Training 2017 Preseason

I actually thought he had his best year last season. Maybe that's not saying much but he seemed to be one of only a few that continued to run hard to provide an option.

I agree in that it was probably his best season. I feel if the team itself were performing better he'd have had a great season. He's not the type of player who'll get the 3 votes in a losing side but would be capable of getting 1 or 2 in a winning side when he's on. Really though, nobody doubts his good footy, he's just not consistent.

I think we've all underestimated what frost could add to our list. Seems to have a very good head on his shoulders, I reckon he could really shine in our backline. We're in desperate need of some experience back there and although 50 games isn't a lot between him and Harris I'm confident our backline won't be the absolute basket case it was last year.

really great chat with Dayne Beams from around 29 minutes. some points he made-

1) he will play a couple of JLT games.
2) team has a license to play on instinct this year.
3) Rocky has been superb around the club and is in career best shape.
4) Christensen to play more forward than midfield.
5) McCluggage to play early on, reminds him of Pendlebury.
6) Berry to push to play early on as well.
7) Stefan Martin is massive and ready to smash a few blokes.

I wouldn't get my hopes up too much. Frost is likely to be solid defensively and give us a stopper at the back but don't expect him to offer anything going forward. He has decent height and is quick and personally I see him as a decent stop gap.
Frost has his best footy in front of him and I see him as a player who could still be there as we start to rise up the ladder.Agree he won't offer a lot rebounding out of defence but if he can limit some of the oppositions big men influence he will fill a need.I think he will be better than a stop gap for us.

Mal Michael never offered much rebound, but gee if you can negate the opposition key forward 4 times out of 5, you'd be happy with that from Frost. Justin Clarke was the same but we'd have him back in a second.

We can generate run and rebound from around him with Cutler, Mayes, maybe even Cox and Berry over time.

I prefer 'licence to play on instinct' than 'encouraged to make mistakes' which is how a couple of them have translated the coaches instructions. :eek:

Interesting reading about the new rule interpretation of ducking and that Rhys and Christenson prominent in the discussion.

In Tassie before Christmas the umpire that went down said he spent some time talking of the new interpretation to Rhys specifically. They worked hard on what will likely be paid and not and his technique around that.

He said he won't get as many high free kicks this year but he will still draw high contact frees at times cause he goes hard at the ball. It won't be a case of that's Rhys, he cant get a high tackle free kick.

Interesting reading about the new rule interpretation of ducking and that Rhys and Christenson prominent in the discussion.

In Tassie before Christmas the umpire that went down said he spent some time talking of the new interpretation to Rhys specifically. They worked hard on what will likely be paid and not and his technique around that.

He said he won't get as many high free kicks this year but he will still draw high contact frees at times cause he goes hard at the ball. It won't be a case of that's Rhys, he cant get a high tackle free kick.
Do the umpires know that? Lyndsey Thomas isn't getting free kicks even when some are legitimately there due to his reputation

I prefer 'licence to play on instinct' than 'encouraged to make mistakes' which is how a couple of them have translated the coaches instructions. :eek:

None of it is actually that different to how Leppa started last year - players we're encouraged to take the first option, even if that occasionally resulted in a turnover. It was only after the string of losses that self-preservation kicked in and players became more circumspect.

Yeah, most new coaches make noises about encouraging the players to play to their strengths, risk making mistakes and taking the game on. It's a pretty well worn cliche. The real test is if you can create and maintain an atmosphere where players genuinely feel like they can play that way. Doesn't matter how much the coach says it, the players are human and hear the groans of thousands of fans when they shank a kick straight to an opposition.

I feel like Fagan has his head around this.

Do the umpires know that? Lyndsey Thomas isn't getting free kicks even when some are legitimately there due to his reputation
The difference is Thomas dives like an italian soccer player so he doesn't get the benefit of the doubt. Players will adjust once the free kicks stop getting paid.

It was one of the specific reasons he was there. To talk about the defensive free kicks given away last year (we were the highest) and what is interpreted so they can improve where necessary. Then chatting about this new interpretation of high contact. Very much that Rhys techniqued free kicks at times which was fine BUT the new interpretation will not allow that to be rewarded so he has to adjust . It was set up by the Coaches and to help not judge.

None of it is actually that different to how Leppa started last year - players we're encouraged to take the first option, even if that occasionally resulted in a turnover. It was only after the string of losses that self-preservation kicked in and players became more circumspect.
You're not the first to under appreciate my humour. That honour goes to my wife.

Cheers lads,
It was a pleasure to spend some time with him, just a great down to earth bloke.
One thing that really stuck out in my mind about Jarrod was his leadership. Not only on the field playing footy, but off the field as a son, brother and friend. He is just the type of character that we need at the Lions.
I think leadership is definitely an area we have been lacking in, but it's very positive to see some of our younger brigade oozing with those qualities...Andrews, Keays and Berry are 3 in particular who I really rate as future leaders. It seems that Fages has also addressed leadership as an area of concern and is helping to empower not only the players, but also the coaches as well.
Exciting times ahead :)

Jarrod's brother Tom goes alright too and it will be interesting to see how he develops this season, co-captained the Vic Country U16 team with Billy Brownless's son Oscar in 2016....

Get along to all the Ballarat Rebels home games and you have picked up a beauty in Jarrod Berry, have seen him play back/forward/ midfield and he excels in all roles, especially in the midfield/forward role he played later in the 2016 season after killing it as a running back in his under-age year [2015] making the U18 All Australian team. A real uncompromising hard nut with a manic attack on the ball and opposition player with good pace, elite endurance and a raking kick. The current AFL player I compare him to is our Brodie Smith with a harder edge.

http://websites.sportstg.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-3020-0-0-0&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=45306318

Training 2017 Preseason