Stazzaz

Oct 2, 2013
Hey guys, I thought it would be fun to see some AFL 2014 ladder predictions from everybody. I know it's going to be a bit difficult without the official fixtures out yet but we can still give it a go without them and when they do come out well us them to your advantage I guess.

Ok I'll go first, here goes nothing...

1. Fremantle
2. Sydney
3. Geelong
4. Hawthorn
5. North Melbourne
6. Richmond
7. Essendon
8. Port Adelaide
9. Collingwood
10. Carlton
11. WCE
12. Brisbane
13. Adelaide
14. Gold Coast
15. Western Bulldogs
16. St Kilda
17. Melbourne
18. GWS

1. Hawthorn
2. Fremantle
3. Sydney
4. Richmond
5. Carlton
6. Geelong
7. Port Adelaide
8. North Melbourne

9. Essendon
10. Collingwood
11. Adelaide
12. Brisbane Lions
13. West Coast
14. Western Bulldogs
15. Gold Coast
16. Melbourne
17. St Kilda
18. GWS

That's the best I can come up with at present, I suspect there will be a smokey ala Port Adelaide 2013 in 2014. And may even sneak into the top four.

Can I have an option of "All of the above" :D

Bit generous to North there I think, they've still got too many spuds to be a serious challenger.
Mmmm That's what I thought it was hard to put them that high but I couldn't see anyone going higher than them because I'm sure they will be practicing their defence now after losing the most close games this year after leading at 3 quarter time. So yeah I think they will work on that long and hard over the pre season and come out strong remember what they produced against Hawthorn and Geelong they payed really well but so did North and they beat Geelong I think and were unlucky not to just beat Hawks under a goal so yeah...

That's interesting, can I just ask you a few questions on Carlton and why you think they will im
1. Hawthorn
2. Fremantle
3. Sydney
4. Richmond
5. Carlton
6. Geelong
7. Port Adelaide
8. North Melbourne

9. Essendon
10. Collingwood
11. Adelaide
12. Brisbane Lions
13. West Coast
14. Western Bulldogs
15. Gold Coast
16. Melbourne
17. St Kilda
18. GWS

That's the best I can come up with at present, I suspect there will be a smokey ala Port Adelaide 2013 in 2014. And may even sneak into the top four.

prove dramatically? I understand why you put Saints where you did I was so close to doing it myself

Freo
North
Gold Coast

Port
Brisbane
Footscray
GWS

Freo
North
Gold Coast

Port
Brisbane
Footscray
GWS

That is very different but I'm not saying its wrong some people said port were going to finish dead last and WCE were gonna win the lot this year and how wrong were they lets just wait and see shall we...

It's not that different to your ladder. The main differences are that I have Gold Coast rising up the ladder quite quickly and I belive Adelaide will be much stronger with someone to kick to up forward. I also think Geelong will drop away a bit, just a gut feeling. And GWS will certainly be stronger next year. Saints will struggle though.

ladder guess

1. Sydney
2. Hawthorn
3. Richmond
4. Freo
5. North Melbourne
6. Essendon
7. Collingwood
8. Port Adelaide

9. Carlton
10. Geelong
11. West Coast
12. Adelaide
13. Gold Coast
14. Brisbane
15. Western Bulldogs
16. Melbourne
17. St Kilda
18. GWS

This is a lot harder than I thought - great thing that the competition is getting so much closer in the middle band of teams, you could throw a blanket between possies 4-12.
Richmond are my obvious bolter
Geelong my slider
I'm not sold on Port Adelaide, will have a much tougher run this year so likely carlton or west coast will replace them in the 8
Adelaide and gold coast are the 2 I'm expecting to surprise.

Finals will be super interesting next year and I reckon we'll see any team with a chance, could be the first year a team from the bottom end of the 8 gets through to the big show

1. Hawthorn
2. Fremantle
3. Sydney
4. Richmond
5. Carlton
6. Geelong
7. Port Adelaide
8. North Melbourne

9. Essendon
10. Collingwood
11. Adelaide
12. Brisbane Lions
13. West Coast
14. Western Bulldogs
15. Gold Coast
16. Melbourne
17. St Kilda
18. GWS

Looks about right...I don't want to see Richmond that high up though. Swap Richmond with Port.

Good Thread.

Very interesting to see the results in a years time.

1. Sydney
2. Freo
3. Hawthorn
4. Nth Melbourne
5. Richmond
6. Collingwood
7. Geelong
8. Carlton

9. Port
10. Eagles
11. Dope Fiends
12. Footscray
13. Ablett JR
14. Adelaide
15. Brisbane
16. GWS
17. Melbourne
18. Saints

That was fun but very difficult.

Good Thread.

1. Sydney
2. Freo
3. Hawthorn
4. Nth Melbourne
5. Richmond
6. Collingwood
7. Geelong
8. Carlton

9. Port
10. Eagles
11. Dope Fiends
12. Footscray
13. Ablett JR
14. Adelaide
15. Brisbane
16. GWS
17. Melbourne
18. Sants

That was fun but very difficult.
I like that one we have the same footy brain as each other lol

I think...
North my Riser.
Collingwood, Hawks and Carlton my slider.
It's funny because usually people think a lot of people will go heaps better but I'm thinking the opposite I think a lot of teams will plummet but don't even think for a second that I don't think anyone will improve because I think the major stand out for 2014 will be Brizzie I don't really know why its just my gut feeling I guess. I really wanted to place GCS a lot higher because I know people have gave them high expectations for next seasons but I just honestly couldn't see them getting top 8 sort of good.

Good Thread.

Good point, few people ever own up to their ladder predictions from 12 months earlier, because invariably they're too embarrassing. So in the spirit of open disclosure, here's my useless attempt to predict the 2013 ladder in Nov 2012. Geelong 10th, geez I got that one close :oops:

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/2013-ladder-predictions.979800/page-5#post-26335669

There, that should scare a few people off from posting in this thread

It definitely won't end up like this, but I'd be smiling on September 1, 2014 if...

1. Fremantle
2. Hawthorn
3. Port Adelaide
4. Geelong
5. Collingwood
6. Essendon
7. Western Bulldogs
8. Gold Coast
9. Richmond
10. Brisbane
11. Adelaide
12. Carlton
13. St Kilda
14. Sydney
15. West Coast
16. GWS
17. Melbourne
18. North Melbourne

It definitely won't end up like this, but I'd be smiling on September 1, 2014 if...

1. Fremantle
2. Hawthorn
3. Port Adelaide
4. Geelong
5. Collingwood
6. Essendon
7. Western Bulldogs
8. Gold Coast
9. Richmond
10. Brisbane
11. Adelaide
12. Carlton