2013 Tasmanian Draft Prospects

I don't watch Sheed, Taylor or Salem play. I focus only on the Tasmanians. I am basing my rankings purely on Eli's attributes and skills, and not on a comparison with other players that will be drafted at the same time. So I am not really saying that Eli is better than one player or another, but statistically, someone with Eli's ability will be in the top 15 players from any given draft.

That approach has worked for me in the past, because I get to watch a limited set of players closely, and don't get caught up in all the hype surrounding any of the top 20 players. All I can say is Eli has lots of potential and would not be a wasted pick if taken in the 5-15 range imo (although in reality, I imagine he could be gotten a fair bit cheaper). Of course, it is not an exact science and I could be wrong, but Eli is already more skilful than most AFL players, he just needs a bit of extra muscle and an injury free run and he is ready to go.

I can see what your saying , although I find it rather ambit to say 5-15 on talent when you don't know the other players. I will be watching to see where ends up going , of course star performance at the Combine will have an affect as well.

I can see what your saying , although I find it rather ambit to say 5-15 on talent when you don't know the other players.

I think my method is as good as any. I see Eli Templeton, I see he has elite attributes that could see him develop into at least a top 50 player at AFL level. I know that statistically drafts only contain maybe 20 players at most who reach that level, therefore I give him a range based on that. I don't need to know anything about Sheed or any other individual player to arrive at that conclusion, I just need to know about Eli's potential and how that fits in at AFL level. It is stastically unlikely that there are more than fifteen players that will end up better than how I judge Eli to be in five to ten year's time.

Therefore, I don't really need to know the other players, I just need to know how frequently players as good as Eli come along.

Also, it is not as though most phantom drafters out there have any great knowledge of more than a handful of players from the draft anyway. It is too hard as an amatuer to carefully watch all draftees, and then be able to form a valid opinion of where they rate compared to others. It is pretty obvious from reading the phantom drafts that no PDer around here has detailed knowledge of every single kid available - although some like Chris25 do seem to have a pretty good idea of most of the talent. I only watch the Tasmanians, and even I don't have all that great an idea about a player like Brady Grey, for example. So how is Knightmare supposed to? Do you really think he analyses twenty hours or so of game play footage for each potential draftee? Nah, this whole enterprise can be taken with a grain of salt, it is just guessing, but some have more educated guesses than others. ;)

Tomorrow's qualifying final between Burnie and Launceston has been moved to Aurora, good chance to watch Kade and Jake Kolodjashnij, Eli Templeton and Brady Grey press their claims.
Jake and Brady been pressing hard all year. Burnie mainly playing Eli out on the wings. Hope they give him more midfield time during the finals.

BURNIE v. LAUNCESTON

Launceston 5.2, 9.6, 10.10, 13.16 (94)
Burnie 2.1, 5.5, 9.6, 14.9 (93)

GOALS
Launceston: B. Savage 5, S. Whiting 3, J. Kolodjashnij 2, J. Krushka 1, J. Boyce 1, R. Sergeant 1
Burnie: R. Robertson 3, R. Baldock 2, L. Shackleton 2, B. Hayes 2, H. Walters 2, B. Grey 1, E. Templeton 1, J. Laycock 1

BEST
Launceston: K. Kolodjashnij, N. O'Donoghue, J. Kolodjashnij, S. Stephens, K. McCabe, J. Woolley
Burnie: E. Templeton, B. Grey, L. Shackleton, R. Barrett, D. Banham, C. Riley

Was at the game. All four mariner boys went well, Kade especially with 35 disposals. Disagree with Jake playing average thought he was impressive, so was Eli, and Brady got a fair bit of the ball. Have been watching JK since he game back into the side. He has not been down back at all, has been playing CHF and going well considering he has never played there. Has been getting in best players most weeks and is impressive. Was great to see all four have a good game on Saturday!

Agree with your thoughts on Jake, CD. Been to a few games and has been been impressive in all of them. Quite certain he will be drafted.

Zac Webster named in the Tassie medal top 30. Good effort. He is so consistent in the TSL.

anyone go to the game yesterday? i see jake got BOG for launceston, did it all click for him with rebound + defence in the same game? also any thoughts on his brother and Templeton's game?

Jake K was outstanding both defensively and offensively. He rucked and defended against Laycock when G Savage went off injured and he was inspirational in the third quarter comeback. Kade had 37 disposals and toiled all game, he was burnt a few times too. Kade set up a couple of goals and kicked one himself. Eli had some flashy moments of play and Brady Grey went well, he was hard at it and speedy. I think all four deserve to be drafted.

I think all four deserve to be drafted.
I reckon there is a very strong chance that will happen. Jake and Kade will go for sure, no doubt in my mind.

Brady was awesome today. Was arguably Burnie's best, did some outstanding things. A performance like that in a GF will get recruiters taking notice. Made a few very excting runs and kicked a couple of goals in the first half. His presure was outstanding all day. Be interesting to see how he tests at the camp.

Eli still doesn't look right to me. Left shoulder still bandaged, playing purely outside. Got more actual game time today, cause they rested him forward a little, but I'd say he is definitely not 100%. Still layed loads of tackles, but just didn't have clean hands below his knees today and wasn't used muchon the spread.

I reckon there is a very strong chance that will happen. Jake and Kade will go for sure, no doubt in my mind.

Brady was awesome today. Was arguably Burnie's best, did some outstanding things. A performance like that in a GF will get recruiters taking notice. Made a few very excting runs and kicked a couple of goals in the first half. His presure was outstanding all day. Be interesting to see how he tests at the camp.

Eli still doesn't look right to me. Left shoulder still bandaged, playing purely outside. Got more actual game time today, cause they rested him forward a little, but I'd say he is definitely not 100%. Still layed loads of tackles, but just didn't have clean hands below his knees today and wasn't used muchon the spread.
Hey TM I agree with your comments about today's Grand Final. Thought Brady Grey was outstanding!! Eli was being tagged, but I did think he was a little sluggish at times and has played better. Not sure what's going on with him.

Looking forward to seeing how the Tassie boys test now! I hope we will be able to see the results on the AFL website!

Hey TM I agree with your comments about today's Grand Final. Thought Brady Grey was outstanding!! Eli was being tagged, but I did think he was a little sluggish at times and has played better. Not sure what's going on with him.

Looking forward to seeing how the Tassie boys test now! I hope we will be able to see the results on the AFL website!
Yep can't wait. I am pretty excited about our prospects this year. Should have at least five go through in my opinion.

This is my Pre-Combine rankings based off what I have seen so far and where I think they will actually go in the draft:

1. Kade Kolodjashnij - 10-20

Fairly complete player similar to how I rated Jackson Thurlow last year. Likened to Grant Birchall for his run off half back, but I think he plays a bit more like a Bryce Gibbs. Has more agility than Birchall, and is more capable of playing through the midfield and up forward, but not as strong defensively as Birchall.

2. Eli Templeton 30-40

Will probably slip down the draft order due to injury concerns. Had a terrific champions coming off a shoulder injury, but has not seemed right since in the TSL. I still believe he has the potential to be the best of this Tassie group. Looks a lot better than everyone else when at his best, but concerns about his body will probably see him slip to second round contention unless he can have a big combine.

3. Jake Kolodjashnij 40

Very versatile and in terrific form all year, both in the champs and at TSL level. Best suited as a third tall defender, more like Grant Birchall than Kade, but without the elite left foot. Still, his kicking skills are servicable and he can provide good rebound from defence or play as a running forward. Should be gone by pick 40.

4. Toby Nankervis 40

Hard to split him and Jake in terms of who will go first. Plays a bit like Bellchambers, but not quite as athletic.

5. Zac Webster 45

Absolute star at the TSL level finishing top 20 in the Tassie medal, despite missing games due to champs. Very hard at the ball, and has good kicking skills and can be dangerous in the forward half.

6. Brady Grey 55

Will probably get picked up late due to his upside. Always goes hard at the ball, good evasive skills, clean below the knees, and dangerous around goal. Two stand out games in particular at TSL level will have peaked recruiters interest. A seven goal game earlier in the year was an outstanding effort for a 17 year old, but it was his performance in the TSL grand final that will have recruiters taking notice. Thnk Zac has the runs on the board, but Brady is not far behind.

7. Alex Pearce Rookie

Good at TSL level after a servicable champs. His athleticism is what recruiters will be interested most in. All potential at this stage, would be a development pick. Needs a good combine to elevate his chances. Watch out for his endurance testing. Will be outstanding for his height.

That sucks. I was looking forward to seeing him play, apparently he is a good size and a better prospect than any of his brothers. Our team would look better with him and Lachie Weller in it.
Caleb underwent a shoulder reconstruction at the end of 2012 season, made his return to footy with Burnie Dockers Colts a few weeks ago and has played the last 3 or 4 games in the seniors. Dominated around the ground in the Dockers per final and yesterday's grand final. Hopefully he can stay for and injury free for next season.

Thurlow2Mackie

Don't think Thorp will get picked up? Won the Tassie medal, came 2nd (I think?) in the goalkicking and lead South to a premiership. I think he will definitely get given another chance

Caleb underwent a shoulder reconstruction at the end of 2012 season, made his return to footy with Burnie Dockers Colts a few weeks ago and has played the last 3 or 4 games in the seniors. Dominated around the ground in the Dockers per final and yesterday's grand final. Hopefully he can stay for and injury free for next season.
Yep, he was very good for Burnie during the final. Do you know if he is draft age this year or next? Haven't been able to find out.

Thurlow2Mackie

Don't think Thorp will get picked up? Won the Tassie medal, came 2nd (I think?) in the goalkicking and lead South to a premiership. I think he will definitely get given another chance
Yeah he is a very strong chance, but was focusing on the draft age guys. Should have said that, sorry. Ben Brown should also be included as possible matur age recruit, as well as Bart McCulloch as an outside chance.

2013 Tasmanian Draft Prospects