• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

2012 SEQAFL Division 3 Thread

Could never see a game being played at a neutral venue because of "distance issues" though Sherrin - ground conditions, finals (completely different kettle of fish, GF venues are decided before the games are played..) for sure.

Do you think though IPW that Coolie would retain their current playing group IF they went down to Div 3?? Of course not. And in my mind it wouldn't be called "div 3" anyway but the south division playing against Robina, Beenleigh, Logan, etc

Look, I'm just throwing out hypotheticals and a sort of rationalisation of the thinking that might go on behind closed doors. Megaman - you may not mind driving 2hrs to play footy but alot of blokes do, especially if no money is changing hands. In the lower divisions I imagine there is not alot of $$ being thrown around generally (stand corrected). I think it is logical to have sides relatively close geographically to be playing each other as often as possible for everyones sake - players, staff, supporters. Not sure anyone could say that Div 3 this year was an "even" comp anyway. Had a distinct top half and bottom half. Not sure about Div 2? Its just an opinion but I would suggest that the north/south idea is being stongly debated at admin level bc it would encourage / keep more people in the game generally.

agree Coolie would lose lots , but they would still make Nambour look like easybeats in my opinion, there will be older players and combacks to rekindle the Coolie flame and a proud club like them will regrow through premeirships, again in my opinion.

Well I'm glad I sparked some excitement. I can assure you the Cooly rumour has come from a reliable source. However it was still sitting with Cooly to decide with a 50/50 split of support.

As an ex Blue I know how proud of a club they are and they will only take a drop to Div 3 as an opportunity to rebuild momentum and they will be premiers. They will not take a backwards step, they will be cashed up (pokies will do that!) and will fight for not just the Seniors but the Reserves too.

Again, this has its pros and cons for the league (and for Cooly).

Now the travel issue. As the most southern team this year we survived (with the help of the awesome team bus). Yes home games are easier but I would rather travel 2 hours for an even competition than travel to Surfers or the like and receive a rogering.

What's everyone's thoughts about something we had considered taking to the league- a preseason carnival?

Well I'm glad I sparked some excitement. I can assure you the Cooly rumour has come from a reliable source. However it was still sitting with Cooly to decide with a 50/50 split of support.

As an ex Blue I know how proud of a club they are and they will only take a drop to Div 3 as an opportunity to rebuild momentum and they will be premiers. They will not take a backwards step, they will be cashed up (pokies will do that!) and will fight for not just the Seniors but the Reserves too.

Again, this has its pros and cons for the league (and for Cooly).

Now the travel issue. As the most southern team this year we survived (with the help of the awesome team bus). Yes home games are easier but I would rather travel 2 hours for an even competition than travel to Surfers or the like and receive a rogering.

What's everyone's thoughts about something we had considered taking to the league- a preseason carnival?

Did you play for Cooly this year? Sounds like it, with bus travel ect. Mayne have been in a similar position to where Cooly are right now for a few seasons, but they stuck with it through many floggings, and now are showing signs they are ready to become very competitive. If Cooly are such a proud club and have dollars to attract all these players, why wouldnt they look to field a PHC side again? Long way back from div 3 to div 1 if that is the path they take. What joy is there in taking the easier road and dominating a division 2 spots below? And how is it fair on the Div 3 sides who arent starting each year with a heap of Div 1 quality players?

So you are saying that noone drove the long trip up the road to Palmwoods and ended up with a 150 point flogging?? The bottom line (to me anyway) is that the Div 2 and 3 comps have very little to do with "evenness" of teams, otherwise the top 2 sides in Div 3 would replace the bottom 2 sides in Div 2 each year. In fact i have NFI as to how these 2 divisions are formed outside of "history" deciding and maybe player numbers once upon a time.
Lets say you put Aspley, Nambour, Caloundra, Redcliffe, Caboolture, Kedron, Pine Rivers, UQ side?, Coorparoo, Griffith/Moorooka in a north comp and Beenleigh, Logan, Robina, Coolie, Calamvale, Coomera, Ipswich, Alex Hills, Kenmore, Yeronga, Wynnum in the south division (as an example only guys!) how many competitve vs uncompetitive games you would play vs what happened this year in the 2 divisions.
Just reckon more guys would stay in the sport if the travelling was less and certainly more ppl likely to travel to matches too. I'm sure Beenleigh v Logan attracts the biggest crowd of the year for these 2 clubs. i know Caloundra v Nambour would. And yes Swoopa a team bus helps with the travelling but again, its a necessary evil. Might not be seen by the football club to be a great thing if it was required 4-5 x per year rather than a couple.

agree Coolie would lose lots , but they would still make Nambour look like easybeats in my opinion, there will be older players and combacks to rekindle the Coolie flame and a proud club like them will regrow through premeirships, again in my opinion.

Yeah I couldn't be certain IPW - you could be right. I didn't see Nambour play this year nor Coolie but I do know the latter were terrible, lucky to have enough players each week basically. Like Swoopa said they do have a capacity to increase revenue thru pokies but I'm unsure as to why or how the wheels have fallen off so dramatically in recent years. There are alot of very good football clubs on the coast and despite what we would all like to believe there is a finite playing base. Coolie probably are seen as the poor cousin to PBC and now Surfers and obviously the NEAFL teams. Surfers have turned their club around with recent appointments of really good people, no doubt Coolie could do the same.

No I didn't play for Cooly this year. Have been at Coomera for 3 years now.

I never meant to say that no one receives "floggings" this year, just simply that competition based purely on geographical location is flawed and would have the same strong teams and the same stragglers almost every year.

I do agree that more blokes would stay if the travel was less. You only have to look at away teams results this year to see that in a lot of instances the best 22 in each grade are not always up for a road trip.

Either way I think until the league can get it right and "fair" lets focus on 2013 as I am predicting it will be a cracker with plenty of robust discussions to come.

Just think Swoopa that the competitions aren't even now in any case and unless there is relegation / promotion they never will be even close. From what i can tell the same clubs are at the pointy end of each comp each year as a general rule anyway. If I had to design a comp that was going to be lopsided I would much prefer to have it as one based on geography rather than just throwing sides in willy nilly. Like you said some blokes don't travel - is just the way it is. Agree it will be interesting.

official, caboolture, redcliffe and nambour to div 2. Coolie staying PHC. with the inclusion of carrara and pine rivers, div 3 now has 9 teams. both div2 and PHC 12 teams.

Be interesting to see what the swans think of travelling deep south EVERY away game!! But I bet they will be glad to be back up!! What condition is Rob Akers in these days??

It will be the best ground in the comp. picture perfect! Some decent away journeys but sure the club after 2 years in div 4 won't be to upset. Be interesting how they go. Will them and Carrara be competitive in div 3 straight away?

I did enjoy playing all teams in div 3, hopefully the teams in div 2 are the same. It is going to be interesting to see how Nambour, Caboolture and Redcliffe go next year.

Im tipping Coomera and Beenleigh to be the 2 front running teams
I like the way you think Toolie!

I like the sounds of the new league but I did enjoy playing against some of the Sunshine Coast lads. A good bunch of blokes, especially at Tiger land. What will I do without my tagging tiger buddy now? I'll miss the bus trips too.

Good news for Coolie they are staying in PHC. I hope they do well and made the right decision. I think Carrara and Pine Rivers will do well.

Good luck to Nambour, Caboolture and Redcliffe next year. I hope their lads aren't strangers to this page now.

Cararras mascot/animal?? And home ground?? Metricon??? :0
Saints I believe ML, no idea what ground they run around on. The Pine Rivers ground is a quality deck and I think they'll be competitive straight away, higher level coach & some handy players!
Caloundra is also back in div 2, correct? And UQ to Div 1.. Big year ahead

Carrara saints they play out off nielsons road. Around corner from metricon great surface but deffently will be the smallest ground in the comp. expect to see a few robina Roos there.
Yes they are spreading the word that they are recruiting quality players. They will have a good young squad already who have all played footy together for some time (from juniors).

Both grade coaches are ex-Coomera and rumour is they will be "the fastest team in the comp".

Time will tell.

Big shake up of div 3 for 2013 that's for sure.

Will make for a very open and interesting season.

Carrara have a great base of great kids and from what I hear should add some solid experience and be very competitive straight up. Not too dissimilar to how coomera announced them selves in their first year. I already know of many quality coast players considering playing there.

Pine rivers are believed to be putting together a handy list also and again had the nucleous for a good starting 22.

Am hearing good things out of Buffland but its early days so much can change. Fingers crossed.

Was hoping the buffs might have a div 4 side so I could have a kick on Friday nights and still have my weekends but we will see I guess.

Big shake up of div 3 for 2013 that's for sure.

Will make for a very open and interesting season.

Carrara have a great base of great kids and from what I hear should add some solid experience and be very competitive straight up. Not too dissimilar to how coomera announced them selves in their first year. I already know of many quality coast players considering playing there.

Pine rivers are believed to be putting together a handy list also and again had the nucleous for a good starting 22.

Am hearing good things out of Buffland but its early days so much can change. Fingers crossed.

Was hoping the buffs might have a div 4 side so I could have a kick on Friday nights and still have my weekends but we will see I guess.
Coomera old boys morro?

=[Swoopa09][I've heard that the Mt Tamborine Mountain Goats and Wooloongabba Wombats are going to be joining us.
Don't worry about the mt tamborine boys swoopa, a local business man is cashed up after a good winter selling firewood and is throwing money at star players left right and centre. I have signed on to captain coach both reserves and seniors.(If coomera give me a clearance that is, if you can arrange this i can offer you a contract if you are interested in playing as my decoy forward pocket).

Hmmmm I consider myself more of a strong marking forward option but I guess if the money is right I'll consider anything. You'll have to double coomera's offer. So that'll be 2 beers after every training session. Full strength. Non of this XXXX rubbish!

I heard the Goats are fairly fit due to their high altitude training?!

Hmmmm I consider myself more of a strong marking forward option but I guess if the money is right I'll consider anything. You'll have to double coomera's offer. So that'll be 2 beers after every training session. Full strength. Non of this XXXX rubbish!

I heard the Goats are fairly fit due to their high altitude training?!
cant double nothing mate.