MRP / Trib. 2015 MRP/ Carlton Tribunal News & Reports (aka Chook lotto)

So it's the head we are trying to protect here. Plenty of dislocated shoulders, broken wrists and arms occur when tackling but these are just part of the game. It's a perverse view in my opinion.

Acquired brain injuries, multiple concussions over a period of time has shown to cause Dementia in NFL/pro footballers at times in their life, and in very rare and tragic cases, even death as a result of a knock to the on the sporting field. The head is absolutely sacrosanct, there are potential far more repercussions then from a crook shoulder tackle (for example)

Yep, fair result for mine, BG really went uncharacteristically overzealous in that tackle, junior footballers have to also get the
Message that slingshot tackles aren't acceptable. Would be an ill advised move by the club to appeal it.
For someone who gets consistently criticised for not being a 'harder' player, Gibbs just can't win here. Gray held onto the ball, Gibbs completed the tackle, aggresively but fairly, otherwise a free kick should have been paid.

can someone post the pic showing both arms not pinned

I need it to win a rather pointless argument
145172_ad5014783c50c7a47ec6f4e9eda4350a.png

I suspect he has his wrist there... but should still appeal.... perfect tackle.

It certainly looks that way.

Normally Id' probably be upset but given Gibbs may still have some issue with his back, then it may just be a blessing in disguise...........maybe.

At worst it will give someone else a chance to show themselves up and that's not a bad thing given our current situation.

For someone who gets consistently criticised for not being a 'harder' player, Gibbs just can't win here. Gray held onto the ball, Gibbs completed the tackle, aggresively but fairly, otherwise a free kick should have been paid.

The issue here isn't Gibbs, but the interpretation of the law, and based on what I understand of it, whilst it wasn't a malicious act by Bryce, it certainly was careless/slightly negligent of his opponent's welfare, and the rough conduct charge and suspension is warranted (under the current letter of the law)

Best just to cop our medicine and move on I reckon, don't see any way how our players attorney could successfully downgrade the suspension/have it squashed.

The issue here isn't Gibbs, but the interpretation of the law, and based on what I understand of it, whilst it wasn't a malicious act by Bryce, it certainly was careless/slightly negligent of his opponent's welfare, and the rough conduct charge and suspension is warranted (under the current letter of the law)

Best just to cop our medicine and move on I reckon, don't see any way how our players attorney could successfully downgrade the suspension/have it squashed.
**** that.

Footy is a tough game. Accidents happen, and they always will. How do you tackle and yet make sure that your opponent doesn't hit their head on anything? Do you tackle them with one arm and cradle their head gently with the other? Do you tackle them so you fall underneath them? Do we mandate helmets? Should they play in a jumping castle?

I'd rather the MRP get stricter on sniping acts like elbows, punches to the guts, pushing a player into the path of another, etc, than making a big bold statement from a great tackle that resulted in an accidental concussion.

I thought he might get off as his Gray's shoulder hits the ground first and not the head.
Might be worth an appeal as the officiating umpire thought there was nothing in it.

I think it's shit that our game suspends guys for tackling hard like that, but to the letter of the laws, Gibbs broke them and I hate inconsistency and breaking rules more than anything.

IMHO, the benchmark for suspending players for a tackle like this should be higher.

And while we are at it, how about at the very least sending a fine down to the two Hawthorn players (Hodge and Lewis I think) who blatantly ****ing PUNCHED opposition players in the side or stomach when they weren't looking and weren't in the play. It's unbelievable that PUNCHING someone off the ball is fine.

Footy is a tough game. Accidents happen, and they always will. How do you tackle and yet make sure that your opponent doesn't hit their head on anything? Do you tackle them with one arm and cradle their head gently with the other? Do you tackle them so you fall underneath them? Do we mandate helmets? Should they play in a jumping castle?

I'd rather the MRP get stricter on sniping acts like elbows, punches to the guts, pushing a player into the path of another, etc, than making a big bold statement from a great tackle that resulted in an accidental concussion.

Bingo!!!

This is what happens when you bring workplace law into govern a game, there are too many variables in a game of football to apply "duty of care" when tackling and bumping, however, elbows, punches to the head or guts or elbows to the back of players heads while they are running off the ground should be punished severely as this is what dribbles down through amateur and junior ranks.
It is a contact sport and unfortunately people will get hurt, if it is by accident so be it, if it is with intent, punish it.

The issue is, why does it only become rough conduct once a player is injured? You can see the same tackle 10 times without a free being given away, and if the player gets up and keeps playing it's fine. As soon as the same tackle produces an injured player (no free kick or report), all of a sudden it's rough and in need of a suspension.

Dont mind the intrusion, but I think that under the laws of the game, its probably the right call, but I disagree with the law. It was a very good tackle but simply unfortunate that Robbie's arms were pinned and was slightly concussed.

I hate that this sort of thing is considered the equal to the Lewis incident in terms of games missed.

It's not that he got knocked out, it's that he got knocked out in a sling tackle. Bartel got knocked out in a tackle when he hit his head on the ground earlier in the year. It too was an accident, but it wasn't a sling tackle, and the tackler didnt get cited. It's annoying because there are sling tackles that don't result in the guy getting knocked out that go unpunished....but those are the wrong decisions (by the letter of the law). This one is consistent with the rules that are in place.

No win for Gibbs there, he goes hard like he did and cops two weeks, or he doesn't go as hard and gets called out for being soft.

Loved the tackle.

Was on the receiving end of a similar one on the weekend myself.

Happens all the time at local level.... but unfortunatly sling tackles are outlawed in the AFL now. Like it or not that is how it is. Two weeks is a fair result.

If it had of been one of our boys on the receiving end, all the posters saying Gibbs should have got off would change their tune.

Gibbs unlucky, but thats how it goes.

All i want to know is that tackle illegal if so punish all tackles like that and suspend gibbs. If not throw the case out.
Sling tackle what is that and define it in Black and white not grey area or interpretation cause all that does is create controversy.

cannot punish someone for doing something within rules of game just because someone got hurt.

Yep for sure. Not to mention the huge shoves of a player into the fence when they are already full of momentum and close to the boundary line.
That could kill someone if they went head first into the fence, but nothing is done about that. The AFL pander way too much to the crowds response and not what is safe and reasonable.

MRP / Trib. 2015 MRP/ Carlton Tribunal News & Reports (aka Chook lotto)