2015 Ladder predictions

Your blues supporting mate is mostly right. Half my family are Carlton supporters and Xmas lunch is dominated by the same conversation, the poor state of the list.

I have Carlton bottom 6 and the reality is there is a lot of chaff on the blues list at present. List needs to be turned over big time.

Correct. Dude was spot on.

You're more generous than I, though. I can't see the Blues getting out of the bottom two next year. Nothing at all to like about their list.

Mate you are talking out your arse you really are.

No one likes to listen to a Blues support talk us up like were going to win the flag - its moronic - but equally moronic is just throwing your hands up and talking absolute SPUD. First class Idaho. Fried chips champ. Show some balance.

Lets get a few things straight.

For ten years now Carlton have pumped the ball inside 50 6/7 times in a row

You obviously didn't watch any football last year. No seriously - that was once true. We lost three games last year in devastating fashion - true - yet we went down to the best in the AFL 8 times by under a kick with an absolutely SHOCKING injury list and managed to beat some of the top teams.

So what the hell are you TALKING about ?

Hendo is not just OK - he was injured, and when he played he went ballistic kicked 6 goals in a single match. Are you on crack ?

Levi has kicking issues - no one has doubted that. No one. However he is probably amongst the best pack marks (top 5) in the AFL right now. Fix his kicking, which is happening if you bothered watching football, and you have an absolute weapon. Kicked 5 in one game.

Also not sure if watched any football (seems like you haven't) but Kreuzer didn't even play last year - does that escape you. WTF ? Have you seen him ? Have bothered to even go and have a look at the guy ? I was watching him in Coburg with the kids recently - mate you need to get your act together because you have no idea. He is a TOTALLY different body, totally different physique - and when he is fit he is one of the most influential players going around. Just absurd denigrating Kruzer. Like quite simply incredibly silly. People who place Kruzer as EITHER a ruck or a FORWARD fail to understand his ACTUAL role which is an on baller with one of the biggest tanks in the team who just runs all day, through anything, can clunk a great mark. Why was he playing so poorly ?

HE WAS PLAYING INJURED ! As was WALKER as was half the team - hence why 13 blokes went in for surgery.

Waite was not a big loss - I really hate to break this to you but you can not, you simply can NOT have a player in a team who holds such an intrinsic and important role who has played the least amount of football of any AFL player over the course of their AFL career. Yes - Waite.

His injuries and suspensions have placed him as the most irregular AFL player in his era. How happy are you going to be next season when Waite is injured for 3 months, comes back and gets suspended meanwhile Jones is kicking 3 goals a game ? Stupidity mate.

Our age profile ? Waite Scotland Mclean Duigan - plus 23 new players - I'm seriously not sure if you are taking the piss or you are talking about Everton and have your sports entirely confused.

You keep doing this and so does everyone on the Blues board. Not facing reality. No insight...talk around edges of things. I'm not talking about just last season above (you try and start cutting around edges saying last year only) ...i'm talking about a bunch of years, 10 years...i'm talking about those years that saw Judd waste his time at Carlton - he is now periphery. There were no KP talls for him to work with...no elite kickers in the side except 3/4 players. Forget all semantics...when watching football you just find the players that naturally stand up as the best...Judd stood up while at the blues. Which talls over the last ten or recent years has stood up as a great player for Carlton or great player within league. You need someone up fwd to give you an easy avenue to goal...you need someone in defence. You quote me your best KPP and I will quote you ten others better from other teams. And that it at the heart of the matter..we are trying to be better than those teams...not just say our KPP talls are better becaue they pull on a blues shirt.

Give me the KPP stars...or just give me 1-2 names from 2008 onwards???? That is when reality hits.

You belong only on the blues board.

A little more harsh than I would've been and believe me I've got no warmth towards the CFC, but a reasoned post nonetheless. I think Henderson is better than just ok, he's not a superstar but you only have 1 of him so he can't play both ends for you.

Jamison is a good player, if slightly undersized to go with the really big key fwds.

Casboult is limited (even if he kicked 5 against my mob), Watson too (he kicked 4 against los bombres, see a common theme here?).

Kreuzer's a classic tweener. At his size he needs to be quicker/more athletic (see Naitanui/Ryder) or a more forward/ruck style (like Hale).

Jaksch is just a kid but could be anything from delisted in 2-3 years to a star. I reckon it's probably somewhere in the middle.

Think next season will be a struggle for your lot and there's more pain to come but Menzel & Buckley look the goods. Just need some mates to go with them.

Jamison has had one good season and the rest in between with good/bad form. A lot derailed by injury to be honest. But you hit the nail on the head. He is outsized. I'm not personal in attacking him...i'm def personal on that deluded board. Jamison as a second def tall might have rated better. As a gorilla full back...just ok...won some contests against younger kids...lost against a lot of the gorillas...but not always. Someone say Jamison...i can say a lot more KPD defender names ahead of him during his career. Again, that is what it is about...are there more better defenders in the league than him...or worse. I think more better....that is the test. We're trying to win a flag when all said and done.

ODN is like many of the others on that board...they start with the position that he is a Blues player...then work from there. That means that all list players are good players as a minimum...and the ones that are actually good are rated elite. And the elite players are then rated best in the league. He will use any guise possible...but he starts from a compromised position...but...he will come back..say he is not... but ultimately, say Carlton are awesome.

1. Hawthorn
2. Port adelaide
3. Sydney
4. North melbourne
5. Fremantle
6. Geelong
7. Gold Coast
8. Adelaide

9. Richmond
10. Collingwood
11. West Coast
12. Brisbane
13. Essendon
14. Melbourne
15. GWS
16. Carlton
17. St. Kilda
18. Western Bulldogs

1. Sydney
2. Hawthorn
3. Port Adelaide
4. Fremantle
5. Geelong
6. Gold Coast
7. North Melbourne
8. Adelaide

9. Richmond
10. West Coast
11. Collingwood
12. Brisbane
13. Carlton
14. Western Bulldogs
15. Melbourne
16. GWS
17. St. Kilda
18. Essendon

1. Hawthorn
2. Port Adelaide
3. Sydney
4. Geelong
5. Fremantle
6. North Melbourne
7. Gold Coast
8. Collingwood

9. Richmond
10. West Coast
11. Adelaide
12. Brisbane
13. Essendon
14. Melbourne
15. GWS
16. Carlton
17. Western Bulldogs
18. St. Kilda

Not taking into account the biased fixturing etc etc. I'll just rank from best to worst

1. Hawthorn
2. Sydney
3. Port
4. Fremantle
5. North
6. Geelong
7. Adelaide
8. Richmond
9. Gold Coast
10. Brisbane
11. Essendon
12. Carlton
13. West Coast
14. Collingwood
15. GWS
16. Bulldogs
17. Melbourne
18. St Kilda

Not taking into account the biased fixturing etc etc. I'll just rank from best to worst

1. Hawthorn
2. Sydney
3. Port
4. Fremantle
5. North
6. Geelong
7. Adelaide
8. Richmond
9. Gold Coast
10. Brisbane
11. Essendon
12. Carlton
13. West Coast
14. Collingwood
15. GWS
16. Bulldogs
17. Melbourne
18. St Kilda

Swap West Coast with Brisbane and this is about what I'm thinking

Not one person has Essendon making the 8, yet the team that was lucky to beat us in a final and got embarrassed in a prelim is a top 4 contender. This thread is taking the piss.

Hmm you do realise half your team is about to get suspended right?

There is a long long way to go before that eventuates. In fact, there is a greater chances that it will not be the case based on the facts at hand. Let's judge the team on the merit of the list rather than the outside elements. Essendon definitely has the capabilities to be a top 6 team and can beat anyone when it all clicks. Ryder is a loss, but we have a more than solid replacement in TBC.

Not one person has Essendon making the 8, yet the team that was lucky to beat us in a final and got embarrassed in a prelim is a top 4 contender. This thread is taking the piss.

1. North made preliminary final which was a huge step for them and rightfully deserve being in people's top 4 predictions
2. Just because Essendon choke in finals you can't say "they were lucky to beat us"

1. North made preliminary final which was a huge step for them and rightfully deserve being in people's top 4 predictions
2. Just because Essendon choke in finals you can't say "they were lucky to beat us"

Well if you are saying Essendon "choked" then that would indicate North Melbourne were lucky to win wouldn't it?

1. Hawthorn (Still good enough haven't lost much and have gained Frawley)
2. Port Adelaide ( Good list lots of young guns still improving+ Ryder)
3. Sydney ( Cola Crew still there will be in trouble when all the contracts need renewing, the loss of malcheski hurts a lil)
4. North Melbourne (Good list topped up with free agents they must believe their window is open)
5. Fremantle (will start to drop KPP getting old with no new KPP talent emerging. Their window is just slightly ajar.)
6. Gold Coast (young list will continue to improve, if Gaza is fit they play finals)
7. Geelong (even the cats can't stay up top forever their stars are getting old and the loss of Christianson and Varcoe will hurt them
8. West Coast (Second year under Simpson should improve, have a good draw will flat track our way into the 8)
9. Richmond (Ninthmond nuff said, good list on paper but that unbeaten run covered up a few cracks )
10. Adelaide (new coach, new game plan will take time to adjust, lots of free agent attention )
11. Collingwood (that once great mid is fading some have left or retired and some are getting old plus they have Scott Burns as Mid coach (did wonders for us) don't know what you will get out of Trav Choke need a second tall forward.)
12. Brisbane( Traded well will have a great midfield all they are missing is a couple of decent KFP to add to there mosquito fleet)
13. Essendon (half the team could be banned, the loss of Bomber will hurt Hird will struggle without him, need a quality tall forward)
14. GWS ( list full of first round draft picks plus Griffin will bring much needed experience and leadership, should improve could finish higher.
15. Melbourne (some good young talent just need to develop them right this time will take time need to develop a more attacking side to their game)
16. Carlton ( where are the blues goals going to come from they keep getting rid of all their top goals scorers+ their gun players are getting older )
17. Western Bulldogs (young players show promise but the Dogs have lost a lot of Experience and class + the loss of their captain and a new coach they will be down the bottom for a while )
18. St. Kida ( they know where they are at they will continue developing and pumping games into the kids, will take time might cause one or two upsets (Prob Freo)).

Jamison has had one good season and the rest in between with good/bad form. A lot derailed by injury to be honest. But you hit the nail on the head. He is outsized. I'm not personal in attacking him...i'm def personal on that deluded board. Jamison as a second def tall might have rated better. As a gorilla full back...just ok...won some contests against younger kids...lost against a lot of the gorillas...but not always. Someone say Jamison...i can say a lot more KPD defender names ahead of him during his career. Again, that is what it is about...are there more better defenders in the league than him...or worse. I think more better....that is the test. We're trying to win a flag when all said and done.

ODN is like many of the others on that board...they start with the position that he is a Blues player...then work from there. That means that all list players are good players as a minimum...and the ones that are actually good are rated elite. And the elite players are then rated best in the league. He will use any guise possible...but he starts from a compromised position...but...he will come back..say he is not... but ultimately, say Carlton are awesome.
Interesting read. Where do you see Sam Rowe in 2-3 years time? I thought he held up alright this year.

1. Port Adelaide
2. Hawthorn
3. North Melbourne
4. Sydney
5. Gold Coast
6. Richmond
7. Geelong
8. Adelaide
9. Freo
10. Collingwood
11. Brisbane
12. Essendon
13. Western Bulldogs
14. Carlton
15. GWS
16. Melbourne
17. StKilda
18. West Coast

1. Hawthorn- Quality everywhere with a list that bats deeper than anyone else, Frawley strengthens their backline even further. Hate to say it, but if anyone can threepeat, it's the Hawks.
2. Port Adelaide- Scary to think how much improvement beckons. Very mature and hardened for such a young side, have enough finals experience under their belts now to go all the way.
3. Fremantle- Window is closing, but still quite capable of making hay while the sun is out. Not writing them off yet, especially with a fit list. Should go very close again in 2015.
4. Richmond- Latter half of the season demonstrated their ability to play good footy. Have the list to bounce back and will be smarting from the mistakes of early 2014.
5. Sydney- GF loss of that magnitude may have taken the wind out of their sails mentally. Losing Malceski hurts, defence is aging, and possibly too reliant on Buddy up forward. Going out on a limb I know, but may slip next year.
6. Geelong- Could do anything, our fortunes rest somewhat on Clark/Stanley's impact up forward and Hawkins' output. Need younger players to step up, a lot also depends on whether Lonergan/Enright/Mackie can go around again. Losing Christensen hurts a little, but still satisfied with our midfield group. Expecting a reasonable finish below that of the best 4-5 teams.
7. Gold Coast- Improvement from youngsters will see them play finals, still too reliant on Ablett. Harsh call to turf McKenna, but Eade is a great replacement nonetheless.
8. Adelaide- Unknown quantity at this stage. Talented enough to finish above a raft of so-so teams, but not to mount a serious challenge. Speculation over Dangerfield could prove to be a distraction. Otherwise, will be fighting it out with several others for 7th-8th.

9. North Melbourne- Will most likely prove me wrong, just think a Prelim appearance flattered them. Don't really have much idea where they'll finish. Inconsistency may continue to plague them, thus affecting their placing.
10. West Coast- List is too vanilla, but better than that of 7-8 sides. Not entirely sure where their improvement is coming from.
11. Brisbane- Plenty of midfield depth, IMO things are finally looking up for Brisbane. KP stocks aren't as thin as many would have you believe - Paine, Freeman, Close and Paparone are quite servicable up forward, in addition to Gardiner in D50. Robinson, Beams and Christensen also very handy, and Rich will be returning from injury. Building nicely.
12. GWS- Expecting some significant improvement on their part, numerous players will be entering their 3rd/4th seasons. Competitive in many games towards the end of 2014 and will carry this form through.
13. Essendon- ASADA scandal may catch up with them psychologically (in terms of possible suspensions), lack depth, don't think Hird is the right man to lead them. If bans are issued, it'll mean a year in the cellar.
14. Collingwood- Have question marks over Buckley's coaching ability, younger brigade may take a season or two to fill the void left by departing stars. Beams is also a big loss.
15. Melbourne- Slowly but steadily on the up, conceding lower scores under Roos is a plus. Could do with a more offensive element to their game.
16. Carlton- Overrate the Blues every year, not falling for it on this occasion. They finally seem to be addressing the need for a rebuild, but several years lean on wins could ensue before results are seen.
17. Western Bulldogs- Too unstable internally to make any significant progress at this point. Good young core, but how do you foster improvement in a playing group when things aren't rosy behind the scenes?
18. St Kilda- May show some improvement, seem to be developing some decent youngsters. A few more years of pain is still in order, though.

Alg-crying-baby-jpg_zpsbfec89b2.jpg

They are opinions, nothing more.

Relax.

1. Port Adelaide
  2. Sydney
  3. Hawthorn
  4. Gold Coast
  5. North Melbourne
  6. Fremantle
  7. Geelong
  8. Adelaide
  9. Essendon
  10. Richmond
  11. West Coast
  12. GWS
  13. Brisbane
  14. Collingwood
  15. Melbourne
  16. Carlton
  17. Western Bulldogs
  18. St Kilda

1. Port Adelaide
  2. Sydney
  3. Hawthorn
  4. Gold Coast
  5. North Melbourne
  6. Fremantle
  7. Geelong
  8. Adelaide
  9. Essendon
  10. Richmond
  11. West Coast
  12. GWS
  13. Brisbane
  14. Collingwood
  15. Melbourne
  16. Carlton
  17. Western Bulldogs
  18. St Kilda
You're a bit harsh on your own team there? Bulldogs will finish above the bottom 4 for sure.

I think a lot has to do with Essendon no longer having bomber as coach

2015 Ladder predictions