Review 2017 AFL National Draft - Friday 24th November

Dow, LDU & Rayner are taken. Who do you select at pick 4?

POTENTIAL top draft pick Paddy Dow's season has ended with shoulder surgery after he was injured at TAC Cup level last month.

The Victorian midfielder went under the knife for an arthroscopic reconstruction for the shoulder problem, meaning he will be unavailable for the NAB AFL All Stars match in Grand Final week.

Dow had hoped to avoid surgery after the problem arose while he was playing for the Bendigo Pioneers against Gippsland Power in late August.

The 17-year-old gathered 35 disposals, had six clearances, seven inside-50s and booted two goals that day, in what would be the final appearance of his 2017 season.

The surgery means he is likely to have a delayed start to contact training once he joins an AFL club after the national draft on November 24.

Dow is in the mix to be the No.1 pick after showing his talents as a goalkicking midfielder across a consistent season. He can turn on his pace and get out into space, and combines that with a hard-nosed approach when winning his own touches.

Explosive half-forward/midfielder Cameron Rayner, hard-working midfielder Luke Davies-Uniacke and classy on-baller Adam Cerra are also among the No.1 pick contenders. The Brisbane Lions hold the pick ahead of next month's trade period.

Lachlan Fogarty is criminally underrated for the jets, been killing it on a consistent basis all year, good balance between inside ball winning and getting it on the outside. Elite runner too.

Didn't get much midfield time for metro which hurt his chances of being picked up inside the top 15.
Fogs is my dream pick at 21 if we still have the pick and he's still on the board.

Post on Lions board re Cerra:

"Had a good chat with Adam Cerra at school today, he is pretty keen to stay in Melbourne and would love to go to the Pies at 6..
Had a laugh with him and said if he ends up at Brissie he better not bloody leave! and he laughed and said nah wherever I go I will be committed, and I quote " could be worse then playing footy on good coin for a living, even in Brisbane" haha
Very nice young man, humble and unassuming. Shoulder in cast but otherwise is a solid, athletic, very well put together kid."

Post on Lions board re Cerra:

"Had a good chat with Adam Cerra at school today, he is pretty keen to stay in Melbourne and would love to go to the Pies at 6..
Had a laugh with him and said if he ends up at Brissie he better not bloody leave! and he laughed and said nah wherever I go I will be committed, and I quote " could be worse then playing footy on good coin for a living, even in Brisbane" haha
Very nice young man, humble and unassuming. Shoulder in cast but otherwise is a solid, athletic, very well put together kid."

Yeah they're all humble till they hit the big league

Absolute disgrace if that is approved.

Would be a disaster for us in that we'd miss out on one of Dow Rayner Cerra or LDU
I doubt it would be straight after pick 1. More like end of first like they got last time.

The truth is their list is in better future nick than many other clubs.

GR, just popped up on the Herald Sun on my trip home. Author J Ralph.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...k/news-story/a90e140198beb26f59c86e1725a8af57
Thanks mate.

Brisbane Lions to make a case for another priority draft pick
JON RALPH, Herald Sun
an hour ago

BRISBANE will officially request a priority pick from the league before the AFL’s Commission meeting on the day of the Brownlow Medal.

The Lions confirmed to the Herald Sunon Wednesday they believe it is worth asking the question of the AFL despite a year of substantial growth.

Brisbane has finished 17th, 17th and 18th in the past three years, winning four games in 2015, three games last year and only five this year.

The Lions received a priority pick after the first round of the draft last year, a selection that after a complicated trade helped them secure Port Adelaide’s first pick in this year’s upcoming draft.

They were also able to turn their No.2 pick into the draft’s third overall selection and pick 16, selecting exciting midfielder Jarrod Berry with that late first-round selection.

Lions footy boss David Noble said Brisbane would put in a submission based on only 12 wins over three seasons.

Brisbane lost 14 games by over six goals this year and while they are hopeful of retaining free agent Tom Rockliff he is yet to make his decision.

It means they could lose another high-calibre midfielder from a side already needing to strengthen their onball core.

The Lions played attractive football at times, unearthed a bunch of talented kids and signed up most of their young talent.

But they remain rooted to the bottom reaches of the ladder as clubs like GWS with their list stocked full of top-10 selections continue to thrive.

“Talking to Greg (Swann) we probably still will put in a submission but I think we know what the answer will be,’’ Noble said.

“Obviously we continued to improve but it’s a process we will go through and pull all the figures apart and make a submission in the next couple of weeks.

“We have got until the September Commission meeting. We still had a handful of games where we were beaten by 10 goals.

“That figure came down but there is some argument there to putting a submission in.”

Brisbane is adamant Josh Schache is not a flight risk despite deciding against playing in the NEAFL grand final due to fatigue.

He reasoned after missing some of the season and also playing AFL he would have denied a regular NEAFL player a game.

Victorian clubs will again attempt to lure him south in the trade period but the Lions are steadfast that he is not a trade option.

“Absolutely (he is staying). The high performance guys came in and looked at his energy levels and he was stuffed.

“Based on that and his selfless attitude we said it’s a good decision for him.

“I know the rhetoric is you want your young guys to play in a Grand Final but it allows the other guys who have contributed all the way through to play and it was a balanced decision.”

The Lions are open to trading away their overall first selection and could again find a way to turn it into multiple picks.

Last year they gave up 2, 31, 51 and 61 to GWS and got back 3 and 16.

It meant they could maximise their top-20 selections, eventually taking Hugh McCluggage (pick 3), Berry (17), Alex Witherden (pick 23) and Cedric Cox (24)

I don't like that either - means it could be the difference between us getting a Fogarty/O'brien/Higgins or not...

In pretty much all media circles, their future prospects are rated above ours, so there is no way that they should gain access to another priority pick.

Thanks mate.

Brisbane Lions to make a case for another priority draft pick
JON RALPH, Herald Sun
an hour ago

BRISBANE will officially request a priority pick from the league before the AFL’s Commission meeting on the day of the Brownlow Medal.

The Lions confirmed to the Herald Sunon Wednesday they believe it is worth asking the question of the AFL despite a year of substantial growth.

Brisbane has finished 17th, 17th and 18th in the past three years, winning four games in 2015, three games last year and only five this year.

The Lions received a priority pick after the first round of the draft last year, a selection that after a complicated trade helped them secure Port Adelaide’s first pick in this year’s upcoming draft.

They were also able to turn their No.2 pick into the draft’s third overall selection and pick 16, selecting exciting midfielder Jarrod Berry with that late first-round selection.

Lions footy boss David Noble said Brisbane would put in a submission based on only 12 wins over three seasons.

Brisbane lost 14 games by over six goals this year and while they are hopeful of retaining free agent Tom Rockliff he is yet to make his decision.

It means they could lose another high-calibre midfielder from a side already needing to strengthen their onball core.

The Lions played attractive football at times, unearthed a bunch of talented kids and signed up most of their young talent.

But they remain rooted to the bottom reaches of the ladder as clubs like GWS with their list stocked full of top-10 selections continue to thrive.

“Talking to Greg (Swann) we probably still will put in a submission but I think we know what the answer will be,’’ Noble said.

“Obviously we continued to improve but it’s a process we will go through and pull all the figures apart and make a submission in the next couple of weeks.

“We have got until the September Commission meeting. We still had a handful of games where we were beaten by 10 goals.

“That figure came down but there is some argument there to putting a submission in.”

Brisbane is adamant Josh Schache is not a flight risk despite deciding against playing in the NEAFL grand final due to fatigue.

He reasoned after missing some of the season and also playing AFL he would have denied a regular NEAFL player a game.

Victorian clubs will again attempt to lure him south in the trade period but the Lions are steadfast that he is not a trade option.

“Absolutely (he is staying). The high performance guys came in and looked at his energy levels and he was stuffed.

“Based on that and his selfless attitude we said it’s a good decision for him.

“I know the rhetoric is you want your young guys to play in a Grand Final but it allows the other guys who have contributed all the way through to play and it was a balanced decision.”

The Lions are open to trading away their overall first selection and could again find a way to turn it into multiple picks.

Last year they gave up 2, 31, 51 and 61 to GWS and got back 3 and 16.

It meant they could maximise their top-20 selections, eventually taking Hugh McCluggage (pick 3), Berry (17), Alex Witherden (pick 23) and Cedric Cox (24)

If the people making your list management decisions are going to recruit Mason Cox then a priority pick ain't gonna do fu.. all

Review 2017 AFL National Draft - Friday 24th November