Teams 2013 Rate my SuperCoach Team

IMO I would downgrade Ellis to a rookie(egDocherty,Stevenson,Pittard) and trade out 1or even2 of Rich,Maloney,Varco just think so many good rookies in the mids(wines,Mitchell,Stevens etc) then u might be able to get Ablett in which I think is a must.also not sure if Vardy will be ready for rnd 1 hope it helps

Here is my side reasonably happy though worried about leuenberger in the rcks any advice would be greatly appreciated!!!

BACKS- Goddard,H Shaw Gibbs Hartlett Goddes Docherty Stevenson Terlich

MIDS- Ablett Swan Watson Cotchin Heppell Wines Crouch O'mera K Mitchell Viney

RUCKS- Mummford Leuenberger Currie Witts

FWDS- Franklin Rockliff Breust LeCras Varco Mayes Macaffer Lee
Have taken a bit of a punt on Heppell and Breust looking for more mid time and a breakout year but any advice would be great cheers!!!!

if you are going to have Heppell, have him as a backmen, not a midfielder. Get rid of Hartlett and put Heppell down back. Then if you replace Heppell as a mid with say Viney, you have $300k to use. Use this upgrading Luey as he probably wont be ready for round 1.

IMO I would downgrade Ellis to a rookie(egDocherty,Stevenson,Pittard) and trade out 1or even2 of Rich,Maloney,Varco just think so many good rookies in the mids(wines,Mitchell,Stevens etc) then u might be able to get Ablett in which I think is a must.also not sure if Vardy will be ready for rnd 1 hope it helps

Here is my side reasonably happy though worried about leuenberger in the rcks any advice would be greatly appreciated!!!

BACKS- Goddard,H Shaw Gibbs Hartlett Goddes Docherty Stevenson Terlich

MIDS- Ablett Swan Watson Cotchin Heppell Wines Crouch O'mera K Mitchell Viney

RUCKS- Mummford Leuenberger Currie Witts

FWDS- Franklin Rockliff Breust LeCras Varco Mayes Macaffer Lee
Have taken a bit of a punt on Heppell and Breust looking for more mid time and a breakout year but any advice would be great cheers!!!!

get rid of looney burger and get back to the site - he wont play rd 1

supercoach.PNG

trying something different this year, with exra trades hoping some premiums drop in price, and can then be picked up lately. most of these players are with very little research and just feelings on where they are with their footy, new coach, position etc. any advice would be good. cheers.

spent all day re structuring my side due to leunberger which could be a blessing in disguise because I never wanted him haha.

Goddard waters duffield Vlastuin goodes docherty (Stevenson colquhon)
Ablett pendles Watson dangerfield Murphy Mitchell jaeger crouch (viney Kent)
Cox Ryder (currie daw)
Buddy rockliff Martin cloke spanger Neade (Rowe lee)

*changes from last side
Out swan berger Currie (to bench)
In ryder cloke crouch (cox to fwds)

Tossing up between broughton/cloke
Any thoughts and suggestions will be greatly appreciated and taken on board on the team overall

View attachment 13199

trying something different this year, with exra trades hoping some premiums drop in price, and can then be picked up lately. most of these players are with very little research and just feelings on where they are with their footy, new coach, position etc. any advice would be good. cheers.

The dilemma that you may face with waiting for an elite to drop in price, is that when they do, would you pick them over a premium player that is running in to form? Dusty Martin was over 500k at the start of last season, dropped in price, but never returned. A couple of years ago Goodes went from the 600's down to the low 400's because of prolonged poor form... At what point do you pull the pin to distinguish between a bad stretch of games and a bad season. Of course, Goodes is more of your consumate professional and was always going to pull himself out of that slump (I find it hard to praise a Sydney player, being a Hawks fan, but when it's warranted...). Can you make that call if Jobe Watson dropped early? Maybe it's coz he's not on the peptides anymore so he won't perform as well. Scott Thompson (ADE)? Could be that he's getting old... Swan? Maybe the issues between Swan's management and Eddie/Pert are taking a toll... Buddy? Contract talks, hung over Cloke all year last season.

So when you have a premium player drop in price, how are you going to make a call that the slump will not continue?

Not sure Coloquen will play a lot early. Bit thin I hear. If named rd one, him and neade will toss for the vest I think mate.:)

Colq could always magically become someone like Stevenson or Staker, or move Broughton to the back and Neade up forward... few options there, but cheers

View attachment 13199

Also you have no cover for either of your rucks. I think you can safely assume Leuenberger will not play every round, and he's more at risk of only playing a couple of games of the first 4-5 rounds. He's also a high red-vest risk. Rowe and Daw are favoured to be in the VFL (especially Rowe, you'd only have him as a DPP link... but you have no Ruck/Fwds in your forward line to complete that link). Someone like Sinclair has a higher chance to play in the early rounds whilst NNN is out (assuming he is out for a few weeks, Woosha playing funny buggers by stating he'll be 'pencilled in' for round 1) then Sinclair just becomes your DPP link up player.

Unfortunately i think we're between phases where we have rookie priced rucks coming in and being the #1 ruck (Giles, and before him ZSmith). So now if we want back up for our rucks to be on the bench, we'd have to pay a significant price. I think the cheapest BACK UPS that could still post a worthwhile score would be Leuenberger and ZSmith, but it's a lot of money to have on the bench, hence why most teams will be running at least 1 ruck in the forward line and 1 DPP rookie (making the R4 position essentially reduntant)

Also you have no cover for either of your rucks. I think you can safely assume Leuenberger will not play every round, and he's more at risk of only playing a couple of games of the first 4-5 rounds. He's also a high red-vest risk. Rowe and Daw are favoured to be in the VFL (especially Rowe, you'd only have him as a DPP link... but you have no Ruck/Fwds in your forward line to complete that link). Someone like Sinclair has a higher chance to play in the early rounds whilst NNN is out (assuming he is out for a few weeks, Woosha playing funny buggers by stating he'll be 'pencilled in' for round 1) then Sinclair just becomes your DPP link up player.

Sinclair has zero chance of playing IMO - Lycett gets games before him, a 30% Nicnat is better than Sinclair - sinclair as u mentioned is only in teams for 2 reasons
1) DPP with fwd line
2) exploit VC / Capt loophole

Daw by all accounts on the kangas board is more likely to play than Currie in rd 1 - Currie being the same style as Goldstein (about as mobile as an elephant with chronic arthritis compared to Majak) .
Although that is according to the Kangas board

Cheers guys have traded out Hartlett and moved Heppell to the back line and brought in KStevens and Cox thanks for the advice

good job - altho i reckon you can save even more cash - getting a rookie who'll score about the same instead of koby, but needless to say ruck security has been obtained

spent all day re structuring my side due to leunberger which could be a blessing in disguise because I never wanted him haha.

Goddard waters duffield Vlastuin goodes docherty (Stevenson colquhon)
Ablett pendles Watson dangerfield Murphy Mitchell jaeger crouch (viney Kent)
Cox Ryder (currie daw)
Buddy rockliff Martin cloke spanger Neade (Rowe lee)

*changes from last side
Out swan berger Currie (to bench)
In ryder cloke crouch (cox to fwds)

Tossing up between broughton/cloke
Any thoughts and suggestions will be greatly appreciated and taken on board on the team overall

I would expect Buddy to start the year slow since we have the hardest possible first 7 rounds. Similar to last season, his form was patchy. Wait for round 8 then pounce.

I would not be able to trust Cloke, i'll leave that to you guys. If Q plays out of the square and Cloke stays further out, that might work, but Cloke can't kick a goal from 30 out, Q is far more consistent there. Nor could I trust Martin, shown no signs that he has put his off field distractions behind him.

Cox and Ryder are locks for me, absolutely. I was contemplating the Daw/Currie combo just to hedge my bets, but there's a decent chance that neither will play, and if one of them does, it's almost a sure thing that they will get one of the vests (either green or red). Roos could just stick with Goldy and Petrie, they did for most of the time when Hamish was injured. So even if they play, i can't see them getting more than 30-40 ppg so their small price rise won't be worth using the trade to cash in on maybe a 40k price rise.

Thoughts on teams guys??? Looks like Currie will play off the bat so will start with him then once Staker is fit again rotate cox into the Rucks.

Attachments

• Untitled.png
    Untitled.png
    145.4 KB · Views: 74

Sinclair has zero chance of playing IMO - Lycett gets games before him, a 30% Nicnat is better than Sinclair - sinclair as u mentioned is only in teams for 2 reasons
1) DPP with fwd line
2) exploit VC / Capt loophole

Yep, a 30% NNN is definitely better than Sinclair and Lycett, but they won't play a 30% NNN, shame we can't pick Lycett in the Ruck spot.

Using someone as a VC/C loophole is definitely worth using, it's why i've gone with Naismith from Sydney in the R4 position, he will be my loophole player =)

Thoughts on teams guys??? Looks like Currie will play off the bat so will start with him then once Staker is fit again rotate cox into the Rucks.

What score can you seriously expect Currie to get? Especially since he's likely to get the red vest if someone else doesn't get injured.

Essentially, you have to toss up between having a rookie in the midfield and a premium ruck, versus having a rookie in the ruck and a premium midfielder. The 2 premiums cancel each other out because you would expect a 550k mid = 550k ruck (roughly)... So which rookie will score more? A ruck that isn't the #1 designated ruckman or the midfield rookie? I think someone like Koby Stevens will have Currie covered in all areas (security, score, projected price rise).

Currie is a short term starter until Staker is fit to take his spot in the starting 22, Once he is fit Cox will move to the rucks and Currie to the bench.

I think daw will get games early, as a ruck/forward, and currie will only play after goldy has been given an extended run and failed.. will keep track coming into round 1. as u mentioned not much in between, and dont want large cash players sitting on the bench.
the theory behind waiting for premiums to drop, is that they need to start at a high high level to maintain the high prices. their break evens a quite high, so whilst they may drop in price they can still be averaging a solid score. eg abletts 2012 average of 138.4, if he averages 120 he still drops in price

The dilemma that you may face with waiting for an elite to drop in price, is that when they do, would you pick them over a premium player that is running in to form? Dusty Martin was over 500k at the start of last season, dropped in price, but never returned. A couple of years ago Goodes went from the 600's down to the low 400's because of prolonged poor form... At what point do you pull the pin to distinguish between a bad stretch of games and a bad season. Of course, Goodes is more of your consumate professional and was always going to pull himself out of that slump (I find it hard to praise a Sydney player, being a Hawks fan, but when it's warranted...). Can you make that call if Jobe Watson dropped early? Maybe it's coz he's not on the peptides anymore so he won't perform as well. Scott Thompson (ADE)? Could be that he's getting old... Swan? Maybe the issues between Swan's management and Eddie/Pert are taking a toll... Buddy? Contract talks, hung over Cloke all year last season.

So when you have a premium player drop in price, how are you going to make a call that the slump will not continue?

Break evens.

I would not be able to trust Cloke, i'll leave that to you guys. If Q plays out of the square and Cloke stays further out, that might work, but Cloke can't kick a goal from 30 out, Q is far more consistent there. Nor could I trust Martin, shown no signs that he has put his off field distractions behind him.
I think Q-stick will play CHF replacing the spud Dawes. Cloke is better suited in close to the goals where he will win a heap of 1 outs when they bomb it in long.
I'd like a Pie supporter to confirm or deny this. Cheers

Break evens.

If you play the breakevens game, it's only very short term, yeah someone is going to have a BE in the 200's and they'll drop 60-70k over the course of 2 weeks... But is that worth using a trade to get the extra 60-70k? (In the past it was a definite no, now that we have 30 trades, it's entirely possible i guess)

scv251232.png

Interested to get your thoughts on the 4 starting rookie mids.

Solid. I'd think about losing daniher and keeping 40K in the bank. Unlikely he's going to be popping up anytime soon after missing all of the nab cup.

Yeah, maybe I was getting carried away with his big performance in the intra-club. Who else is there? Lee?

B: Goddard, Gibbs, Duffield, Houli, Goodes, Terlich (Docherty, Stevenson)
M: Ablett, Pendlebury, Dangerfield, J.Selwood, Shuey, K.Stevens, Crouch, O'Meara (Viney, Colquhoun)
R: Jacobs, Bellchambers (Daw, Currie)
F: Franklin, Rockliff, Wright, LeCras, Macaffer, Neade (Kerridge, B.Kennedy)

I am considering taking Shuey out for Moloney and then taking Varcoe in the forward line. Thoughts?