2016 Non Freo discussion

Probably not the right place to write this and to be honest I read here more often than write comments, but this arvo I had a few beers with Johnny Gastev at a watering hole in a beachside southern suburb and have got to say he was one of the best, most humblest, honest blokes I've ever had the opportunity to share a drink with. Some great stories were shared and he intently listened to all of my footy exploits,(even though I had to put up listening to his eagles and afl career). If you ever have a chance to say gday to him say hi. Truely a great human being and a great guy, but a few beers doesn't hurt to soften the conversation with an former Eagles player.

He was more a Brisbane Bears player though, wasn't he? Makes up for his West Coast and West Perth roots.

Yeah more a Brisbane player than west coast. Same as zanotti

Both got offside with John Todd and left/were moved on

Probably not the right place to write this and to be honest I read here more often than write comments, but this arvo I had a few beers with Johnny Gastev at a watering hole in a beachside southern suburb and have got to say he was one of the best, most humblest, honest blokes I've ever had the opportunity to share a drink with. Some great stories were shared and he intently listened to all of my footy exploits,(even though I had to put up listening to his eagles and afl career). If you ever have a chance to say gday to him say hi. Truely a great human being and a great guy, but a few beers doesn't hurt to soften the conversation with an former Eagles player.
Get a room.

Taught his daughter this year. Bloody "streak of cheek" running through her, but also a VERY talented ballet dancer and one of the nicest kids you'll come across. Obviously runs in the family.

Our whole midfield just got a huge boost. Contested ball winners are even more important now and we have some of the biggest and best running around. I wonder how many times next season we'll be hearing "Sandi taps it to <insert Fyfe, Mundy, Blakely, Neale> without breaking stride, who handballs it out to Suban/DPearce who kicks a goal from 55m out" ;)
Couldn't get past Suban/DPearce kicking goals with out pissing myself laughing!

Yeah last time they did that was against west coast a while ago, each kicked three if I remember.

The days where it was wow time for those two.
Was prob when freo flogged us by 80 or so points and they were just handing out goals.

Even McGuinnity kicked 4 goals and got bog during a hiding.

A little piece of my childhood just died :(

Was she meant to be in the next Star Wars movie?

Small request Freo people - in my downtime, I've been writing a series of articles that have been getting run in an LGBTIQ publication - well more specifically the "L" part. In 2017, Australia is having the first ever Australian LGBTI Awards, a big gala black tie / red carpet event at the Sydney Opera House, and "li'l ol' me" has been nominated for an award in the journalism category. The awards recognise people who have made significant contributions to the LGBTI community in areas of sport (nominees include Matthew Mitcham, Daniel Kowalski, Alex Blackwell, Jason Ball), politics (Penny Wong, Louise Pratt + more), business, generally being a celebrity (Magda, Josh Thomas, Joel Creasey), an ally to the community... etc, etc. So a nomination is a reasonably big deal if you happen to be part of the community. My partner and I are flying over cos lord knows, I may never get a nomination for any sort of award again ever in my life. It's like the gay Logies! :D

Now to get the gong, you need to get the most votes - and you don't have to be queer to vote, just a very nice person. You don't even have to vote in every category, just the ones you want to. So, voting closes on 31st Dec, and if anyone feels so inclined, I would love it if you could click on the link below and go and throw a vote my way (category journalism, name has initials SF). I promise you you won't 'catch the gay' if you do - voting poses no threat to your heterosexuality at all. :)

Thanks!

http://www.australianlgbtiawards.com.au/vote-now.html

(Mods if this is inappropriate in this thread, or inappropriate altogether, of course feel free to remove).