That's because my old thesis supervisor Arthur just retired.I did see an organisational psychology lecturers position at Griffith advertised on seek the other day if you want to come back to us...
Jeez man, what a return. Quality post.G'day guys,
Sorry, I wasn't sure whether to post this here or in the roster...
I met Troy Berry the other day (Jarrod's dad) and had a really good chat about Jarrod and the Lions in general. He was a top bloke and loves to talk footy. I've written a quick summary of some of what he had to say. I'm not sure if I'm just repeating what has already been mentioned in here/the general media, but here it is anyway.
-Before the draft, Jarrod's preference was to stay in Vic and his dream scenario would have been to play for Carlton. He was very happy to be picked up by any team though and was just thriving for the opportunity to play AFL.
-When Hugh and Jarrod found out that they would be heading up to Brisbane together, they were over the moon. They are tight mates and often joked about playing together in the AFL. He said they also knew Alex and Cedric pretty well and just couldn't believe their luck when they got called out too. In tongue and cheek I asked him if this meant that he wasn't a 'Go home risk?' Troy laughed and said he is loving life at Brisbane and living with one of his best mates. They would love to hold up the cup one day in the Lions colours. Apart from that, he said that Jarrod was very keen to repay the faith that Brisbane has shown in him and will squeeze every inch out of himself to carve out a successful career at Brisbane.
-The coaches and club as a whole has been fantastic to date. Said that both he and Jarrod are big fans of Fages. Really nice guy with a big focus on family and player welfare. Both has massive respect for him. Knows about the family's situation and plans are in place to make sure Jarrod gets to regularly catch up with them.
-He said Jarrod has found the training tough, but is getting through it well. He needs to acclimatise to the conditions a bit, but has been told by the coaches etc. that this is very normal. All about managing workloads.
-Jarrod gets along very well with Harris Andrews, who has said that the feeling up at the club this year is remarkably different from the previous 2 years. Said all of the boys at Brisbane are buying in with a focus on making Brisbane relevant in the competition again.
-I asked Troy about what he thought of the senior blokes at the club (in particular Rocky). He said he doesn't know any of them well, but Jarrod thinks all the players at the club are good value and no real knob heads. He said Jarrod wasn't the type of bloke to get into the politics side of things, although at times has had to pull a few blokes into line when he has captained his junior sides.
-In regards to Rocky, Jarrod has heard a few stories here and there, but from his point of view, he has only seen positive signs and without being very close to him, he has been a great support. Troy told me a couple of the things that he has heard about Rocky (mostly involving ex players). Most was pretty mild IMO, but one not cool.
That's about it. From Troy's point of view, there are some positive signs at Brisbane and Jarrod and the other draftees are loving it there. Hopefully he can be a 250+ game triple Premiership player!
G'day guys,
I met Troy Berry the other day (Jarrod's dad) and had a really good chat about Jarrod and the Lions in general. He was a top bloke and loves to talk footy. I've written a quick summary of some of what he had to say. I'm not sure if I'm just repeating what has already been mentioned in here/the general media, but here it is anyway.
-Before the draft, Jarrod's preference was to stay in Vic and his dream scenario would have been to play for Carlton. He was very happy to be picked up by any team though and was just thriving for the opportunity to play AFL.
-When Hugh and Jarrod found out that they would be heading up to Brisbane together, they were over the moon. They are tight mates and often joked about playing together in the AFL. He said they also knew Alex and Cedric pretty well and just couldn't believe their luck when they got called out too. In tongue and cheek I asked him if this meant that he wasn't a 'Go home risk?' Troy laughed and said he is loving life at Brisbane and living with one of his best mates. They would love to hold up the cup one day in the Lions colours. Apart from that, he said that Jarrod was very keen to repay the faith that Brisbane has shown in him and will squeeze every inch out of himself to carve out a successful career at Brisbane.
-The coaches and club as a whole has been fantastic to date. Said that both he and Jarrod are big fans of Fages. Really nice guy with a big focus on family and player welfare. Both has massive respect for him. Knows about the family's situation and plans are in place to make sure Jarrod gets to regularly catch up with them.
-He said Jarrod has found the training tough, but is getting through it well. He needs to acclimatise to the conditions a bit, but has been told by the coaches etc. that this is very normal. All about managing workloads.
-Jarrod gets along very well with Harris Andrews, who has said that the feeling up at the club this year is remarkably different from the previous 2 years. Said all of the boys at Brisbane are buying in with a focus on making Brisbane relevant in the competition again.
-I asked Troy about what he thought of the senior blokes at the club (in particular Rocky). He said he doesn't know any of them well, but Jarrod thinks all the players at the club are good value and no real knob heads. He said Jarrod wasn't the type of bloke to get into the politics side of things, although at times has had to pull a few blokes into line when he has captained his junior sides.
-In regards to Rocky, Jarrod has heard a few stories here and there, but from his point of view, he has only seen positive signs and without being very close to him, he has been a great support. Troy told me a couple of the things that he has heard about Rocky (mostly involving ex players). Most was pretty mild IMO, but one not cool.
That's about it. From Troy's point of view, there are some positive signs at Brisbane and Jarrod and the other draftees are loving it there. Hopefully he can be a 250+ game triple Premiership player!
I think Harris Andrews may just be my new favourite player. Not sure if it's the club that's gone out of their way to making him a young leader, but I'm loving it.-Jarrod gets along very well with Harris Andrews, who has said that the feeling up at the club this year is remarkably different from the previous 2 years. Said all of the boys at Brisbane are buying in with a focus on making Brisbane relevant in the competition again.
Thanks for posting. Nice to hear positive newsG'day guys,
I think Harris Andrews may just be my new favourite player. Not sure if it's the club that's gone out of their way to making him a young leader, but I'm loving it.
G'day guys,
Great stuff...thanks mate.G'day guys,
I usually just gloss over your comments because they're usually pretty meh for lack of a better term.. but I thought this deserved more than a likeJust hope the this off season optimism can translate into the season. I don't care if we lose every game this season as long as the boys don't drop their heads and keep cracking in.
As far as us supporters go I think this time is the real deal. I implore all of you to head down to training if you're still second guessing just how important Chris Fagan is to us. Ruse the buy in is real, talk to anyone involved in the club, the Brisbane lions are back. I for one cannot wait to hear the Gabba roar again.
We do seem to be perennial strugglers, but I have a gut feel the list isn't as bad as the results indicate. A little luck with injury would go a long way too.
Beams back gives our no 1 mid, Close I feel will be an important part of the team and we have added some young class. Having said all of that if we get out of the bottom 4 it will be a solid result
we definitely don't need too many injuries to our all too scarce experienced group of players ie. we only have 7 100+ game players with Christensen on 98 and Bewick on 92 games, from that group not many would see Martin, Bewick, Rich, Christensen or Bastinac as your traditional or demonstrated leadership types.Also, another point with lack of leaders is that sometimes a young guy needs to be pulled into line after a lack of effort/running etc and they will inevitably be better off it in the long run. Do we have this type of leader Rocky?/Robbo?/Zorko? etc
Geez, 92 games for Bewick. He's stagnated hasn't he.we definitely don't need too many injuries to our all too scarce experienced group of players ie. we only have 7 100+ game players with Christensen on 98 and Bewick on 92 games, from that group not many would see Martin, Bewick, Rich, Christensen or Bastinac as your traditional or demonstrated leadership types.
saying that it is obvious that Chris Fagan wants ALL players to take ownership of the club whether that is the youngest guy (Witherden) or the oldest (Martin), outside of D.Beams, Rockliff, Zorko and Robinson i would be confident that there will be players in our group that will present themselves as leaders as the pre and regular seasons unfold.
Geez, 92 games for Bewick. He's stagnated hasn't he.
I remember that run and thought similar. Ah well.There was one stage a few years back he played 3 good games around the wing. Thought he'd finally come into his own. They unfortunately proved to be the exception not the norm.
But he has amazing hair.Not sure he ever got going. Gifted plenty!
Couple of things l am nervous about this season is when we start losing this season, which we are bound to do, then will our heads drop after such a positive pre-season. I don't want them thinking "Oh no, differenet season, different coach but same results, why do l even bother" etc etc.