- Jul 5, 2013
- AFL Club
- Port Adelaide
My defense and forward line is pretty much settled. Just been continuously fiddling around with my 3 premium mids!
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Good looking side mate, wouldn't stress about your defence. Harwood isn't going to go and get monster scores but he's got a good job security and can average 65ppg, Shaw, Houli and Laird should be able to carry the backline whilst the others sit there, get there 55-70 points every week whilst making you plenty of money. It's a very poor year for defensive options, most people aren't spending a lot down there. Looks strong to me!Thoughts on my team? Had a few changes in last day!
Remaining salary $2,000
DEF: Shaw, Laird, Houli, Harwood, Dea, M.Adams (Cowan, Ruggles)
MID: Ablett, Hanners, Rocky, T.Adams, Libba, Robinson, B.Kennedy, Macaffer (R.Davis, Menadue)
RUC: Currie (C) , Z.Smith (Cox, S.Martin)
FWD: Martin (VC), Barlow, A.Hall, Wells, Kerridge, McCarthy (Kommer, Sumner)
- Bench players are not locked in, will change depending on selections
- Starting currie, to use Dusty as a Captain if he kills it against Blues
- wondering whether Harwood is worth the hype or try and juggle some cash around to squeeze in a Lonergan(GC) in DEF or someone similar
Good looking side mate, wouldn't stress about your defence. Harwood isn't going to go and get monster scores but he's got a good job security and can average 65ppg, Shaw, Houli and Laird should be able to carry the backline whilst the others sit there, get there 55-70 points every week whilst making you plenty of money. It's a very poor year for defensive options, most people aren't spending a lot down there. Looks strong to me!
Was that Dan Robinson from the Swans in your midfield? If so did you not have the money for Mills (or even Oliver) or do you just rate Robinson as a better scorer?
I know you said your rookies will play but the basement priced rookies up forward are certainly causing a few headaches. With Sumner not named for the Blues trade him out before tomorrow. Relying on McCarty, Kommer or whoever else you pick at a basement price Sumner is quite risky, McCarthy doesn't have a very poor job security and ideally you don't want to plan to start with Kommer on the field. Without spending anything I'd move Kennedy or Menadue to F6 for Sumner and then put Hewett if he's named tomorrow as your M8. That way Kommer and McCarthy are on you bench, even though Hewitt doesn't have a very good JS either atleast he's on your bench, realisticly this year I can't think of a 125k player that has the scoring potential or job security to warrant an onfield option to start on your ground. If you were able to free up some cash Anthony McDonald-Tipung (because he's. DPP he could also be a better option for Adams down back)or Josh Simpkin would be some good options for Sumner and then If you did get the extra cash personally would also bring in Mills for Robinson.
Overall a very good team to go into round 1 with mate, great stuff!!
Good looking side mate, wouldn't stress about your defence. Harwood isn't going to go and get monster scores but he's got a good job security and can average 65ppg, Shaw, Houli and Laird should be able to carry the backline whilst the others sit there, get there 55-70 points every week whilst making you plenty of money. It's a very poor year for defensive options, most people aren't spending a lot down there. Looks strong to me!
Was that Dan Robinson from the Swans in your midfield? If so did you not have the money for Mills (or even Oliver) or do you just rate Robinson as a better scorer?
I know you said your rookies will play but the basement priced rookies up forward are certainly causing a few headaches. With Sumner not named for the Blues trade him out before tomorrow. Relying on McCarty, Kommer or whoever else you pick at a basement price Sumner is quite risky, McCarthy doesn't have a very poor job security and ideally you don't want to plan to start with Kommer on the field. Without spending anything I'd move Kennedy or Menadue to F6 for Sumner and then put Hewett if he's named tomorrow as your M8. That way Kommer and McCarthy are on you bench, even though Hewitt doesn't have a very good JS either atleast he's on your bench, realisticly this year I can't think of a 125k player that has the scoring potential or job security to warrant an onfield option to start on your ground. If you were able to free up some cash Anthony McDonald-Tipung (because he's. DPP he could also be a better option for Adams down back)or Josh Simpkin would be some good options for Sumner and then If you did get the extra cash personally would also bring in Mills for Robinson.
Overall a very good team to go into round 1 with mate, great stuff!!
No worries at all, Mitch Robinson gives you an even stronger midfield!Mate what an awesome reply. Thanks for the time for your input!
My m6 is Mitch Robinson (could even chuck him up forward).
Yes I did see Sumner isn't named and am thinking if doing very similar to what you mentioned. Thinking of bringing in McTippa for Adams, pending selections and same with the two feeling defenders I have.
Just wondering the Hewett everyone is talking about is that the SYD or PTA?
I'm going risky/hype team with too many midpricers and a weak defence.
Includes the likes of -
BroSmith
Howe
Lonergan
Duncan
DblCrouch
Leuey
No dusty
Gray
Hall
Got $124k break glass in case of emergency bank fund.
I wouldn't recommend anyone else do this. Just felt my original team was a bit boring and very similar to my DT squad.
Funnily enough a lot of these risky players have relatively high ownership. I think sticking traditional with mostly guns and rookies could really pay off this year. Not listening to my own advise at this stage
Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
Cheers. I reckon there's a good chance I'll be fmdt but you only live onceApart from Luey I like it..... I probably have a similar-ish forward line to you!!
i See that Ryan Davis has been announced to play for GC Suns
What is the likely return date for some of the Suns missing midfielders ?? I know they have a few (Swallow, O'Meara...) out sort of indefinitely, but are there any others likely to displace Davis in the next few weeks ?
InGot some free spots in a league of mine, code is RV5TPZ3M
Would appreciate any feedback you guys have.
Notes:
- Originally wanted to start with 5 premo mids. Have decided the cash spent and what it takes away from the rest of the team will most likely not be worth it. Hunter had an un-vested average of 109 at Etihad last season (where the Dogs play their first 7 games) so I don't think the points lost there will be of greater value than the money saved /points gained in other areas.
- Rich over Lonergan/Sheridan. Think that's 50k well spent as Lonergan/Sheridan are big risks. I can see a lot of people getting burned by one or both of them. Rich should be a solid 85-90 and improve on last season's output, which would see him become a great D5/6 down the track.
- Howe is a slight risk, but his scoring potential is a huge upside at that price. By all reports has good job security so long as he performs, which I think he will. Apparently being groomed as a midfielder which gets me excited.
- Hannerbury/Danger over Steven/T Mitchell. Think Steven will drop in price be a good upgrade target. I love Titchell but there still remains the possibility of a negating role for him in some games. I'm backing Hanners/Danger to be a top 5 mid this season, with Danger especially looking primed to take the AFL by the balls this season at his new club.
- B Crouch over M Crouch. Not following the pre-season hype, he's a better ball winner and tackler than his brother. Will be attending plenty of bounces with Danger gone. 40 touches in his last SANFL game sealed the deal for me.
- Robinson over Dusty. 70k cheaper and his averages without Beams in the team are through the roof. By all reports has turned into a leader up at Brisbane (who would have expected that!) so I think he'll start the season like a house on fire. Dusty will drop in price anyway and be a nice upgrade.
- Hall over Greene/S Gray. Smashing pre-season form earns him a spot. I think with pure midfield time he can average near 100 this season and be one of the picks of the year.
- Zac Smith over Gawn. This was more due to price than design. Gawn will most likely average more ppg but I think Smith can average enough to prove to be better value. Doesn't really matter as a later trade would be used here regardless of who was picked - they are both just stepping stones to Goldy.
- Hewett and McCarthy are the only rooks JS I'm worried about. If it was in RDT I'd be spending more money for a Simpkin/Greshan/Gaultwho have better security, but with 2 trades a week its worth the gamble given their basement price and scoring potential.
Again, any feedback regardless if it's good or bad is much appreciated.