Arctic Moneys - AM
Arcade Fire - Reflektor
Vampire Weekend - Modern Vampires of the City
Kanye West - Yeezus
Janelle Monae - Electric Lady
Daft Punk - Random Access Memories
Haim - Days Are Gone
Franz Ferdinands - Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Actions

looking forward to Aus day with the count down again, poolside with bbq and mates and of course most importantly, beers.

kbuck and thewitness with their lists hopefully to come again this year, see how close we get to predicting

looking forward to Aus day with the count down again, poolside with bbq and mates and of course most importantly, beers.

kbuck and thewitness with their lists hopefully to come again this year, see how close we get to predicting

I was thinking we could do a shared Spotify playlist if people were keen? Makes it easier to keep track?

EDIT: Of predictions I mean.

Just submitted by top 10 albums for Sunday:

10. Arcade Fire – Reflektor
9. Disclosure – Settle
8. Phoenix – Bankrupt
7. Queens of the Stone Age - …Like Clockwork
6. Jagwar Ma – Howlin
5. Foals – Holy Fire
4. Chvrches – The Bones of What You Believe
3. Vampire Weekend – Modern Vampires of The City
2. Arctic Monkeys – AM
1. Kanye West – Yeezus

In regards to Arctic Monkeys, is their popularity at an all-time high? They are probably my favourite band, and have certainly helped form my musical taste from my teens to early twenties. But over the years their hype has died down (the quality of their output has been outstandingly high) and I was surprised to see them announce a stadium tour for Australia next year. Having a look at the Hottest 100 Facebook post from Triple J last week, they seemed to be getting a lot of love on there as well. AM in my eyes is genius, but not the type of album that I would imagine making them universally popular, however it appears I might be wrong! Does that mean we can expect a couple of AM tracks to make the countdown? Or perhaps Do I wanna Know could be a Top 10/20 contender?

My top 10 albums of 2013

1. Push The Sky Away - Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds
2. AM - Arctic Monkeys
3. AMOK - Atoms for Peace
4. Random Access Memories - Daft Punk
5. Fuzz - Fuzz
6. Holy Fire - Foals
7. Settle - Disclosure
8. Retrograde - James Blake
9. Reflektor - Arcade Fire
10. Join The Dots - TOY

So this has kind of morphed into a top ten in general thread, so I'm going to chuck down my ten best gigs of the year...

Bloc Party at Festival Hall. Silent Alarm is amazing and everything else is insipid, uninspired, or just trashy. Whatever. Actually there's an album full of genuinely great songs scattered in their post-2006 discography, alas...

Seeing Bloc live was surreal. So sweaty. Sang my heart (of stoooone) out and knackered myself. I doubt I'll see them again considering how much they hate each other, but far out, seeing them actually feels like some kind of achievement.

Weezer at Sidney Myer Music Bowl. Up there with Bloc and Radiohead as the band I had to see. But like Radiohead, in fact even more so than Radiohead, I never thought I'd see them live. How they were talked into coming here is beyond me. And the notion of the Memories shows is still astounding. I was too drunk and too stoned to remember a few sections, which I regret, but I still have plenty of memories (the cymbal smashes to round out the first set; looking at my mate and saying "this is it. this is the last time we'll ever see 'em, this is apt" when the climax was coming in Only in Dreams) of the night. Weezer mean so much to me and to be able to say I actually saw them is something I'll never really comprehend. Awesome.

Wild Nothing at the Toff. I cared so much about Wild Nothing in the six months before this show. Nocturne was flogged by me; if I had it on vinyl, it'd be warped. I won't wank on about that album, but Paradise was as good live as I'd built it up to be. Pretentious, stagnant crowd and a venue with shit and expensive beers, though. At the same time, met a girl that night who gave me two evenings I'll always be happy I had. A gig I'll reminisce about a lot when I'm a bit older.

Japandroids at the Corner. I was just drenched by the end of this. Gasping for air and feeling sick after the show, such was the lack of oxygen, as well as sore legs the next morning... loved how into it they were. It's so endearing to see a band visibly excited and privileged to travel and play shows for people who care about their music. If it wasn't for seeing my favourite bands live this year, Japandroids churning out The House That Heaven Built would've been the best live thing I heard all year.

The Cribs at Ding Dong. Sweaty. Again. Recurring theme here. Even the fat prick with his overweight girlfriend who pushed me in the ribs during the chill pre-gig stand-around, and had a go when I gave 'em a look, couldn't really ruin it. I wish I told them to play Hey Scenesters when they put up a request for a "first album song." Also regret not talking to that girl I locked eyes and laughed with. If you're on Bigfooty, shoot me a message – as long as you're not an Eagles fan.

Ducktails at Polyester Records. Jaunting into the city on a beaming afternoon and watching two dudes play songs from one of my favourite albums of 2012, in a tiny little record store, was a nice arvo. Academy Avenue sounded as romantic as it does on record. Maybe even more.

The Wedding Present at Northcote Social Club. Gross pommy ex-pats in shorts everywhere, but this was great. Regret not seeing the George Best show and having my mate talk me into the Hit Parade one instead. Still, they covered the bases and played what I wanted. Tight and fast and lovingly, emotively performed. Gedgey even put up with my "Gareth Bale!" shout (he replied "who's that? An Aussie rules footballer?"). Shout out to the poms in the toilet afterwards giving me shit for being an Arsenal fan, too. I can still taste the cider and the tram ride home...

Toro Y Moi at the Corner. I actually felt a bit sick for this one after a questionable 'dinner' at the footy. Thankfully I'd seen him the year before at Laneway Perth. Still, the guy really jams those songs out and gives them something cerebral live. Good for pulling shapes.

James Blake at the Corner. Special. I'll never see him again and I don't want to. James Blake'll never play to a crowd this tiny again in Melbourne. I was on my phone a little too much, sorting out girl trouble lingering from the Bloc show a few days before, and no one danced to CMYK, but to experience this guy like this was something that has almost halted my listening patterns: those CDs don't feel as jet-lagged, intensive, and crafted as that show. Snuck in for free, too...

One of the many Stevens shows I saw this year. A band who I was vaguely into. I saw them support the Wedding Present at the Northy and I just got on the bandwagon. It feels special following a band around Melbourne's pubs. The scene in Melbs seems incestuous it's that conceited, but the Stevens feel a little more open: you always know you'll get about 35 songs in 45 minutes. Probably my favourite time seeing them was supporting the very good Sydneysiders, Day Ravies, at the Tote.

1. Kanye West - Yeezus
2. Arctic Monkeys - AM
3. Deerhunter - Monomania
4. Foxygen - We Are The 21st Century Ambassadors of Peace & Magic
5. Speedy Ortiz - Major Arcana
6. Daft Punk - Random Access Memories
7. Drones, The - I See Seaweed
8. Los Campesinos! - No Blues
9. Vampire Weekend - Modern Vampires Of The City
10. Jungle Giants, The - Learn To Exist

It's almost impossible for me to split the top 3 - and there's just no way I could have possible imagined that a Kanye album would be my AOTY at any stage of my life, but there you go. It's almost slightly changed my taste in music and that's a pretty big thing for a solitary album to do. AM is fantastic and I'm so glad I've seen the monkeys live now (and will do again in May).

I haven't had time to get into Reflektor yet, so maybe in a few months my list will change a bit. Sigur Ros, Atoms for Peace and MGMT were pretty close to getting in there, as well as the Smith Westerns.

The Drones is in there almost solely for Why Write a Letter That You'll Never Send - I don't think I've ever heard a better closer for an album. Perfection.

Interestingly 6 of my top 10 come from artists that I'd never heard a full LP from before (VW, AM, LC and Deerhunter are the exceptions). It's been a good year for music.

Ludicrous to think you'd never heard a full Kanye LP before. Nice list though. Did you manage to get standing tickets for AM? treefingers
He's not really my style so I'd just never got around to it. I've gone back and listened to MBDTF and really enjoyed it though.

Yeah I did - I'm seeing an Arctic Monkeys/ Tame Impala joint gig at Hyde Park in London. **** yeah

****ing tough getting a top 10 this year, currently got it down to a shortlist of 23.

Arcade Fire - Normal Person
Ben Pearce - What I Might Do
Cloud Control - Scar
Disclosure - F For You
Disclosure - Latch
The Drones - They'll Kill You
Haim - The Wire
Jagwar Ma - The Throw
Jagwar Ma - Let Her Go
James Blake - Retrograde
John Newman - Love Me Again
The Kite String Tangle - Given The Chance
Lorde - Tennis Court
Major Lazer - You're No Good
Miami Horror - Real Slow
The National - I Should Live In Salt
The National - Sea Of Love
Portugal The Man - Modern Jesus
Portugal The Man - Evil Friends
Robert DeLong - Global Concepts
St Lucia - Elevate
Unknown Mortal Orchestra - So Good At Being In Trouble
Vampire Weekend - Step

As for albums

Portugal The Man - Evil Friends
Disclosure - Settle
Jagwar Ma - Howlin'
James Blake - Overgrown
Vampire Weekend - Modern Vampires Of The City
Unknown Mortal Orchestra - II
The National - Trouble Will Find Me
The Drones - I Sea Seaweed
Arcade Fire - Reflektor
Arctic Monkeys - AM

I'm very keen for my boy Allday to get another spot this year? He'll be in my list, not aure which song yet

Otherwise I'll definitely be looking at songs from What So Not, Flume/Chet Faker, Chvrches etc

I mostly find my music from channels on youtube and I only listen to the J's with my girlfriend or in the car with mates so often I just trawl through the list of shortlisted songs and go "oh I didnt realise that song was played on triple j, I love that song, that's kn the shortlist"

Are the shortlists up yet?

Pitchfork's top three was:

Hannah Hunt. New Slaves. Hold On, We're Going Home.

All of those three really are. I'd chuck Do I Wanna Know in there too. Songs that were the zeitgeist; that'll be a signpost of the times, that soundtrack out-of-nowhere jams from cars and shops. Chuck in Get Lucky, Blurred Lines, and some Miley and you've pretty much hit 2013 in the way you want to look back on it. That's what year end's should be.

Are the shortlists up yet?

Voting opens Dec 20, so presumably the list will be up then too :)

Pitchfork's top three was:

Hannah Hunt. New Slaves. Hold On, We're Going Home.

All of those three really are. I'd chuck Do I Wanna Know in there too. Songs that were the zeitgeist; that'll be a signpost of the times, that soundtrack out-of-nowhere jams from cars and shops. Chuck in Get Lucky, Blurred Lines, and some Miley and you've pretty much hit 2013 in the way you want to look back on it. That's what year end's should be.

#24 Jai Paul - niceeee.
#14 Step; #11 Blood on the Leaves; #9 Dreamhouse. In fact the whole top 10 is excellent (maybe not Get Lucky :p Oh and don't think "Hold On..." is really #1 material, but oh well!)

Nice work Pitchfork.

2013 Triple J Hottest 100‏