2016 Rate My Team

For defensive options Trent McKenzie and Daniel Howe are looking good for $278K and $265K. Jasper Pittard has not been impressive in the pre-season yet but has a contract to run from defence and is $422K.
Im worried that McKenzie will be squeezed out with Malceski and Rosa playing similar roles. Also have questions over McKenzies discipline which may cost him a spot in the 22.

Well, here goes:

gbY1eY5.png

72K remaining.

Mainly based on a mixture of performance in NAB, end of last season and a bit of personal hunch. A little worried I may have a few too many midpricers, and perhaps a lack of team diversity (which could hurt at the bye).

Well, here goes:

gbY1eY5.png

72K remaining.

Mainly based on a mixture of performance in NAB, end of last season and a bit of personal hunch. A little worried I may have a few too many midpricers, and perhaps a lack of team diversity (which could hurt at the bye).

I feel that there are a lot of mid-priced options this year, with minimal (early season) cheapies worth selecting. Getting the right mid pricers will be critical. You could free up cash by dropping Jamar down to a 125K ruckman then upgrading elsewhere. Use the 72K you have and the extra 100K from Jamar and you could upgrade McKenzie to another premium defender...

My current side, with many tinkerings still to go....

D: H Shaw, K Kolo, J Johannisen, J Aish, J Weitering, A MacDonald-Tipungwuti - M Adams, C Byrne
M: J Steven, P Dangerfield, N Fyfe, L Hunter, A Hall, M Crouch, D Wells, C Mills - D Gore, R Davis
R: T Goldstein, M Gawn - M Cox, D Currie
F: D Martin, L Franklin, J De Goey, S Kerridge, C Daniel, S Frost - P Wright, C Menadue

22K left over...

Well, here goes:

gbY1eY5.png

72K remaining.

Take TedDougChris's suggestions and maybe then change up your FWD line abit. Add in players like Lids, Martin, Barlow instead of having 3 GCS.

Good point. Miller and Hall are fine, but Day might be worth upgrading.... Not a proven Fantasy player....

I'm going to save my team until the bouncedown of round 1 this year, just because I know my league mates like to spy on my posts in here.

But im going full mid-price mayhem this year. I think I only have 6 bonafide premiums this year and two are in my high powered ruck engine room.

Curiosity, what do you call a bonfied promo?

D: 450k+
M: 550k+
R: 500k+
F: 500k+

???

Curiosity, what do you call a bonfied promo?

D: 450k+
M: 550k+
R: 500k+
F: 500k+

???
500k plus across, the board, although this year defence throws it out, I have two 480ish defenders but I wouldn't call them bonafide premiums as I believe they will still eventually be traded to a 550k player (when more mids get classified as defenders) by the end of the year, or become premiums in their own right, which i hope so, but i'm not banking on it like my other 6 guys.

I'm going to save my team until the bouncedown of round 1 this year, just because I know my league mates like to spy on my posts in here.

But im going full mid-price mayhem this year. I think I only have 6 bonafide premiums this year and two are in my high powered ruck engine room.

From your definition, I have 7 premo's in my team.

2 in the ruck as well.

From your definition, I have 7 premo's in my team.

2 in the ruck as well.
This is definitely the most mid priced team i've put together ever in fantasy. I normally start with four premium midfielders at least.

Rockliff, Gary, Pendles, Beams always generally start in my midfield, this year im only going with two premiums in my midfield

The rise of the ruckmen has affected that obviously, but I think it's just a good year for breakouts.

Gore wont play r1, beech wont play r1... J Howe and B Smith could be rolled for a different combo, gun / harwood maybe?
I'd not long after posting that gave my rookies a bit of a face lift, still have Gore was hopefully he'd sneak into your Round 1 squad but I think I'm a little to optimistic.

I've got very little faith in Howe and have been fiddling several things around to work him out of the side if I go Harwood I'd then have 3 players in my backline on the field under 200k, don't know If I can bring my self to doing it.

As a Crows fan I'd love to know your thoughts on Brodie Smith mate?

This is definitely the most mid priced team i've put together ever in fantasy. I normally start with four premium midfielders at least.

Rockliff, Gary, Pendles, Beams always generally start in my midfield, this year im only going with two premiums in my midfield

The rise of the ruckmen has affected that obviously, but I think it's just a good year for breakouts.
Only two midfielders over 550k? Very interesting mate, typically I go with 4 premo midfielders, 2 mid pricers and 2 rookies. However right now Rocky is my 5th most expensive midfielder.

B - D.Howe, B.Houli, J.Weitering, D.Tucker, H.Shaw, K.Simpson. Res : N.Broad, K.Brand.
M - P.Dangerfield, T.Liberatore, S.Mitchell, C.Mills, T.Rockliff, M.Crouch, J.O'Rourke, C.Oliver. Res : D.McPherson, K.Stewart
R - M.Gawn, S. Martin. Res : M.Cox, D.Currie.
F - M.Robinson, S.Gray, D.Wells, S.Kerridge, M.Barlow, J. DeGoey. Res : N. Kommer, T. Phillips.

37K left. All reserves are $125K so will probably have to adjust a bit but should be able to do that by picking Luke Parker ($533K) or Robbie Gray ($536K) over one of the premiums.

View attachment 225139

Thoughts on my AFL Fantasy team. Going with value in each position
Love it bar Tippet, for me, although he had a good tail end of the season (when Buddy was out btw) he isnt consistent enough nor has a high enough ceiling.

Lobbe, Gawn, Goldy should be in that position or go riskier with a Nic Nat or Leuenberger selection

Leuey could allow me to spend heaps of money elsewhere. Only thing I'm worried about is the rucks. The others are all fine.

I had Tippett in my team all pre season. I watched all the Swans pre season games and he is now out of my team.

I upgraded to Gawn, but personally I wouldn't take Tippett into the season.

My current side, with many tinkerings still to go....

D: H Shaw, K Kolo, J Johannisen, J Aish, J Weitering, A MacDonald-Tipungwuti - M Adams, C Byrne
M: J Steven, P Dangerfield, N Fyfe, L Hunter, A Hall, M Crouch, D Wells, C Mills - D Gore, R Davis
R: T Goldstein, M Gawn - M Cox, D Currie
F: D Martin, L Franklin, J De Goey, S Kerridge, C Daniel, S Frost - P Wright, C Menadue

22K left over...
Aish might not be best 22

I'd not long after posting that gave my rookies a bit of a face lift, still have Gore was hopefully he'd sneak into your Round 1 squad but I think I'm a little to optimistic.

I've got very little faith in Howe and have been fiddling several things around to work him out of the side if I go Harwood I'd then have 3 players in my backline on the field under 200k, don't know If I can bring my self to doing it.

As a Crows fan I'd love to know your thoughts on Brodie Smith mate?

Only two midfielders over 550k? Very interesting mate, typically I go with 4 premo midfielders, 2 mid pricers and 2 rookies. However right now Rocky is my 5th most expensive midfielder.

Brodie Smith not sure if he'll be fantasy consistent, but he is my sneaky pick to win the Crows B&F this year... watch for the Crows improved ball movement especially by foot, it has been a major focus this pre-season...ATM i have both Crouches, Jacobs and reckon if picked round1 M McGovern will be a great cash cow. I can't fit Laird in but he'll be the Crows Defender who racks up the points... i think oppo teams will try to shut down Smith at times, he will have some blinders and some quieter quarters when he gets sat on...is my thinking... prolly not fantasy relevant but have a look at Milera when you get a chance the kid is gonna be a Jet.

I had Tippett in my team all pre season. I watched all the Swans pre season games and he is now out of my team.

I upgraded to Gawn, but personally I wouldn't take Tippett into the season.

Same thinking here, I went Jacobs instead. and Buddy was nowhere near my team until his lazy ton on the weekend, i'm going with the value picks this season with a BigDog on each line... well today anyway...:)

Aish might not be best 22

Fair point. I think there are a few replacement options around that price, but after the Pies going to all that trouble to get him, I just plonked him in at the start of the season and probably haven't looked to see if he is actually playing or not....

I'm a bit worried about Ablett and Rocky at the minute.... Not sure they've played any minutes at all in the PS....

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-03-16/rockliff-passes-on-captains-day-to-concentrate-on-recovery

I'm banking on each of them missing a few early on and dropping slightly. I'll grab them when they are at full match fitness.....

i'm gonna wait on Ablett and go with Rockliff... there was discussion earlier on why would they play Ablett against the bombers if he wasn't cherry ripe and even if he is why wouldn't they bench him when the game has been iced... Rocky was hamstring tightness? after a big pre-season which is not ideal but he is the fantasy Pig and I can't go in without him as soon as he's picked..

Can understand that entirely..... I'm still thinking of dropping Goldstein back to Jacobs, adding the cash I have an upgrading Hall to Rocky.... Something about Rocky just doesn't scream Ablett-like consistency though.... He is more of a loose cannon.....

2016 Rate My Team