2015 QAFA (B) Central

I heard Kenmore were a chance of forfeiting they were so short, so that would have been a massacre. I looked over a couple of times and it looked like a bit of a training run.

We got up over UQ by about 70 points. Was a good hitout though

The Kenmore boys did fill a full list. I know they got some permit players from the buffs and had a couple that will double up this weekend. Game played in good spirits and no late shit or sledging going on. Yes we won but they pushed us all nite. Cricket pitch a bit hard and lumpy but overall no injury to either side. Which is nice for a change. Thanks for the hospitality showed to us and good luck for the rest of your year. It's been a long time for me but it was nice to go back to and old enemy's ground. I think I still felt the presence of one Owen Blackwell out there.

Pushed you all night ??? They only managed 3 behinds ??? Plus they had Hartley and Robson from the Buffs playing. Have you forgotten what posting on big footy is all about ???

Just the way I saw it. They tried hard all nite and it was played in good spirits. I will never have a crack at a team that shows up every week knowing the result before the ball is bounced. Good luck to them and isn't its qafl fans job to sledge the shit around. Quick hit of the crack pipe and he will fire up I'm sure.

So is the top 6 settled (perhaps not in order) or can UQ sneak in? I don't know if any of the the rest can make it now.

Vagaries of the draw will play a role. All depends on who you get twice.
We got quite a soft draw, which was strange given last season

Good to see you are still soldiering on Thommo. Losing Baker and Dobson might hurt the Woodies but I would not be running a line through them yet! They have a good list of old legend players like Thommo to step up!!
I leave this thread for a while and straight away things go stupid. Wynnum stacking their team and fixing the player sheet! What a classic, i wish we would have had the players last year to do that. I think the only change in the team between pre-lim and GF was me. I was sick in bed against Sandgate (our best game of the season) and then back for the GF which is probably why we lost!!

So is the top 6 settled (perhaps not in order) or can UQ sneak in? I don't know if any of the the rest can make it now.

I had a play around with the ladder predictor. Yep, I reckon the top 6 is settled, and unfortunately for them, UQ will miss out. Percentage to be important. Biggest game for the rest of the year has to be Jimboomba v Kedron @ Jimboomba on a Saturday arvo. Could be a bit of a preview I reckon.

With Jimboomba and Kedron both being Saturday teams - will their player availability be impacted at all come finals time when everything is on a Friday night?

Would have thought Kedron would give Kenmore more of a hiding than that, but their main avenue to goal was missing so that probably through them off a bit.

Matty Smith showing he is a pretty key ingredient to success for the Eagles too!

With Jimboomba and Kedron both being Saturday teams - will their player availability be impacted at all come finals time when everything is on a Friday night?

Would have thought Kedron would give Kenmore more of a hiding than that, but their main avenue to goal was missing so that probably through them off a bit.

Matty Smith showing he is a pretty key ingredient to success for the Eagles too!
Unable to speak for jimboomba but I'm pretty confident that come finals all our players will make themselves available. Don't know too many footballers that would want to miss out just because it's a Friday. Obviously a different story in home and away games. Yes agreed hold big dog from zillmere and they don't have too many options to goal.
Kenmore ground very short but very wide hard to go up the middle when we instructed them to say out of the centre square for saftey reasons. That very uneaven and extremely hard cricket pitch area was very dangerous. I was glad no one rolled an ankle or ripped a knee.

Coorparoo 1's and 2's with the bye.

We know they have a few senior players in the 2's looking for match fitness like Benny Gibson, how many play 3's this week and give the Woodsmen a bit of a shock?

Tips:

Zillmere
UQ
Kedron
Kenmore
Sandgate
Woodsmen (as QAFL Fan said, will be very interesting to see the teams Coorparoo fields - could be a very close game)
Jimboomba

Woodsmen have been hit already by Ipswich dropping players, you would expect to see it from Coorparoo this weekend and then next week the same will happen against Kenmore. Pretty unlucky run for them if both Coorparoo and the Bears drop players. A good team though and would expect to see them get through the next 2 without loss.

Woodsmen would thrash Kenmore 2's anyway, so they would have to drop a serious amount of senior talent to make it a competitive game!

Doubt any senior players eyeing off a flag will want to drop down to play a one off game so their club loses by 20 instead of 100

Woodsmen would thrash Kenmore 2's anyway, so they would have to drop a serious amount of senior talent to make it a competitive game!

Doubt any senior players eyeing off a flag will want to drop down to play a one off game so their club loses by 20 instead of 100

Looks like a few senior players did want to drop down for coorparoo

There was no stacking, they were just the better team on the night. May have had some assistance from the whistle, with 5 goals from 50m penalties, including 2 that were reversals then a 50!

But you have to learn your lesson the first time!

We got some of the worst calls I've ever seen in our favor as well, not a good night for our friends in green. Couple of kids who either just guessed, or just liked to be heard.

Very disappointing effort

Thommo, I'd be interested in knowing who the umpires were. What you describe sounds very familiar.

So familiar that I reckon I can guess who it was.

I refrain from whinging about the umps because I fear it reflects poorly upon the club. But deadset, some guys just have their own rule book. And that doesn't even bother me - consistency does.

2015 QAFA (B) Central