D1 2016 discussion

Strange decision is an understatement! I noticed that you liked the post Bedford. Of course you did because your were part of the lynch mob that got rid of an absolute legend of the club & premiership winning coach. I hear that the club made the decision with no other coach in waiting, & was then forced to ring around to try & find a coach. They've finally settled on a bloke with 1 years experience & the side he coached finished second last. I've also heard that the Keleher family in general is not too impressed with the way the whole saga has played out, both publicly & privately. I have spoken with a lot of current Ormond players & they too are bewildered with the decision. To say that the decision & process has been laughable is an understatement. I know a lot more about this issue, but will leave it at that for now.
An interesting "perspective" on things.

You wouldn't have a clue
I'm pretty sure I have way more of a clue than the dickheads who made the decision.
Please tell me which part of my previous post is wrong? I bet you can't because you know every word is true. I'm just surprised to find out that you were on the selection committee. Jesus Christ, I thought Ormond was going places. Apparently not. Hahahahaha #laughingstock

Why would he bother with a nonentity who has once been banned from posting on this board. Somehow feel the second ban isn't far off.
Its not perspective at all, its a trouble maker which all clubs have. Tough decisions are made at all footy clubs, some are successful , some aren't. We got bagged by many for changing the senior coach last year and it was the right move with the proof in the pudding.
I won't even be replying to this turd again. All I hope is that he is not seen at a club on the way up.
Also I don't see why the club would have to respond to a keyboard warrior who is weak as piss.

Big footy rules state you can't use people's names. Whilst you seem to enjoy dropping Bedfords, the half a dozen or so people on here know who he is anyway, so you aren't dropping any bomber shells here.
It's sort of impressing nobody.
Your posts are pretty crap. I'm not surprised they are disappearing.

Big footy rules state you can't use people's names. Whilst you seem to enjoy dropping Bedfords, the half a dozen or so people on here know who he is anyway, so you aren't dropping any bomber shells here.
Thanks for your insights Canada. I think you'll find that Bedford was the first to use somebody's name. I trust you sent him the same message? I enjoyed your "bomber shells" play on words. I'll look forward to viewing the words of wisdom from you in the future.

And mine disappeared with an infraction as well, it was frustration with this perspective clone.
I think you might find that the coach he mentioned that wasn't reappointed at Ormond is now the senior assistant at Oakleigh and I hope he does well as he's a ripping bloke

And mine disappeared with an infraction as well, it was frustration with this perspective clone.
I think you might find that the coach he mentioned that wasn't reappointed at Ormond is now the senior assistant at Oakleigh and I hope he does well as he's a ripping bloke

The post of mine that was removed essentially said the Monders are a proud club with a rich history and are ably lead by a Prez who has served the VAFA with distinction.

I suggested the new poster should take his grievances to the club rather than air them on a forum like this.

Let's hope the Mod who removed my earlier post is on holidays.:)

I think enough has been said on the decisions made by Ormond. What's done is done. Let's all move on & look forward to what should be an exciting year in C section (for some)

University Blacks premiership player, Adam Pattison, will conclude his football career where it all began as he re-joins Old Paradians for the 2016 season.

After rupturing ligaments in his ankle during the Blacks’ Round 10 win against Old Xaverians and subsequently sitting out the remainder of the season from the sideline, Pattison took the time away from the playing field to assess his options in terms of how he would like to go out from the game.

“At that stage I was thinking about having surgery but I managed to avoid that so there was a stage where I thought I’d just retire and go into coaching,” Pattison says.

“But I spent a lot of time watching the Blacks play and watching OP play in the finals and realised I’ve still got a bit of hunger and passion to play and I don’t want to finish on that note.”

The hunger Pattison speaks of has seen him endure a storied career in Australian Rules football, having played for two AFL clubs after being drafted by Richmond with the 16th overall pick in the 2004 AFL draft.

On the back of 61 games in the yellow and black, Pattison was delisted by the Tigers before being thrown a lifeline by St Kilda in 2009 and again by Hawthorn in 2012.

Fully aware of the uncertainty often accompanying AFL football, Pattison made the decision to re-join the VAFA and run around for the University Blacks; a decision he rates as one of the best he has ever made.

“I feel like I really fell in love with footy again down at the Blacks,” he says.

“Being delisted three times in the AFL system, I wouldn’t say I was jaded so much as I was aware of the realities of professional football.

“So for me it was great just to go back and play for fun and have that really good balance between work, study and footy again and not have footy as the number one thing in my life.”

As it turned out, joining the Blacks was an inspired decision as Pattison formed part of the 2014 grand final-winning team responsible for breaking the club’s 40-year A-Section premiership draught.

“Blacks are a really special club, they’ve got a great culture and I know it’s been talked about a lot but it’s mainly their really inclusive culture,” he says.

“(Winning the premiership) is what you play footy for and my time at Richmond I didn’t see finals for a while and Northern Knights so I’d had a long break and no real finals success.

“I felt like after that I could retire a happy man.”

Ultimately, he couldn’t. Not quite yet.

Attending school at Parade College and playing juniors for St Damien’s (now St Damien’s Parade Junior Football Club), Pattison always envisaged concluding his career where it had commenced, and with the recent addition of a new family member, believes the time is now right.

“It was always going to be an ambition of mine to go back and play there,” he says.

“It sort of got to the stage where I had a baby earlier this year, I had a little boy, and just not sure how many more years I’ve got to play.

“I loved my time at the Blacks and being able to win an A-Grade flag was pretty special and I’ve got life-long mates there.

“But not knowing whether I’ve got one more year or two more years left to go, I just think now is the time and I’ve got a special connection with Parade so I’m looking forward to pulling on the green and purple jumper.”

Pattison makes the move to Old Paradians at an exciting time for the club as they look to replicate their Division 2 premiership feats in Division 1 next season.

After finishing third on the ladder at the conclusion of the home and away fixture, the Raiders went from strength to strength in the finals series, eventually defeating Ivanhoe by 15 points in the decider.

With a long list of experiences under his belt, Pattison hopes to spread his vast football knowledge and help the Raiders continue to climb the sections of the VAFA.

“I have seen clubs rise through the grades and I always thought Parade was not a D2 or D1 club,” he says.

“Over school footy, we played at St Bernard’s, St Bedes and De La and these teams so that’s kind of part of the driving force as to why I want to go back there is to step up and help the club rise back up the grades.

“Obviously, no guarantees for next year and how we go, we’ve just got to do the work.”

Pattison’s current work as the head coach for the Eastern Ranges’ U16s side, as well as the Victoria Metro midfield coach puts him in an ideal position to assist the Raiders’ young playing list while continuing his development in the coaching arena – a path he admits he would like to go down.

“We’ll see how the body goes next year and how the commitments go with doing the Eastern and the Metro stuff and see how it’s all looking, whether I’ll be playing again or whether it’s full-time coaching,” he says.

No matter how the last few years of his playing career pan out, Pattison will go out with the entire VAFA community behind him.

Can anyone tell me any VAFA clubs in the Mulgrave/Mount Waverley/Glen Waverley/Clayton area? New to Melbourne and looking for a club to have a run with. Cheers

Welcome mate. What standard? Monash Blues (Clayton) in B grade, Mazeond (Glen Waverley) and Oakleigh Ammos in C grade. Plenty of others nearby covering all grades from Premier (1st Div) to D4. (7th Div). 70 plus clubs so jump on the VAFA website and see what might suit.

vafa.com.au

Welcome mate. What standard? Monash Blues (Clayton) in B grade, Mazeond (Glen Waverley) and Oakleigh Ammos in C grade. Plenty of others nearby covering all grades from Premier (1st Div) to D4. (7th Div). 70 plus clubs so jump on the VAFA website and see what might suit.

vafa.com.au
Thanks Rooster, appreciate the reply. What Premier division clubs are nearby out of interest? I've had a look on the website but I'm slightly confused by all the different colleges and their campuses!

De La Salle and St Kevins about 10 minutes towards the city from Oakleigh/Clayton. Both play on suburban grounds rather than school campuses. All Premier and Premier B clubs have 1s, 2s and 3s. Really depends what standard you are looking for as the VAFA has clubs that can accommodate players of all abilities. At the other end of the scale is Chadstone. A very resilient club who are also close by. They play in the bottom division but I’m sure they would welcome you with open arms.

Pre-season has kicked off at most clubs so I reckon drop one of them a line and they will tell you all you need to know.

De La Salle and St Kevins about 10 minutes towards the city from Oakleigh/Clayton. Both play on suburban grounds rather than school campuses. All Premier and Premier B clubs have 1s, 2s and 3s. Really depends what standard you are looking for as the VAFA has clubs that can accommodate players of all abilities. At the other end of the scale is Chadstone. A very resilient club who are also close by. They play in the bottom division but I’m sure they would welcome you with open arms.

Pre-season has kicked off at most clubs so I reckon drop one of them a line and they will tell you all you need to know.

You don't have to be an Old Boy to play at the Private School Clubs but also if you are any good and you have a distant relation that attended, some Clubs may claim you as an old boy later on.:D

Nick Bourke joining the Hooped OG's as Director of Football.
Can only be a good thing.

What are the chances of the fiasco which erupted at the VAFA Vote Count (players not even involved at certain games getting votes by the umpires) happening again in 2016?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

These parts have been quiet for a while now. Who are the early favourites to take out D1 in 2016? Ill go with Old Geelong and St Mary's after having good years last year.

Is there much of a gap between D grade and C grade?
Be interesting to see how PEGS go. Reserves won the C grade GF, have kept the same players. Depth from below should assist with a drop in grade. Age group 19-25 year olds. Also have a good crop of U 19 coming through this year. Seniors only won 3 games last year that was very disappointing. They haven't lost any players and get a few back that didn't play last year. It's an experienced older list that's another year older. Do have a few key players north of 30. This could be a concern. Really depends on what the gap is between D and C grade?? I agree that Old Geelong and St Mary's will also be the teams to beat.

Is there much of a gap between D grade and C grade?
Be interesting to see how PEGS go. Reserves won the C grade GF, have kept the same players. Depth from below should assist with a drop in grade. Age group 19-25 year olds. Also have a good crop of U 19 coming through this year. Seniors only won 3 games last year that was very disappointing. They haven't lost any players and get a few back that didn't play last year. It's an experienced older list that's another year older. Do have a few key players north of 30. This could be a concern. Really depends on what the gap is between D and C grade?? I agree that Old Geelong and St Mary's will also be the teams to beat.

The gap is pretty large considering Therry went up and then straight back down.

The fact that PEGS won the reserves and lost the seniors was relegated, imo is an indictment on the reserves players not wanting to step up and help the seniors. It also reflected that the standard of C Grade reserves was average at best.

How long can you rely on Baddley, Scurrie, Forrest and Flaherty. Need to new blood to come through.

Max "Training starts tonight" Leader