2011 Grand Final Moments

Re: 2011 GF Moments

Top plays in no particular order

1. Travis varcoe goal in the first 10 seconds of the game (got the heart pumping)
2. Brad Ottens desperation to get first hands on the ball and holding it in packs. Very inspirational for a big guy.
3. Allen Christensen mark on the bounday against two Collingwood talls (backed himself and when you do anything can happen).
4. Mitch Duncans goal from the top of the 50
5. Tom Hawkins purple patch of taking 3-4 vital marks against reid.
6.Travis Varcoe goal sealer. H eran the entire lengh of the field after that goal and was completely buggered after kicking it. Never stopped running showing true Geelong spirit.
7. Jimmy Bartels over all effort during the game. Kicking some vital goals and would have to be the most reliable goal kick in the AFL.
8.Stevie J's 4 goals. Each one was special as he was playing injured and everyone wanted to know if he would play or not and didnt let his team mates down as he promised during the week.
9.Bartels goal outside 50. kicked a huge goal and bumped chris dawes after kicking it to let him know that "he da man".
10. When Cam Mooney came on the ground and embraced his team mates showing his passion for the club and what it meant for his team mates to win another flag.

Watching the majority of the game while holding my 6-week-old daughter. She didn't understand it, and won't remember it, but I got to share that time with her. It was awesome.

Same here. It's funny, he hasn't yet earnt the plaudits of say Menzel and Christensen but I seriously think this guy will be a superstar. Has shown unbelievable poise and composure from his very first game. And I don't think there's anyone in the side I'd rather have with the ball in his hands in front of goal.
I don't think he's put together the sort of consistent, top-line performances that Menzel and Christensen have - but I agree, will be an absolute gun. Thought one of the real positives this year was that when we put him on or behind the ball he looked just as good as he did up forward. So composed when he's got the ball in hand; thought he was one of our best against Hawthorn in Week 1, and it really irritated me watching the replay how they kept saying he'd struggled to find the pace of the game. Sure, his first two kicks were smothered but after that I thought he was really solid.

Re: GF 11 - The nuggets

That sounds awesome. Can you please elaborate on that one?

It started after Stevie Jay slotted his fourth (5 goal lead). I'm sitting there in between the wing and half back (Olympic stand) and all of a sudden the fans around me erupt in to cheers and start standing up and sure enough when i stand to see whats going on to my left, there's Scarlo waving his arms to the Geelong sections of the crowd to get up. He was also pumping his fists to the crowd, really lapping it up with the fans which was great.
This was obviously when the ball was in the Cats' attacking half.

there were a couple of collingwood supporter sections in the area too so god only knows how much that infuriated them :D

If you haven't had a chance, visit bigpondvideo.com Sport>AFL>Geelong and view the short interviews with the players as they suck on a Crownie back in the room after the game. Some good stuff here.

9.Bartels goal outside 50. kicked a huge goal and bumped chris dawes after kicking it to let him know that "he da man".[\quote]

Loved this also. The dopey look on Dawes' face is priceless.

A few things from the replay for me.

Wojo's tackle and then winning the free kick for being held in the first term.
Joel Coreys ability to keep diving into a pack when the game was there to be won.
Christensen's attack on the footy and handpass in the 3rd q
Watching Swan run side ways and backwards with the footy because the pressure was too immense.
Luke Darcy's repetitive commentary. He repeats himself during the game and when you watch it 2-3 times you hear the same garbage 4-6 times. Leigh Brown is there to get in the face of Scarlo. Mitch Duncan finding it difficult to get into the tempo of the game... Not accurate and not good

My grand final moment would be an odd one. But it's when I was walking out of the ground about an half an hour to an hour after the game and there were still thousands of supportars around, and every single one of them was happy.

There was no hate from anyone, no normal post football urgence to rush out of there, people were just 100% happy. Having been there in 07 and 09 as well I can say this feeling was there then too, but not like this year. You could go up to anybody, say anything about the cats, and everyone would be happy to tell you right back how much they loved the cats.

To me, that was why people attend Grand Finals and follow Australian Rules.

For me - the fact we hung there during the mid to late second quater when things were not going our way and they were kicking goals from everywhere and sometimes with the help of a questionable free kick.

Hanging tough - then replying very late in the second term I reckon, looking back, was the truly vital time in the game for us.

I think Geelong then knew they had thrown everything at us, they couldn't keep kicking goals not points like they had - and they had had two really hard games.

We knew then we just had to keep the pressure on and eventually we would over run them.

Perhaps it was not that simple - because who would have thought Hawkins would turn the game around like he did ? Not me. But still think the longer the second half went we had a really good chance of turning it around across the field.

PS. And I would never had thought Ling would so minimise the impact of a player they said was basically untagable like Swan.

Hawkins and Ling really performed far better than I could ever have imgained. Thanks.

... there's Scarlo waving his arms to the Geelong sections of the crowd to get up. He was also pumping his fists to the crowd, really lapping it up with the fans which was great.

You can actually see Scarlett doing it on the replay, you can see him in the background. Amazing considering the ball was just a kick away. But yeah, it was an amazing feeling seeing it live at the time.. It was great how he ran to the cheer squad as soon as the siren went.

My grand final moment would be an odd one. But it's when I was walking out of the ground about an half an hour to an hour after the game and there were still thousands of supportars around, and every single one of them was happy.

There was no hate from anyone, no normal post football urgence to rush out of there, people were just 100% happy. Having been there in 07 and 09 as well I can say this feeling was there then too, but not like this year. You could go up to anybody, say anything about the cats, and everyone would be happy to tell you right back how much they loved the cats.

To me, that was why people attend Grand Finals and follow Australian Rules.

One of my highlights of the day. Thought I'd just take a video of me walking out of the ground after the game. Everyone was happy as you said. Was awesome.

I was just walking along then a random group of guys started singing the cats song and they put their arm around me and we all sang the song together. Then I told them my punchline I thought of and they loved it :p (based on Collingwoods season: Too Hard, Too Fast: Premature Ejaculation)

[YOUTUBE]JfAPvCuYtk0[/YOUTUBE]

All the highlights from the game that everyone else has mentioned. But a special memory was being in the Bunton Bar with the BF Cats mates and singing "We are Geelong" a number of times with great passion and celebrating /toasting the great win with beers all around.

Collingwood supporters tried in vain to drown us out by singing the Pies theme song, but you just cannot sing the song with the same gusto as the supporters whose team has just won the Premiership.

It was a beautiful feeling.

It started after Stevie Jay slotted his fourth (5 goal lead). I'm sitting there in between the wing and half back (Olympic stand) and all of a sudden the fans around me erupt in to cheers and start standing up and sure enough when i stand to see whats going on to my left, there's Scarlo waving his arms to the Geelong sections of the crowd to get up. He was also pumping his fists to the crowd, really lapping it up with the fans which was great.

there were a couple of collingwood supporter sections in the area too so god only knows how much that infuriated them :D

We must've been sitting in the same bay mate! It was sensational. After the cheers died down I found myself standing up for a moment looking over at the Collingwood bay, I've never seen so many ashen faces in my life! I almost felt sorry for them, almost...
Bundy's mark was amazing, I knew we had it then.

One of my highlights of the day. Thought I'd just take a video of me walking out of the ground after the game. Everyone was happy as you said. Was awesome.

I was just walking along then a random group of guys started singing the cats song and they put their arm around me and we all sang the song together. Then I told them my punchline I thought of and they loved it :p (based on Collingwoods season: Too Hard, Too Fast: Premature Ejaculation)

[youtube]JfAPvCuYtk0[/youtube]

Getting a good look at that chick's arse in the first part of the video? Too hard... too fast... premature ejaculation!

Heh.:thumbsu:

Getting a good look at that chick's arse in the first part of the video? Too hard... too fast... premature ejaculation!

Heh.:thumbsu:

Haha. In all honesty I was trying not to look through the camera and actually take in the moment while I was walking outside seeing lots of happy cats fans to my right... her arse just happened to be my 'other' sets of eyes for quite a bit of the clip :p At that stage the most unpleasant looking cats supporter was better viewing than that!

Also just remembered another moment. Just before the game started on the big screen they showed who the Pies and Cats had played round by round next to each other and by how many points they won/lost by. Pies fans cheered when Cats lost a game and vice/versa but the biggest roar was round 24 when it showed we'd given the Pies a smashing. It was also great that we'd beaten them twice throughout the year obviously. Pies fans had nothing!

My fav moments from the GF:

- just the whole week/ lead up to the grand final. Spending time with fellow Geelong supporters, meeting up before the game, the anticipation was awesome. :thumbsu:
- all the great plays; varcoes goal 14 seconds in, Bundy's mark, etc etc etc etc, its probably all been said already numerous times.
- the moment/s when I realised we had it won. Got quite emotional. :eek:
- the look on Scarlett's face as he was celebrating (with his back turned to the play!!!) with us/the crowd late in the fourth quarter.
- wrapping up Otto in a bear hug on his lap around the boundary!!
- the quiet time I spent in the MCG about half an hour after the whole thing ended. Am pleased to report the scoreboard was still up!!! And a nice touch- a countdown clock to next season. :)

My fav moments from the GF:

- just the whole week/ lead up to the grand final. Spending time with fellow Geelong supporters, meeting up before the game, the anticipation was awesome. :thumbsu:
- all the great plays; varcoes goal 14 seconds in, Bundy's mark, etc etc etc etc, its probably all been said already numerous times.
- the moment/s when I realised we had it won. Got quite emotional. :eek:
- the look on Scarlett's face as he was celebrating (with his back turned to the play!!!) with us/the crowd late in the fourth quarter.
- wrapping up Otto in a bear hug on his lap around the boundary!!
- the quiet time I spent in the MCG about half an hour after the whole thing ended. Am pleased to report the scoreboard was still up!!! And a nice touch- a countdown clock to next season. :)

Does anyone have that footage of Scarlett in the last quarter? Seen a few mentions of this now. I was at that end of the ground on level P but didn't see this. Seriously the last 2-3 goals we scored I was just completely and utterly speechless (after supporting like mad the first 3 and a half quarters). Couldn't believe we were going to win and I was there!

I also stayed to the end. Being up on level P I waited till after the presentations and ran downstairs, grabbed 2 beers (to my surprise the bars were still open, these were my FIRST drinks for the day) and tried to get a good viewing spot of the players doing the lap of honour. I was a couple of sections to the right of the cheersquad right in front of the small digital scoreboard that just shows the score. Standing nearby someone that had a big blue banner that features in the Grand Final DVD. Anyway.. I drank my beers very slowly and stuck around until everyone pretty much left and security started telling people to go. I still had half a beer left so stayed till I drank that. Awesome times!

Think I would have been one of the first in and one of the last out!

294254_10150308974743157_600983156_8184304_74782130_n.jpg

312761_10150309257283157_600983156_8185712_1747743465_n.jpg

Does anyone have that footage of Scarlett in the last quarter? Seen a few mentions of this now. I was at that end of the ground on level P but didn't see this. Seriously the last 2-3 goals we scored I was just completely and utterly speechless (after supporting like mad the first 3 and a half quarters). Couldn't believe we were going to win and I was there!

]

Lol, you're keen. :p

I got there just as Meatloaf was playing. Was just bizarre, I was standing at one of the entrances about to do down the stairs to my bay, and there is Stephen King holding the 07 premiership cup, and someone else with 09, he was like standing right next to me!!!!

As for Scarlett- it didnt go on for a long time- he didnt come near the fence or anything, especailly since there was still play going on!!!

Also just remembered another moment. Just before the game started on the big screen they showed who the Pies and Cats had played round by round next to each other and by how many points they won/lost by. !

Love, love, loved that. Basically a countdown to the game that builds up the anticipation, is awesome.

They did that for all finals. :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Moment I don't think has been mentioned yet, was Hawk's first grab in (I think) the second quarter. Ball coming up onto the back flank/wing, Hawk flies for it mostly alone, and polaxes a Collingwood player coming the other direction. Love seeing the big fella cause carnage

2011 Grand Final Moments