2013 Tasmanian Draft Prospects

Also sorry I am not bringing up the bigger names but Bailey from Clarence and McGuinness from Lauderdale have been instrumental to the back six for Tasmania and Both should be considered in the draft or in rookie draft as they are very sound in every aspect of the game.

Pearce was Devonport's best on the weekend in their loss to Burnie, with Grey and Templeton playing well for Burnie. Zac Webster named his team's best also. Zac in unbelievable form in the TSL this year.

Hey mate, Im a local Burnie Tasmanian. I was wondering if you knew the age of Rohan Balldock for the dockers. Playing very good footy lately

Been looking at draft prospects lately and Tasmania have an exceptional pool this year.

Really good luck to the apple isle in the draft later in the year guys. Would be so happy for a smaller footballing state to produce (potentially) a dozen national/pre season/rookie draft prospects. :thumbsu:

Anyone want to have a go at ranking the top 10 Tasmanian prospects for this year?

At the moment I'd go:

1. Kade Kolodjashnij
2. Eli Templeton
3. Zac Webster
4. Toby Nankervis
5. Brady Grey
6. Alex Pearce
7. Jake Kolodjashnij
8. Rohan Bones
9. Thor Boscott
10. Josh Fox

1-3 will most likely go. 4-8 rookie chances and Boscott, Fox, McGuiness etc are unlikely but you never know.

A record seven Tassie boys invited to the draft combine!! You Bewdy!!!
Just saw that. Incredible. Does show that we had depth this year, as predicted. Really solidline up. The guys that were slected were:

TASMANIA
Brady Grey, Burnie Dockers
Kade Kolodjashnij, Launceston
Jake Kolodjashnij, Launceston
Toby Nankervis, North Launceston
Alex Pearce, Devonport
Eli Templeton, Burnie Dockers
Zac Webster, Glenorchy

Great to see Grey get selected, really deserves it.

At the moment I'd go:

1. Kade Kolodjashnij
2. Eli Templeton
3. Zac Webster
4. Toby Nankervis
5. Brady Grey
6. Alex Pearce
7. Jake Kolodjashnij
8. Rohan Bones
9. Thor Boscott
10. Josh Fox

1-3 will most likely go. 4-8 rookie chances and Boscott, Fox, McGuiness etc are unlikely but you never know.
I am pretty confident of JK's chances, reckon he will go. I think we are set to have five go all up. KK, Templeton, and Nankervis are all pretty certain to be drafted. KK, Pearce, Grey, and Webster are strong chances, but would be a little surprised if all four go. Then you have outside chances like Boscott, Smith, and Brown (he still counts) who are unlikely, but not beyond the realms of possibility.

Five would be an oustanding result and is a fairly strong possibility.

I am pretty confident of JK's chances, reckon he will go. I think we are set to have five go all up. KK, Templeton, and Nankervis are all pretty certain to be drafted. KK, Pearce, Grey, and Webster are strong chances, but would be a little surprised if all four go. Then you have outside chances like Boscott, Smith, and Brown (he still counts) who are unlikely, but not beyond the realms of possibility.

Five would be an oustanding result and is a fairly strong possibility.

Will you count Mitch Thorp?

He looks a certainty to be picked up.

I'll have a go at guessing where I think the Tasmanian draft level guys should go, but not necessarily where they will go :D

Eli Templeton: 5-15 (Prob won't go this high, but down the track if he stays injury free he will be rated in the top 5-15 players of this draft. Has no deficiency in his game, will be better than most players from this draft who are currently rated higher than him)
Kade Kolodjashnij: 10-25 (Will be a solid player at the highest level. Could even be a future AA, but will need to keep improving to make a big impact in the AFL)
Toby Nankervis: 25-50 (Highly doubt he'll go as high as 25, but is a very promising ruck prospect in a shallow ruck pool. Should have a solid AFL career)
Jake Kolodjashnij 30-50 (Still a bit raw, but his 2013 form has been outstanding. Along with Templeton, he was unlucky to miss out on AA selection. Could be one of the better tall defenders of this year's draft)
Zac Webster: 35-45 (Haven't lost too much faith in him due to his quiet start to the combine. He finished strong, and is still dominating the TSL. Could be molded into a very solid role player at AFL level)
Alex Pearce: 40-rookie (Loads of potential, but very raw. Great TSL form though all year. Could be anything, but hasn't quite shown enough to be taken higher than 40-60. Development pick)
Brady Grey: 45-rookie (Has X-factor. Will need a strong combine to really shoot up the draft order. Along with Pearce, has the potential to be a smokey come the draft)

Ben Brown, Mitch Thorpe, and Bart McCulloch are all mature agers who have a reasonable shot as well.

Not too happy with KadeK T2M? I reckon he could go at about 7 or 8 on draft day but Templeton is probably slightly more talented as you mentioned. On Eli's weakness, I would say that strength and power right now has to be his weakness, very lightly built.

I am happy with KK. Extremely happy. I do like Templeton better though, having very closely watched both play. Top 10 is not out of the question for KK though.

Templeton is by far the most skillful Tassie player I have seen since I have been watching draft prospects (which hasn't been very long). His endurance and work rate is enormous, and seems to have an excellent attitude. I don't buy that his light frame is a weakness. His tackling intensity is very good and he doesn't get moved off the ball very easily. Won't take him long to add some muscle, and his outside game is good enough to warrant him playing an outside role before he is fully developed anyway. He won't get drafted as early as I have put him, but anyone taking Eli Templeton after pick 15 can consider themselves to be getting a bargain imo.

Yeah I have Templeton at around that 20-25 mark in my mock draft as I see the talent but I think that with Tasmanians the lower quality of opposition helps a lot. I would be pretty happy if the Saints went with Templeton with their second pick but I think he'll be better off at a Geelong or Sydney where the development is top notch.

I don't think the lower quality opposition even matters. You can see the talent with certain players, and Eli has it. But even still, his best game of the carnival came against Vic Country. He played an incredible game back from injury against Eastern Ranges as well, where he was arguably best afield in a heavy defeat. He looked a lot better than everyone out there, with the exception of Boyd.

T2M , you rate Eli T high. 5-15 ? I really have not seen him so can you compare him to a few others around that mark like Sheed or Taylor or even Salem.
I don't watch Sheed, Taylor or Salem play. I focus only on the Tasmanians. I am basing my rankings purely on Eli's attributes and skills, and not on a comparison with other players that will be drafted at the same time. So I am not really saying that Eli is better than one player or another, but statistically, someone with Eli's ability will be in the top 15 players from any given draft.

That approach has worked for me in the past, because I get to watch a limited set of players closely, and don't get caught up in all the hype surrounding any of the top 20 players. All I can say is Eli has lots of potential and would not be a wasted pick if taken in the 5-15 range imo (although in reality, I imagine he could be gotten a fair bit cheaper). Of course, it is not an exact science and I could be wrong, but Eli is already more skilful than most AFL players, he just needs a bit of extra muscle and an injury free run and he is ready to go.

2013 Tasmanian Draft Prospects