2009 WDFNL Season. Movements and Rumours.

going to be interesting with the gun forwards and who wins the Goalkicking
Just a few comments as i see it.

Chaplin Burch (DU) Will be interesting to see how he goes this year, after a good year he will recieve a lot more attention from defenders this time round and we'll see what he's made of.
Stenhouse (ALL) Dont know much about him but to be unstoppable in an intra-club? well doesnt rate much in my book, we'll see how he goes couple of weeks in.
Harty (RC) All i know of this guy is what i've read here, fearless goal kicking machine? lol.
Matthews (SR) Money talks we all know that and frankie does as frankie has always done, played where the money takes him. For his sake i hope he kicks a bag because he's not getting any younger and his bank balance will be in serious trouble when he cant kick goals anymore
Nowell (DEN) Dangerous goal kicker? Definetly but dont be surprised to see him in the middle more than up forward but my tip is he will play down back even more.

and prob a few more

Would be good to re-discuss this one bout 4-5 weeks in

Frankie should be firm favorite to win this, but young James Hicks at the Power should push him all the way...

If anyone looking for an interesting game of footy to go watch this weekend, head out to Port Fairy where the Power are taking on the Seagulls.

Should be a very interesting contest!

Yeh Power2 I picked Nowell from Dogs to win goal kicking but forgot about Hicks. With Powers awesome midfield, and having Fraser up forward, then there will be plenty of delivery into their forward line with a difficult fwd line to match up on with Tolland up there as well. Hicks a good bet!!

There goes Hacker again with more Timboon goss. He gotta be a Demon!!!!

I hate prac match talk between Hampden and District clubs. All sides are never at full strength. they play players in different positions and are trying new set ups. The best thing to do is FORGET THE BLOODY SCOREBOARD (even tho i commented on the rseult!!!) and watch who plays well. Anything else is irrelavant. I still think the dogs will serve it up in the district league this year. Dont worry too much about prac match results.

Power Vs Seagulls - interesting. Will wait to hear how players go. Port have got a few new ones.

i hear merrivale has told a few players that unless they change their ways they will not be required for this season....any truth? Seems they have decided they need to rid themselves of some bad eggs and try to get their reputation as a family club back.

Nirranda will be improvers there is no doubt but finals aspirations may be a stretch and i think they realise they are still missing some players they would need as they have supposedly made a couple of big money offers to players in the last week who were committed to playing elsewhere already, unsure if they will take them up on it but sadly money is more important than a mans word with some players these days.

Sadly hacker i must agree. Gone are the days were a players word is enuf. They say one things and then when a better offer comes by, they change their minds!! Sad but true!!! As far as im concerned, nirranda very much in their rights to speak to players. it is the players responsibility to say im already committed elsewhere. Once again this doesnt happen as they love to play clubs off against one another. Dont get me wrong, EVERY club has their loyal players, but it is becoming an all to familiar trend of cashing in in the WDFNL.
I dont think timboon will have trouble kicking goals with the likes of hickey, rosolin, sholl, wagstaff and of course last years leading goal kicker rylance. no doubt they will miss the two boys but can cover the loss with the depth they have. Oh wiggins might kick a couple.

Timboons Ins
Brad Sholl (coach)
Jamie Hetherington (I thinkk getting on in age but I believe was a pretty good player up in the Minenera legue) Coming with Sholl clearly.
Brad Wiggins - Big pick up - Cobden
Stephn Cole - Not sure type of player - Cobden I think?
Brad Hallyburton - Hampden - Know nothing of him
Jetho Serle - Sth Rovers - Don't know him - Clearance pending
Mitchell Benjiman - Don't know - Colac District

Losses (That I know of)

Bryan Bienke -Back to SA?
Mick Clements - Sth Warrnambool
Matthew Rylance - Sth Rovers
Kyle Timms? - from earlier post
Luke Thompson - VFL & TAC Cup.

Probably more, thats what I have taken from the link above.
Some big losses, but some nice inclusions to help compensate that. Will be looking at top 4 an go close again.

Sorry guys, I've been lurking around a while but didn't realise this league had it's own board!!

Anyway, Power to have a BIG year.

Err, aah, yeah!

Also, Newman, Fraser is on board with Power yeah?

I think Power had a practise match today which he played a few mins in yeah?

Four is more.

OK, I accidently submitted this reply, sorry.

OK, I'll add some talk now I suppose. Is anyone an umpire in this league because I do not want to offend. I should leave it at that for now.

Seriously though, my big tip for 2009 is the Power. They will lose a few games in the regular season no doubt but no way they will not take it all out!

Who can beat them?!

I heard that last year.

Your are pretty cocksure at the moment considering no one has played a proper game yet. I reckon there is a few teams out there might fancy their chances against the Power failures.

i like to keep an interest on the teams from outside warrnambool. i been hearin that timboon have picked up a few and will once again be strong..
by the sounds of it power have done alright might be just rumours though..
but can ya tell me where the young power boys such as paddy moloney mark clissold jake lee and martin wynd will fit into this team?

Yeah. Took power2 advice and went to watch power and port. Seagulls still with bit to do but if had of kicked straight then wouldve been up at end of senior 3 quarters. Last bit pretty ordinary and left early- but bloody hot. All the talk about power recruit - fraser - is warranted. He the complete package. Strong overhead. Will cause major headaches for other teams. Could be the difference. Hicks good and bourke played very well. Hutchins down back was good. Power wasnt at full stregth, seagulls short down fwd. Apparently missin key forwards and back man (dunno whether true or not)
Nice cliche big blow hard - power failure - maynot be case this year tho.
Power top three without question - may even need to change my order around if fraser and co can remain injury free. Having said that I havent seen timboon, dogs or panmure play this year so hard to tip.
Russels creek won their intra club prac match!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yeah. Took power2 advice and went to watch power and port. Seagulls still with bit to do but if had of kicked straight then wouldve been up at end of senior 3 quarters. Last bit pretty ordinary and left early- but bloody hot. All the talk about power recruit - fraser - is warranted. He the complete package. Strong overhead. Will cause major headaches for other teams. Could be the difference. Hicks good and bourke played very well. Hutchins down back was good. Power wasnt at full stregth, seagulls short down fwd. Apparently missin key forwards and back man (dunno whether true or not)
Nice cliche big blow hard - power failure - maynot be case this year tho.
Power top three without question - may even need to change my order around if fraser and co can remain injury free. Having said that I havent seen timboon, dogs or panmure play this year so hard to tip.
Russels creek won their intra club prac match!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

panmure beaten by caramut apparently
also heard allansford smashed by werribee. not sure tho!

panmure beaten by caramut apparently
also heard allansford smashed by werribee. not sure tho!

Have heard that panmure have lost a few more than theyve picked up and will really struggle this year, allansford will take some time to adjust with new players and new coaches but they will be middle of the ladder if not higher. for all the talk about dennington it seems theres some unrest in the kennel.....

Hacker - think you clutching at straws. Only unrest at dog town is what top three position they gunna finish. You mite b stirring pot cause you got them round one and trying to unsettle them. They may not start season strong but if they can gell together then look out late. Discipline could be their only prob.
Dont disregard the bulldogs. Heard they got couple more quality players to sign clearances yet. They only missed top three by a game last year. They have added pace and lost older players. Will help them.
Power early favs - but hope they dont get ahead of themselves - or should i say their supporters!!!!!!

Anyone know anything about this Jacob Allinson that has transfered to Timboon from Geelong? Is he a gun recruit I wonder or just a nobody.

Allison an ex junior. He not a nobody but player returning. Have heard there may be a BIG signing in the league, but thats all. Dont know which player or club. Could be timboon way, dunno. Still trying to get the full goss. Hacker mite be able to help us!!!!!! Not long now until the real stuff happens. Dogs V Demons match of round.

First week of footy cant wait. top 5 for me
Timboon
Dennington
Power
merrivale
creek/ allansford/ panmure.
Heard a rumour power will be without steve o'connor and most likely be missing ben moloney..
but goin on last year there kids such as p moloney j lee m clissold will fill them holes no worries.

BIG recruit = Blair Robertson to Timboon $$ Will fill the gap left by Beinke. Also another couple of recruits coming home. Will be an awesome season of footy. Kolora V Timboon will be a fantastic display of district footy with many hampden league quality players running around. Get your finals tickets now. The Dogs will serve it up to them both but might just fall a bit short. Nirranda sneaking along and big tip this week is Deakin confident of taming the Tigers. Would be good for comp but can't seeing it happen.

Bring on the district comp. No Hampden games so mite be some interesting spectators at the round one game at kennel.

BIG recruit = Blair Robertson to Timboon $$ Will fill the gap left by Beinke. Also another couple of recruits coming home. Will be an awesome season of footy. Kolora V Timboon will be a fantastic display of district footy with many hampden league quality players running around. Get your finals tickets now. The Dogs will serve it up to them both but might just fall a bit short. Nirranda sneaking along and big tip this week is Deakin confident of taming the Tigers. Would be good for comp but can't seeing it happen.

Bring on the district comp. No Hampden games so mite be some interesting spectators at the round one game at kennel.

They could be paying him in mirrors! :p

2009 WDFNL Season. Movements and Rumours.