Frankston,LA Lakers
<strong>2009 AFL Under 18 National Championships Fixture</strong>

ROUND 1
Saturday May 23
Queensland vs NSW/ACT at Carrara 11:15am
Tasmania vs Northern Territory at Carrara 2pm
Saturday May 30
Western Australia vs South Australia at Subiaco 2:20pm (C/R to Frem vs Rich)
Sunday May 31
Victoria Country vs Victoria Metro at Skilled Stadium 1:30pm

ROUND 2
Friday June 5
Northern Territory vs Western Australia at TIO Stadium 6pm
Saturday June 6
NSW/ACT vs Victoria Metro at Rouse Hill 10am
Queensland vs South Australia at Rouse Hill 12:30pm
Sunday June 7
Tasmania vs Victoria Country at Bellerive 11:30am

ROUND 3
Saturday June 13
Western Australia vs Victoria Metro at Subiaco 11am
Sunday June 14
South Australia vs Victoria Country at AAMI Stadium 1:10pm (C/R Adel vs NM)
Saturday June 20
NSW/ACT vs Northern Territory at ANZ Stadium 4:10pm (C/R Syd vs Coll)
Tasmania vs Queensland at Aurora Stadium 11am

ROUND 4
Friday June 26
NSW/ACT vs South Australia at Whitten Oval 3pm
Saturday June 27
Victoria Country vs Northern Territory at Casey Fields 11am
Victoria Metro vs Queensland at Casey Fields 1pm
Tasmania vs Western Australia at Casey Fields 3pm

ROUND 5
Wednesday July 1
Tasmania vs NSW/ACT at Etihad Stadium 9:35am
Queensland vs Northern Territory at Etihad Stadium 11:40am
Victoria Country vs Western Australia at Etihad Stadium 1:45pm
Victoria Metro vs South Australia at Etihad Stadium 3:50pm

A quadruple header to finish off the carnival :eek: How they got Ian Collins to agree to four games on his hallowed turf I will never know!

A TAC Cup fixture change too on May 31 - Geelong Falcons v Nth Ballarat Rebels now a curtain raiser to Vic Metro v Vic Country. Just makes it an even BigFooty day. Shame the Championships game has been moved off the MCG though.

<strong>2009 AFL Under 18 National Championships Fixture</strong>

ROUND 1
Saturday May 23
Queensland vs NSW/ACT at Carrara 11:15am
Tasmania vs Northern Territory at Carrara 2pm
Saturday May 30
Western Australia vs South Australia at Subiaco 2:20pm (C/R to Frem vs Rich)
Sunday May 31

ROUND 2
Friday June 5
Northern Territory vs Western Australia at TIO Stadium 6pm
Saturday June 6
NSW/ACT vs Victoria Metro at Rouse Hill 10am
Queensland vs South Australia at Rouse Hill 12:30pm
Sunday June 7
Tasmania vs Victoria Country at Bellerive 11:30am

ROUND 3
Saturday June 13
Western Australia vs Victoria Metro at Subiaco 11am
Sunday June 14
South Australia vs Victoria Country at AAMI Stadium 1:10pm (C/R Adel vs NM)
Saturday June 20
NSW/ACT vs Northern Territory at ANZ Stadium 4:10pm (C/R Syd vs Coll)
Tasmania vs Queensland at Aurora Stadium 11am

ROUND 4
Friday June 26
NSW/ACT vs South Australia at Whitten Oval 3pm
Saturday June 27
Victoria Country vs Northern Territory at Casey Fields 11am
Victoria Metro vs Queensland at Casey Fields 1pm
Tasmania vs Western Australia at Casey Fields 3pm

ROUND 5
Wednesday July 1
Tasmania vs NSW/ACT at Etihad Stadium 9:35am
Queensland vs Northern Territory at Etihad Stadium 11:40am
Victoria Country vs Western Australia at Etihad Stadium 1:45pm
Victoria Metro vs South Australia at Etihad Stadium 3:50pm

Guys, I also believe that the NSW/ACT vs South Australia game on the 26th June has been moved to VISY Park.

That's what it shows on the AFL website as well. 2.45pm on the Friday at Visy Park.

Pity all the games can't be at Carlton, nice ground with lots of room. Who really wants to spend a day in Cranbourne :eek:

Sunday May 31

this absolutely breaks my heart. literally the ideal scenario for me living in Geelong and about 5 mins away from Skilled.. however there is a massive night planned back home in Gippsland on the 30th.. i'm dreadfully torn about what to do!

decisions, decisions:(

also guys, regardless of whether i'll be there or not i might try and organize a call of that game with one of the local radio stations i work for so at the very least those in the Geelong area (and at the game) will have something to listen to

this absolutely breaks my heart. literally the ideal scenario for me living in Geelong and about 5 mins away from Skilled.. however there is a massive night planned back home in Gippsland on the 30th.. i'm dreadfully torn about what to do!

decisions, decisions:(
Remember you can get pissed 364 other nights of the year. Metro v Country is on for one show only!!! :D

Good luck with your decision.

Just when I thought I'd be getting to watch some good footy and be of use on here with some info.

Will rely on the many great reviews that will appear on here.

Sorry we couldn't send you some rain instead of the footy!!

Not sure if this is the right place but here is a report of the NSW/ACT vs Queensland game.

U18s: NSW/ACT defeats Queensland

IT WAS the perfect start to the NAB AFL Under 18 Championships for New South Wales/Australian Capital Territory on Saturday, opening its campaign with a 25-point win over Queensland.

NSW/ACT 14.10 (94) defeated Queensland 10.9 (69) in the first match of a double-header at Visy Park in Melbourne, after the matches were moved from a rain-soaked Gold Coast.

The contest was even early on – Queensland led by one point at the main break – before NSW/ACT booted seven goals to three in the second half.

Chaz Sargeant was particularly eye-catching in attack for the Rams. The mid-sized forward booted three goals, but it was his contested marking and sure hands that was a constant feature of his play. Five of his eight grabs were contested.

St Kilda scholarship holder Josh Duncan was the game's leading ball-winner with 29 touches. The Ram also had a game-high seven inside 50s.

Dylan McNeil, who impressed for NSW/ACT last year and was also a dominant ball-winner at under-16 level, started the carnival in fine form. He collected 26 disposals to further enhance his reputation.

For Queensland, both ruckman were impressive. Rory Thompson and Charlie Dixon, who have already been signed by Gold Coast, shone with 29 and 10 hit-outs respectively. Declan Bevan also had 13.

The Scorpions smashed the Rams in that area with 54 hit-outs to 20.

Queensland's Josh Thomas, who had the most touches (14) to half-time, was his side's leading possession winner with 21.

Skipper Marc Lock, who has not been signed to Gold Coast, showed some good signs, as did Mitch Harley. The duo combined for 36 touches.

Some familiar football names also featured: NSW/ACT's Will Langford, the son of recent Australian Football Hall of Fame inductee Chris, and Queensland's Alik Magin, the younger brother of Essendon rookie Rhys.

Queensland 4.5 7.6 10.6 10.9 (69)
NSW/ACT 3.1 7.5 13.6 14.10 (94)

GOALS
Queensland:
Fowler 3, Hutchinson 2, Manzone 2, Dixon, Jamieson, Thomson
NSW/ACT: Emery 3, Sargeant 3, McNeil 2, Sergrave 2, Camilleri, Duncan, Johns, Miles

BEST
Queensland:
Harley, Hutchinson, Spring, Thomas, Thompson, Jamieson
NSW/ACT: Williams, McNeill, Sargeant, Tutt, Lawton, Johns

Match one played at Visy Park, Carlton

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/77450/default.aspx

I see Duncan had the most possessions and the most inside 50s and kicked a goal and still could not make the best, must be an awesome team if the stats are correct or the vote givers know jack

Did anybody else go down to VISY Park on Saturday?

Two fairly average games of football by my reckoning. The Rams put in a solid enough performance against Quuensland with a really strong second half. Really like the game of Dylan McNeil. He's only a little guy, and he was overlooked last year, but I reckon he might force his way onto a list this year through weight of numbers. Been really prolific for Murray, and was really prolific again. Used it well and kicked a couple of nice goals. Chaz Sargeant was probably the other bright light, was really dangerous up forward and managed a sustained impact, which statistics would lead me to believe he hasn't had at Murray. Kaine Stevens definitely looks a player for next year. Wasn't heavily involved, but was a step above when he had the ball. Jeremy Kirkwood, one of their best from last year, was his usual disciplined self.

Thought Queensland were a touch disappointing. Having seen the Gold Coast play the Cannons earlier in the year, I really noticed how much Zac Smith sets them up. He and Thompson worked over Daniher and Fewster from the Cannons, and Thompson didn't look anywhere near as potent with Smith out of the side. Thought they over relied on Charlie Dixon up forward, and the fact he didn't produce hurt them badly.

Really disappointed with how Tassie played up against NT. They played like a side that knows there's a decent gap between their best players and their average players, and when the average players weren't firing, they didn't fire. I thought Luke Russell was probably the only 4 quarter contributor for them, he was outstanding. Jesse Crichton was a disappointment for me and I don't think he was worthy of second in the bests, mind you I have high standards for him. As damaging as he was when he was involved, he simply wasn't involved for far too long a periods. Ryan Harwood wasn't as a good as I would've liked either. Lots of possessions in close, but his skills were ordinary and having been one to defend his skills in the past, I was a touch disappointed. Plenty of time to make up for it though. On a brighter note, I thought Dan Archer looked very promising up forward and Boony's boy, although small, can play a bit.

I'm still quite astonished NT won this game, but looking back, they probably did deserve to. Roland Ah Chee was great through the midfield, Troy Taylor and Steven May were dangerous up forward and I really like the game of Scott Taylor. The older boys in Liddle, Heenan and McAdam were good contributors as well. My impression was that they were led by the older boys, and, for this year, I'm not convinced there's much in the way of draftable players there.

WESTERN Australia has burst out of the blocks to open its NAB AFL Under-18 Championships campaign, dominating South Australia in a 47-point win.
Held as the curtain raiser to Fremantle's clash with Richmond at Subiaco Oval, WA opened up a 35-point lead early in the second quarter to set up the 19.12 (126) to 12.7 (79) victory.
Though SA showed plenty of determination to get back to within eight points early in the third, WA kicked eight of the next 10 goals.
David Swallow (27 possessions) was the star for WA in the middle, while small forward Brandon Matera was a livewire in attack finishing with 4.4.
Matera, the son of former West Coast and Fitzroy player Wally, showcased a booming left-foot kick and also worked up the ground for 19 possessions.
AIS/AFL academy member Jack Darling also finished with four goals for WA, while Anthony Morabito booted two and provided plenty of run and carry for the Sandgropers with his 19 touches.
For SA, Jack Trengove fought hard and finished with a game-high 31 disposals, while Alex Carey (21) and Matthew Panos (thee goals and eight marks) put in eye-catching displays.
Carey's first half was particularly impressive – the mature-bodied midfielder displaying courage and an uncompromising attack on the ball – but he faded in the second.
WA's Mitchell Duncan provided the highlight of the one-sided match, taking a super pack mark late in the fourth and converting the set shot from hard up on the boundary line.
There were a number of famous football blood-lines involved, with SA's Wanganeen and WA's Kane Lucas, Nicholas Winmar, Anthony Collica, Clinton Garlett the other familiar names.
Western Australia 5.1 8.2 14.6 19.12 (126)
South Australia 1.2 5.6 7.6 12.7 (79)

GOALS
WA:
Matera 4, Darling 4, Duncan 2, Houghton 2, Lucas 2, Morabito 2, Collica, Foster, Garlett
SA: Panos 3, Giddings 2, Lycett 2, Tapscott 2, Carey, Silverlock, Sumner
BEST
WA:
Swallow, Matera, Morabito, Darling, Lucas, Collica
SA: Trengove, Carey, Jolly, Panos, Wanganeen

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/77894/default.aspx

want to head down to casey fields, anyone got any advice on best way to get their via public transport?

im from the western suburbs so not very convenient and not driving at the moment.

take the train from flinders street to cranbourne on the dandenong/cranbourne line.
That will take about 45 mins.

(Borrowed this explanation of the bus situation from another forum.)

There's a bus service (TrainLink - Route 896) which meets every train at the Cranbourne Station from 5am to 1am and goes to within 700m of Casey Fields (there is a stop at the Casey Indoor Leisure Complex). The bus stop is next to where the new $37 million Casey RACE (pool & gym complex) is being built.

The bus leaves about 2 minutes after the train gets in, so don't take too long to get to bus stop.

The bus takes about 10 minutes to get to the Casey Indoor Leisure Complex, and then you'd have a 10 minute walk to the ground.

I recommend looking at the surrounding area of the ground on google maps so you have a better understanding of where your going.

Hey guys

I might be in Melbourne on July 1st, so i was considering going to watch round 5 of the U/18s championships. Just wanted to know this being the final round with all the teams playing at docklands will there be an admit fee?

From previously years does the final round draw alot of attention crowd wise?\

cheers

I went last year and it was free. crowd wise I wouldn't even worry about it. There was probably about 1500 people when i was there (I couldn't stay for the final between VM and WA)

-edit- I'm really bad with crowd estimates but basically you won't have to worry about finding a seat or anything.

2009 NAB AFL Under 18 Championships Fixture