Teams 2013 Rate my Dream Team

DEF: Goddard, Gibbs, birchall, duffield, armstrong , Vlastuin, (docherty, Terlich)

MID: Ablett, pendles, cotchin, dangerfield. wines, mitchell, o'meara, viney (crouch, colquhoun

RUC: Cox, jacobs (witts, currie)

FWD: franklin, rockliff. bartel, martin, karnezis, rowe ( kerridge, dwyer)

$30,900, ur thoughts, improvement, rate out of 10
Imo with only four mids they have to be the best four
No swan is a big hole there.

7/10

It will drop a little, but if you're counting on his price "crashing", you will be disappointed.

I've said it in other threads, Swan is over priced by 10-15 points. His average last year was inflated by playing GWS and a deflated Essendon in the last few rounds and even though he had his best year ever last year he averaged only 109 in his first three against basically the same opponents he starts against this year.

If Pendles averages within 10 points of Swan which I think he will) in the first 3 rounds and you went Swan over Pendles then basically you have wasted $100k at the start of the season and then probably about another $100k in the price changes.

I've said it in other threads, Swan is over priced by 10-15 points. His average last year was inflated by playing GWS and a deflated Essendon in the last few rounds and even though he had his best year ever last year he averaged only 109 in his first three against basically the same opponents he starts against this year.

If Pendles averages within 10 points of Swan which I think he will) in the first 3 rounds and you went Swan over Pendles then basically you have wasted $100k at the start of the season and then probably about another $100k in the price changes.

simple round three swan to pendles = no biggy...

but if swan goes 170, 150 what ya gonna do?

simple round three swan to pendles = no biggy...

but if swan goes 170, 150 what ya gonna do?

With who he plays first and how he normally starts the odds are more like he will avg. 120 odd for the first three.

Even if he does go big and avg. 30 more than Pendles or Cotchin then the cash saved has allowed me to get a premo at D4 instead of a mid pricer so I could easliy gain 30 points a round there.
And yes I know you double it for a captains score but people can be a bit Swan 'blind' and what if I have Ablett captain and he goes big and everyone else has Swan captain??

With who he plays first and how he normally starts the odds are more like he will avg. 120 odd for the first three.

Even if he does go big and avg. 30 more than Pendles or Cotchin then the cash saved has allowed me to get a premo at D4 instead of a mid pricer so I could easliy gain 30 points a round there.
And yes I know you double it for a captains score but people can be a bit Swan 'blind' and what if I have Ablett captain and he goes big and everyone else has Swan captain??

fair enough... Good luck!
I'm on team Swan + Ablett... I reckon they'll both go bang.

If Swan goes 120x3 @ Cx3 I will be more than happy. I'm nowhere near as confident of Ablett matching that, regardless of each players first 3 opponents.

Quick comment regarding a lot of you waiting for Swan and Ablett to drop heaps of $ after 3 rounds.
I may be wrong but doesn't the overall salary cap (all players combined) stay the same for the whole season. Over the last 2 years with heaps of Rooks making heaps of cash quickly, actually meant premos dropped $ just as quickly to compensate for the rookie increases.
With less rookies this year I see less dramatic price drops for premos.
If Im wrong, happy to be corrected.

Quick comment regarding a lot of you waiting for Swan and Ablett to drop heaps of $ after 3 rounds.
I may be wrong but doesn't the overall salary cap (all players combined) stay the same for the whole season. Over the last 2 years with heaps of Rooks making heaps of cash quickly, actually meant premos dropped $ just as quickly to compensate for the rookie increases.

I think you are near enough right - the magic number does drop as the season goes on, but i'm not completely sure on specifics.

You are absolutely correct.

There are less rookie priced players that will steal $$$ from the overall salary cap this year compared to the previous two years. At the same time we have a lot more players inside the overall salary cap with 18 teams. The magic number will change very little this year compared to previous years.

People hoping for premiums to make significant dips outside of bad form and injury will be sorely disappointed.

you posed some questions - i was wondering what your current thoughts were on them?

Ahhh sorry mate.
Should I get cox into my forward line? Thinking my spare cash could be used to upgrade martin to cox
Is heppell a risk with goddard down there now? think ill keep the combo they will prob work well together
Should I upgrade luenberger? If he plays first couple of rounds id like to keep him for the extra $$$
should suban be upgraded to another mid? IMO another big potential money earner if reports are right but with my spare cash is there someone else that is better.
Any thoughts/ help would be much appreciated cheers

Here it is again anyway:

DEF: Goddard, Gibbs, Heppell, Suban, Vlaustin, Goodes (Stevenson, Terlich)
MID: Swan, Abblet, Cotchin, Murphey, Fyfe, Wines, Mitchell, O'meara (Crouch, Viney)
RUCK: Roughead, Luenberger (Gorringe, Currie)
FWD: Zorko, Rockliff, Robinson, Martin, Varcoe, Macaffer (Rowe, Neade)
Cash: $96,200

You are absolutely correct.

There are less rookie priced players that will steal $$$ from the overall salary cap this year compared to the previous two years. At the same time we have a lot more players inside the overall salary cap with 18 teams. The magic number will change very little this year compared to previous years.

People hoping for premiums to make significant dips outside of bad form and injury will be sorely disappointed.
Hence why those 2 are securely in my team.

I see a lot of teams here with the 4 super premo's then Fyfe in the mids. This is what I'm doing as well.
What I have seen is a lot of those teams have their 4 super premos with the same bye week. Are we just ignoring that or haven't spotted it. I've got 3, Swan, Ablett & Pendles and that causing stress.
Yes, you can make the trades at the time and bring them back, but is that a tactic you really want to be considering. I reckon you're courting doom if that's your plan.
Interested to get thoughts on that.
Having Pies, GC, Carlton and Adelaide with the same bye is a nightmare in the mids.

I see a lot of teams here with the 4 super premo's then Fyfe in the mids. This is what I'm doing as well.
What I have seen is a lot of those teams have their 4 super premos with the same bye week. Are we just ignoring that or haven't spotted it. I've got 3, Swan, Ablett & Pendles and that causing stress.
Yes, you can make the trades at the time and bring them back, but is that a tactic you really want to be considering. I reckon you're courting doom if that's your plan.
Having Pies, GC, Carlton and Adelaide with the same bye is a nightmare in the mids.
Personally in regards to the bye week, I'm looking to try and have two backs each for each bye round (presumably at a premium level), three midfielders for each of weeks 12 and 13 and two for round 11 (again, all premium), the rucks will largely depend on who's available and who I can get at the time, and the forwards are the same as the backs. The benches will obviously have rookies in there, so they will largely depend on which ones are actually getting games and how all of the trades go, however I will definitely be looking to have a ruckman who will have the bye week which neither of the first two have who will definitely play. My starting lineup is already roughly setup like this, with just a couple of sideways trades maybe needed, however I'm starting with all three of Swan, Ablett, and Pendlebury as my week 13 mids who I will keep (hopefully) for the entire year, maybe trading out one or two for that week 13 round.

Of course, this is also assuming everything works out perfectly, and there's never any guarantee of that.

Ok, after lots and lots of tinkering I have narrowed it down to two options. It all hinges on if I value Fyfe over Moloney and if Swan is worth grabbing first off. I'm going for a league win as well not overall.

OPTION 1:

DEF: Goddard, Gibbs, Heppell, Armstrong, Goodes, Stevenson (Terlich, Docherty)
MID: Swan, Ablett, Watson, Cotchin, Fyfe, Wines, O'Meara, Viney (Crouch, Mitchell)
RUC: Jacobs, Luey (Currie, Rowe)
FWD: Buddy, Cox, Bartel, Rockliff, PattyK, Macaffer (Lee, B Kennedy)

$15K left

OPTION 2:

DEF: Same
MID: Ablett, Pendles, Watson, Cotchin, Moloney, same rookies
RUC: Roughy, Luey, (Currie, Rowe)
FWD: Zorko in for Patty K - rest the same

$11.5K left

Ahhh sorry mate.
Should I get cox into my forward line? Thinking my spare cash could be used to upgrade martin to cox
Is heppell a risk with goddard down there now? think ill keep the combo they will prob work well together
Should I upgrade luenberger? If he plays first couple of rounds id like to keep him for the extra $$$
should suban be upgraded to another mid? IMO another big potential money earner if reports are right but with my spare cash is there someone else that is better.
Any thoughts/ help would be much appreciated cheers

cox - go with the gut.
I have Heppell...the bombers seem to be happy to chip move the ball around in the NAB's plenty of +6's on offer... which opens up the Stanton conundrum.
burger isn't likely for round one now...so you'll have to do something
Suban is a tough one, heavily backed for more midfield time but he just doesn't seem to play a DT friendly style and more negating than playing a link up give and get style.
having spare cash is not a big requirement for me... i'll try and spend every penny i can...with that said i will try to have a bail out for each position on my ground should they go pear shaped...
good luck!

for me the bye's arent as important because the make up of the team will be 20 odd trades different by round 11, i do have an idea of what i want my team to look like when the byes hit, so i am wary of them but not focused on them.

Fair enough, but the premo mids you choose, you're choosing for the whole year aren't you. The 1 week sideways trade worries me.

I have no issue sideways trading super premo's and intend to do it quite often this year at appropriate times...
for example there is no way i'll be heading into round 9 without Stevie J...
Cats have a run of Power, Suns, Giants, and then the bye in round 12... he is a renown for beating up on the lesser ranked teams and I expect he'll plunder the points in this little period.

I have no issue sideways trading super premo's and intend to do it quite often this year at appropriate times...
for example there is no way i'll be heading into round 9 without Stevie J...
Cats have a run of Power, Suns, Giants, and then the bye in round 12... he is a renown for beating up on the lesser ranked teams and I expect he'll plunder the points in this little period.
As my team currently stands, I have a 11/9/10 split for my byes. The only area of concern is that my three top midfielders are on a bye in week 13. That shouldn't be too difficult to navigate around given many options will be available in a rental arrangement.

People need to keep in mind that trades and team composition should be viewed as a season long investment, not an emotional fire sale based on weekly scores. The fact that there are two trades per week for the season should be viewed even more strategically than with limited trades. I liken it to an unlimited credit card for some people.

It's an interesting problem. I sat down last year and put a hell of a lot of thought into the bye planning. I'd worked out who I needed to have on field, who would be missing and who I could bring in each week.

And I tried to stick to it. But then Swan was out, then Waters, then someone else. So I swapped Swan to Stanton, only for Stanton to plummet and Swan to come back early... And I couldn't bring in Zorko 'cause he had the same bye as another guy and by the time I'd waded through the carnage of the bye weeks, Zorko was 400K, I'd missed the boat and my entire side was a shambles...

You can plan too much if you don't look at the bigger picture. I'll start looking at it a few weeks into the year and see who is playing well and then make plans about a month out. If you time it right, you can make some money with strategic trades around this time too.

I hope to have a few more premium midfielders by the bye rounds, so if I have a week where I have both of Swan and Ablett on the bench, I'm sure I'll get by.

As to the above mentioned strategies through the by periods, if you are going for a league win, not an overall ranking, then could you look at it as you can do what you can but not bother too much about trying to waste your time to get by? would there be more value in ensuring that other than those 3 rounds your team is tip top?

I just keep tinkering …… thoughts are appreciated :-

Def: B.Goddard, B.Gibbs, D.Heppell, N Vlastuin, B.Goodes , L.Stevenson [Docherty, D.Terlich]
Mid: SWAN © G.Ablett, Boyd T.Cotchin, N.Fyfe, O.Wines, K.Mitchell, J.O’Meara [B Crouch, Colquhoun]
Ruck: D.Cox, M.Leuenberger [D.Currie, M.Daw]
Fwd: T.Rockliff, M Robinson, J Roughead, D.Martin, J Kennedy, P.Karnezis, [B.Macaffer, S Rowe]
18.6k left

Only 9k left.

Teams 2013 Rate my Dream Team