News 2017 Adelaide Crows ISC apparel

Would love more of the logo that has appeared on the gold jacket since '91, anything with that on it will fly off the shelves.

Also embrace our 1990's heritage. Hyper colour shirts! Which other AFL clubs are doing hyper colour shirts??

1990's retro gear is huge these days with the kids, AFC tweeted a pic of Tony Hall in an old Navy blue training jumper with a red crow on the front, that looked great.

These camry shirts would sell.
65PTVBE0M3tMNdSd-phUUpQHyuwp0vYbplbI-pVA3bQFkDDcAiBOKBWvETS8NvzF9ju4-7H6tzOXx9GznOrT5ZcB7Xrw40N4dx8XnPPwx6AqXdJ-qt0V6mFieaptq4vt005kSig9=w316-h421-nc

More clothing using the monogram instead of raptor head.
More clothing that isn't base blue. Use grey/black/white a bit more, with our colours more subtle.
The clash socks are worse than the guernsey
More "streetwear". Something to wear every day and not just game day.
More women's wear.

This is the biggest point Hank93 We'd love streetwear/everday casual wear. Something that at first glance might not always be AFC looking. Mainly Grey/Black or White and only small branding. I believe Hawthorn has done this well.

How about a Crows Keith Conlon style driving hat also?

Yeeep.

FlexFit Hats are the way to go. AFC monogram on the front, and a logo, no writing, in the centre of the back of the cap.

Ones that fit smaller heads too. I know my nephew really wanted a cap, but he's 5 so the size was way too big. I'm not one who normally wears a cap because they are always too big as well. There needs to be some sizing option for not just the 'average' person.

59fiftys are a deep bucket with a wide brim. They still look ridiculous even when trying to fix them by bending.

Guess it depends on the shape and size of your head. The members cap sent out for instance is far too shallow for me.

Hey all. This is my first post, but thought this was a great thread so wanted to get on board.

I think that the club needs more items that are subtle enough to be worn outside of game day.

I know it has already been said, but a polo in the style of Lacoste or Ralph Lauren (i.e primarily one colour with a subtle emblem) would be great . Maybe the crow shiloette that is on the 'we fly as one' promo stuff.

For example you could have a navy blue top with a red emblem and subtle yellow sticking around the cuffs.

This can also be used with v-neck knits etc.

Also the whole range of caps (and beanies) should come in the colours that match the ones sent to members. It would be good to be able to buy a crows cap and wear it to the footy and still stick to the colour of the bay.

Haven't pretty much every club thats gone with BLK had problems with the colours not being as vivid as they were previously? (I haven't paid that much attention, but have seen it mentioned). I wonder if its a problem with the technology they use? the ink maybe? that washed out banana yellow and lighter colours over all isn't a great look. It's closer to the Gold Coast's colours than ours.

Richmond probably the best example. Black is not very dark.

I'd definitely buy some more Polo Tops (I already have this years media polo - which is by far our best polo shirt ever, I love the use of yellow), this is definitely an area we can make more money on. I work in an office that lets you wear casual wear, eg.slacks with polo's etc, and there are a lot of companies like my work place who have gone away from shirts and moved to polo's (Most tradie office's are like this nowadays).

If we came out with two or three different media polo's they would sell like hot cakes.

I never understand though, why the AFL Polo shirts are twice as much as my Norwood Polo shirts?? Crows are $90 and Nwd one is $45. Exactly same material, I've never understood this.

I'd definitely buy some more Polo Tops (I already have this years media polo - which is by far our best polo shirt ever, I love the use of yellow), this is definitely an area we can make more money on. I work in an office that lets you wear casual wear, eg.slacks with polo's etc, and there are a lot of companies like my work place who have gone away from shirts and moved to polo's (Most tradie office's are like this nowadays).

If we came out with two or three different media polo's they would sell like hot cakes.

I never understand though, why the AFL Polo shirts are twice as much as my Norwood Polo shirts?? Crows are $90 and Nwd one is $45. Exactly same material, I've never understood this.

Like most things, clothes are worth what people will pay for them. I guess enough people are prepared to pay $90 for a Crows polo shirt to make it a viable price point.

My Norwood polo is made by a cheap company that's why it is cheaper. It doesn't seem to fit properly either as the shirt is not long enough and barely goes over my waist

So H,
if any of this rad gear does come to fruition, will it be BLK, playcorp and an entirely different company that will knock it up??

I ask because I'd never buy our/the AFL's home brand gear. Shoddy AF quality.

Wouldn't mind seeing a crew neck jumper and or t-shirt using the crest instead of the crow-head.
This has the potential to be a fantastic thread if the Crowies listen.

T one honest I'm not fussed what the range is, the biggest issue is the exorbitant cost of every item.
I can purchase and import an NBA singlet or EPL top cheaper than I can buy an Adelaide Crows Guernsey. How is that possible?

Half the cost and sell three times as much. I can't tell you how many times I've looked at an item and decided not to purchase it based on the cost.

Yep, spot on. The prices are absolutely ridiculous. I'm not sure if this is due to AFL licencing costs the club pays on the merchandise, but still, the mark-up must be massive. And kids gear, don't get me started on that.... even more of a rort.

So here are my merchandise suggestions. Some have been mentioned but deserve repeating.

Branding

For me the biggest problem is the logo. It literally makes every piece of clothing look like some cheap, fake knock-off. The monogram is a big improvement and would look great on many items, but a new, stronger logo would give the whole range a big facelift and I'm sure increase sales. In the meantime, some merchandise with the heritage Crow silhouette would be great. Just the crow though, not the whole shield.

On-field

It's great to hear that the hoops will finally be fixed. The clash jumper is something that has generated much debate and I've made my feelings clear on many times before so I will leave that for now. The important thing now is getting the colours right. I think the Puma guernseys of the last couple of years were almost spot on.

Casual Wear

This is where we can make the most improvement IMO. The problem at the moment is that we have the on-field range and the generic playcorp range, but nothing in between. I'd love some high quality merch that isn't plastered with logos, but at the same time the over-the-top brightly coloured graphics on the playcorp stuff is just garish. My favourite piece of Melbourne Victory gear at the moment is this "originals" piece:

image.jpg

Imagine this, but with a dark red replacing the lighter blue and a subtle (not bright) yellow BLK logo and AFC monogram or yellow outlined Crow silhouette. I'd buy it in a heartbeat! (The current logo however would ruin it). We need more "genuine" products that aren't just the onfield players/coaches gear.

Pricing

This is a major problem. Items are just waaaaay too overpriced. I'm no economist but I feel there must be a sweet spot where they can reduce prices to which will increase sales by enough to cover the reduction in costs. I'd be far more likely to pay $80 for a jacket than $120, and suspect many others would too.

I think it's great that the club is asking for feedback on this. Let's just hope they take it on board!

One thing worth noting from this thread is that the twitter post from the club asked for ideas that were original, new, never been done before.

The overwhelming response has been more that we want smart looking stuff, not a billboard, not childish graphics, not over the top design. Subtlety is the order of the day.

Most suggestions have been referencing things done elsewhere (granted mostly outside the AFL) so its not a matter of the club getting too clever and reinventing the wheel but simply choosing from a different range to suit this want.

The closest thing to something original (apart from the AFC onesies) is the smart casual type polos and again, thats just a simple idea

So here are my merchandise suggestions. Some have been mentioned but deserve repeating.

Branding

For me the biggest problem is the logo. It literally makes every piece of clothing look like some cheap, fake knock-off. The monogram is a big improvement and would look great on many items, but a new, stronger logo would give the whole range a big facelift and I'm sure increase sales. In the meantime, some merchandise with the heritage Crow silhouette would be great. Just the crow though, not the whole shield.

On-field

It's great to hear that the hoops will finally be fixed. The clash jumper is something that has generated much debate and I've made my feelings clear on many times before so I will leave that for now. The important thing now is getting the colours right. I think the Puma guernseys of the last couple of years were almost spot on.

Casual Wear

This is where we can make the most improvement IMO. The problem at the moment is that we have the on-field range and the generic playcorp range, but nothing in between. I'd love some high quality merch that isn't plastered with logos, but at the same time the over-the-top brightly coloured graphics on the playcorp stuff is just garish. My favourite piece of Melbourne Victory gear at the moment is this "originals" piece:

View attachment 132613

Imagine this, but with a dark red replacing the lighter blue and a subtle (not bright) yellow BLK logo and AFC monogram or yellow outlined Crow silhouette. I'd buy it in a heartbeat! (The current logo however would ruin it). We need more "genuine" products that aren't just the onfield players/coaches gear.

Pricing

This is a major problem. Items are just waaaaay too overpriced. I'm no economist but I feel there must be a sweet spot where they can reduce prices to which will increase sales by enough to cover the reduction in costs. I'd be far more likely to pay $80 for a jacket than $120, and suspect many others would too.

I think it's great that the club is asking for feedback on this. Let's just hope they take it on board!

One of the best posts in this thread. Everything spot on.

On pricing pretty much all crows gear I've purchased I've gone for discounts.

End of season sales, ebay or sales on other websites. Don't think I've ever bought Crows gear from Crowmania at full price.

Yep same here. By then its always "outdated", which doesn't matter too much, but its nice to get something new from time to time. I've been scouring ebay for a while now for a nice Crows jacket. Had a great one a week or so ago from 1999 - adidas, old logo - but was sniped at the last second!