D2 2013 Div2, the thread

Well David, an educator???? Think you should wait more than 3 games at your new club before you announce the club culture/policies etc. As a newbie my advice would be to pull your head in and get some results!

Puff, Puff.

I agree we need results. No doubting that. But slagging a club you know nothing about??? Not sure if you would like it if it was the boys from Uni High!

But nice of you to remember me!

Really interesting comments... Do you have inside information? Do you know the club for what it stands for and its selection policies?? I'll take an educated guess and say, that you have no idea what your talking about. You should get your facts straight before you start making your uneducated comments on another club. Your not Damien Barrett, Craig Hutchinson or Caroline Wilson are you?

Having said that it was an uneducated statement, I like to teach and educate people, so I'll educate you as to why the likes of Chris were playing 2's on the weekend, so that next time you decide to make these comments, you have the correct information to back up your comments.

These players have had injuries over the pre season and the clubs policy is that these players will come back through the 2's to, 1. Prove they can get through 4 qtrs of football and 2. they can show a bit of form to warrant their selection in the 1's.

Now maybe this comment stems from a Therry 2's player who is not impressed that Emmaus had a good win in the 2's on the weekend over a side that has had the wood over Emmaus for years now.
Yes the 1's side has started off not the way the club planned, but injuries and unavailabilities to key players has been a small factor in this. But credit where credit is due, Therry's 1's are a good side and will be there abouts season end.

But let me assure you of 2 things. The crap that is written about the club is a disgrace and the club will get back to what it is all about and that is winning games of football!!!

Winning games of football??? You blokes are 0-3, I'm not sure you can go back to something that is nothing but a myth in the first place!

Let's just look at St Leo's objectively here.

You scum bags survived relegation because of a technicality.

You have the worst club rooms in the VAFA

You have the worst ground in the VAFA

You're club is made up of thugs who belt blokes behind play

You're zip and 3.

Just face it mate, your club is a flat out disgrace. Unfortunately your ressies winning games won't keep you up in Div 2 this year, just toil away this season and go back to D3 where you belong.

Really interesting comments... Do you have inside information? Do you know the club for what it stands for and its selection policies?? I'll take an educated guess and say, that you have no idea what your talking about. You should get your facts straight before you start making your uneducated comments on another club. Your not Damien Barrett, Craig Hutchinson or Caroline Wilson are you?

Having said that it was an uneducated statement, I like to teach and educate people, so I'll educate you as to why the likes of Chris were playing 2's on the weekend, so that next time you decide to make these comments, you have the correct information to back up your comments.

These players have had injuries over the pre season and the clubs policy is that these players will come back through the 2's to, 1. Prove they can get through 4 qtrs of football and 2. they can show a bit of form to warrant their selection in the 1's.

Now maybe this comment stems from a Therry 2's player who is not impressed that Emmaus had a good win in the 2's on the weekend over a side that has had the wood over Emmaus for years now.
Yes the 1's side has started off not the way the club planned, but injuries and unavailabilities to key players has been a small factor in this. But credit where credit is due, Therry's 1's are a good side and will be there abouts season end.

But let me assure you of 2 things. The crap that is written about the club is a disgrace and the club will get back to what it is all about and that is winning games of football!!!

I am Damian Barrett, so thanks for blowing my cover.
Yet, as journalism protocol, I did start the comment with "rumours." I never said it was fact, nor that I was at the selection table. But for all you know, I may have sources inside Emmaus. I'll keep my sources to myself.
However, I appreciate you getting fired up.

Back to the actual issue... Emmaus' Reserves would of beaten their Seniors on the weekend.
I honestly don't think the club has the luxury to be playing senior footballers such as the McGloin brothers in the reserves.
The only theory, and that's based on whispers, is that the club conceded defeat against Therry's seniors on the weekend on Thursday night, and decided that they would play those 50/50 players in their reserves. It may be true that the blokes are coming back from injury, however I don't think you would see Mitch Clark or Nathan Jones coming back to Melbourne's side through Casey, when they're clearly senior footballers.

There is obviously a huge problem at Emmaus. And if the club thinks it can sneak wins against other lowly ranked sides such as Monash, South Melbourne, ect, then I think they will be facing relegation, because at least the Gryphons and the Bloods have a fair crack.

And if the club thinks that playing reserves finals makes up for being relegated due to the seniors finishing bottom two, then good luck to them. I know that eight other clubs will be happy they won't have to head out to the dungheap at Burwood next year. I feel sorry for the other D2 club that will have to go down to D3 with them.

3/5 last week to take the tally to 9/15

This week Eltham over St Johns which should be another cracker

Sth Melbourne over Emmaus by 6 goals

St Mary's over monash by 3 goals

Yarra Valley over Ivanhoe in a thriller by a goal

Therry by 8 goals over Parade

Round 3 Preview
Therry over Emmaus by 39 Pts (The Animals – along with the Bloods – have leaked far too many goals in the opening rounds, so I suspect Therry’s Bannister Boys would be licking their lips in anticipation. Benny Ellis will try his best for the home side, but the Lions should bring home the points with ease).
Eltham over Ivanhoe by 31 Points (I don’t reckon the Turtles have hit top gear yet and this fixture may just get their engine humming a little more smoothly. The Hoes will be mindful of their second half fade out that cost them so dearly last time out, but the windy conditions forecast should accentuate Eltham’s superiority).SMS over Paradians by 4 Pts (Should be a cracker of a contest this one, but if The Saints can beat Ivanhoe away from home there is no reason why they cannot do the same at Bundoora. Sutherland and Chipperfield to run amok as St Mary’s make their best start to the season in years).
SMD over Gryphs by 8 Pts (Another flip of the coin, but I favour the home side as Monash have a very poor record at Lindsay Hassett and recent injuries are te4sting their depth. Having said that, South are hardly setting hearts on fire with their form and will have to find an avenue to goal to take the points. Elliott Costello to be best afield).
Yarra Valley over Jocs by 41 Pts (St Johns are set to come back to earth with a thud but I reckon this will be a contest until half time. Yarra Valley’s strength looks to be its depth and the coaching staff must be stoked at the number of effective contributors each week. I will take either ‘Trend’ for best on ground).

Round 3 Review

4/5(10/15 cumulative) was a reasonable return, however it is clear that many on this forum have under-rated and written off the Jocs too hastily. I for one gave them no chance whatsoever of defeating the Bushrangers on their home patch, but Matty Jones has got them playing highly effective structured football that has been absent in recent times out Doveton way. Reports from Yarra Valley were that not only did the Jocs deny Yarra Valley the ball, they play a high risk, high reward run and spread game where scoreboard pressure is their modus operandi. Stand out performances from the mighty Daniel’s Batson & Cattolico ensured the spoils went to the Black and Greens.

Elsewhere, Heath Chipperfield ensured the Saints got the points in a thriller at Garvey Oval continuing St Mary’s impressive start to the season and The Bloods got their first win of the season against an injury plagued Gryphons who look set to be battling to remain in D2 this year. Speaking of relegation, if the Animals continue to put in performances of the calibre they presented in front of their home fans last Saturday, they will last all year. Therry were good, but St Leos need to find some inspiration fast as what they are producing is not up to the standard required in this grade. Finally, Eltham must surely be early flag favourites after their demolition in the second half at home against Ivanhoe. No one seems able to stop the competition premier forward as he booted another 7 for the Turtles.

Round 4 Preview

Should be a cracker of a round. I suspect none of the pundits on this forum will select all five winners!

SMD over Emmaus by 16 Pts (Despite the fact this game is at Bennettswood, the Animals were deplorable last time out and the Bloods should be buoyed by their comfortable win against the Gryphons. No doubt St Leos will give a more passionate performance, but I still reckon they will fall just short. Elvis Costello to be best afield).

Eltham over St Johns by 15 Pts (What may have been considered a lay down misere for the Turtles a couple of weeks back may now be the game of the round. St Johns, if they are to be a contender, need to take a scalp like this, however, Eltham are very highly skilled and structured as well and unless they can keep Ciavola under four goals they will fall short).

SMS over Gryphs by 35 Pts (Lock of the week on form and these fixtures are usually one-sided affairs. St Mary’s were ultra-impressive when the heat was on last weekend and their ability to win the contested ball has been a real area of improvement. They are also a most adept team at stoppages and should beat the Gryphons comfortably. Jake Kenyon to be prominent).

Yarra Valley over Hoes by 5 Pts (It was back to earth for the Bushrangers last week, who haven’t been so soundly beaten for a couple of years. I suspect they will have had a hard week on the track in order to regain some of the passion that was absent against the Jocs. Ivanhoe were blown away early at Research, but will be far more competitive at home especially as these guys played off in last season’s D3 Grand Final. I expect some fireworks in the first half, but the visitors to take the points in a low scoring affair).

Therry over Parade by 11 Pts (Tough one to pick as I still rate Parade but their poor percentage is a worry for all at Bundoora. The Lions were impressive last weekend, but I doubt they will be allowed as many uncontested marks against the Raiders. The home side just, with the Bannister Brothers proving the difference).

Good luck to all

Quasi

Tips this week
Eltham just over st johns
Smd by 5 goals
Monash In a big upset over SMS
The yarra over the hoes in a shoot out by a goal
Therry to account for parade by 8 goals..... Who's gonna stop those bannisters??

Good luck to all

Okay, here are my selections for this week. Tracking at 73% so looking to again get the majority - but only if the local boys get across the line.

Emmaus St Leos vs South Melbourne
Old Eltham vs St Johns
St Marys Salesian vs Monash Gryphons
Ivanhoe vs Yarra Valley
Therry Penola vs Old Paradians

Emmaus St Leos vs South Melbourne (Closer than people might think)
Old Eltham vs St Johns (Easily)
St Marys Salesian vs Monash Gryphons (must win for Monash)
Ivanhoe vs Yarra Valley (surely last week was a hiccup)
Therry Penola vs Old Paradians (20+ points)

Emmaus St Leos vs South Melbourne (Closer than people might think)
Old Eltham vs St Johns (Easily)
St Marys Salesian vs Monash Gryphons (must win for Monash)
Ivanhoe vs Yarra Valley (surely last week was a hiccup)
Therry Penola vs Old Paradians (20+ points)

Eltham over St Johns by 53. St Johns looked good last week but Eltham look to have most bases covered.
Gryphs over St Marys by 5 points. Great start to the season by SMS, but the Gryphs are far better than their 0-3 start suggests and last week had no Wells or Cherian.
Hoes over Yarra Valley by 2 goals. No Yeos, Beal or Savage last week for YV. Huge outs and structurally they looked a far different proposition. Expect those boys back and with the addition of Rhino amos this year, they are still a big threat. However, apart from the last 10 minutes, the Hoes bought a committed effort to the last half and they played far better footy than the week before. I expect them to bring that form tomorrow and that is good enough.
Therry over Parade by 9 goals. with the Bannisters on fire and Egglestone contolling half back they should do it comfortably.

Tough round !!
Emmaus by 5 gls,to many injuries at SMD
St Johns to cause the big up set.
SMS just, home ground advantage,
Ivanhoe by 5pts in a great game.
Therry to continue on their winning way, Bannisters another dozen.

I know this is a regular utterance in local footy but how unpredictable and relatively even is the competition this year. SMS looked near unbeatable and they lose to a side that hasn't won a game yet.

My boys who had looked out of touch in recent weeks went all the way against Eltham at their monster ground.

And OP who haven't looked near it this year went down gallantly against the league favorites in Therry

Anyone bar St Leo's can play finals football this year

Currently sitting 13/20...

Eltham to beat Yarra Valley in a close one
Monash to win at home over Ivanhoe
Parade to beat St Leos comfortably
SMD in and upset over SMS
Therry in a tight one to against st Johns

I've heard Yarra are going to have some big in's this week and I wouldn't be at all surprised if they can beat Eltham.

Interesting to see who people think can't make finals in both the seniors and reserves and your tip for top 4.

Monash Bias here.

Senior teams who can't make finals
St Leos

Expected top 4
Eltham
Therry
Ivanhoe
Monash

Reserves teams who can't make finals
St Johns
South Melbourne Districts
Yarra Valley

Expected top 4
St Leos
Therry
Monash
Eltham

Tips for this round:

Yarra Valley to cause an upset over Eltham by 3 goals.
Hoes by 15 points over monash with or without Robbo.
Parade over St Leos by 17 points. Beluzaar back makes a big difference.
SMD to beat SMS by 4 goals.
Therry over St Johns by 5 points in a tough tussle at Doveton.

3/5 last week for 12/20 for the year. This week

Eltham over Yarra valley in another tight one

Ivanhoe over monash by 4 goals (is Robbo playing?)

Parade over Emmaus by 3 goals

St Mary's over South Melbourne by 2 goals

Therry over St Johns by 3 goals

Glad to see someone finally pick my boiz!

Why is everyone selecting Ivanhoe, are we forgetting that Monash knocked off SMS, previously undefeated last week?

Glad to see someone finally pick my boiz!

Why is everyone selecting Ivanhoe, are we forgetting that Monash knocked off SMS, previously undefeated last week?
I would think that Monash's performance against eltham was a better indication that they are a good side than last week's effort.

Monash have a lot of good hit up medium targets and are a good tackling side.

Will be a tough game for the Hoes and I'd see it very much a game that could go either way.