bats of the Yanks would have another field day.

My picks -
Dodgers (please God) v Phillies in the NLCS
Yankees v Angels in the ALCS

Good to see that the Halo starters are finally healthy heading into October. What a difference when Big John and the Dream Weaver have their A games going.....the Beantowners never had a chance at the Big A.

Now we just need to get Figgy going.

Attention Mr Cuzzi, if the ball tips the fielder's glove and then lands in fair territory, it is NOT a foul ball. Looks like the Yankee ghosts crossed the street to the new ballpark. :rolleyes: :eek:

Good to see that the Halo starters are finally healthy heading into October. What a difference when Big John and the Dream Weaver have their A games going.....the Beantowners never had a chance at the Big A.

Now we just need to get Figgy going.

Attention Mr Cuzzi, if the ball tips the fielder's glove and then lands in fair territory, it is NOT a foul ball. Looks like the Yankee ghosts crossed the street to the new ballpark. :rolleyes: :eek:

That decision cost the Twins the game. Unbelievable. Oh well, just as long as some other team smashes the Yankees, I don't mind.

Well the Sox anaemic batting line up has made them look like Cy Young and Greg Maddux. It's been a horror show with Big Papi leading the way. If we could have had Teixera 1B/DH instead of the corpse of Ortiz it would have been a different story this season.

That decision cost the Twins the game. Unbelievable. Oh well, just as long as some other team smashes the Yankees, I don't mind.

Gomez getting thrown out on the basepaths costing his team a run did. Mind you when the basis for selecting umpires for the playoffs is to ensure every umpire gets to umpire the playoffs at least every 2 years, and nothing to do with selecting them on merit you have to expect terrible decisions (see Bucknor, CB)

4th blown lead and loss for the Twins in Yankees Stadium this year. 16-47 against the Yankees under Ron Gardenhire. It is fair to say the Yankees have their number.

Red Sox are 17-29 against teams with a positive W/L record on the road this year. Being down 0-2 is not unexpected.

HOpefully (from a Dodger point of view) the Rockies can beat the Phillies, because you'd have to think with the form we took against them in the last few matches- we'd be clear favourites. 12-3 is a fair record.
The Yankees and Angels will be a very tight series, given the 5-5 season record.

My tip is the Angels Dodgers World Series, which'd really be a good rivalry (obviously not to the extent of a Dodger-Giants WS, but fairly close)

How wonderful it is to beat the Red Sox in a sweep.

They're not half as good as when they're getting every single call like previous years. Red Sox fan's can't argue much, either as for years they had the same argument against the Yankees. Then when they finally won they shut up about it.

I just hope we keep that form against the Yankees though they worry the crap out of me. I just think it's there year.

I'd love to see Kendry Morales be the 1B of the series over Mark Teixeira.

Yankees to face Angels in the ALCS
Cardinals to face Rockies in NLCS

Well 2 out of 4 ain't bad......you can tell I don't follow the NL much.

Huston Street doing his best Papelbon impersonation :( to give the Phillies the series win.

ALCS starts Saturday
NLCS starts Friday

Well 2 out of 4 ain't bad......you can tell I don't follow the NL much.

Huston Street doing his best Papelbon impersonation :( to give the Phillies the series win.

ALCS starts Saturday
NLCS starts Friday

There's been some great finishes so far, Dodgers in game 2, Halos in game 3 & the Phillies today all prevailing in the bottom of the ninth. Hopefully this continues, I reckon both the ALCS & the NLCS could go either way, although those damn Yankees just keep ticking on...

With no (or little) bias, I'm tipping a Yanks v Dodgers WS, Dodgers prevailing in 4-2!! :p

If it's the Yankees Vs Dodgers it'll be the biggest sweep in MLB World Series history in the Yankees favor. Just my opinion.

I'll back the Dodgers in over the Yankees if they play in the WS. 4-3, 4-2. Dodgers are better than people give them credit for.

Will be interesting to see the best offense go up against the best defense.

If you are interested in the sabermetric side of baseball at all, you will see that the Dodgers outscored their opponents by 169 runs this year, to the Yankees 162, despite the Yankees winning 8 more games. Dodgers were better than a 95 game win side, IMO.

If it's the Yankees Vs Dodgers it'll be the biggest sweep in MLB World Series history in the Yankees favor. Just my opinion.

You're predicting 7-0??????:rolleyes:

As Deano points out, the Dodger bats have been far from quiet. A-Rod has had one significant post season in his entire career, and everyone bar Jeter, A-Rod & Posada are sub .230 for the post season.
The Dodgers, on the other hand, have Ramirez, Ethier, Furcal, Loney, Blake and Belliard all .250 or better.

Don't put your money on it just yet

2009 MLB Season Thread