- Jan 10, 2011
- AFL Club
- St Kilda
- Other Teams
- Ormond AFC
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Nick Heyne too
Ben Paton tooDoulton Langlands is suppose to be extremely quick as well.
Alastair Smith.Don’t think so
Alastair Smith.
Colm Begley.
Nah I’m just thinking of the all the spuds we’ve picked over the years.
Brad Howard was fastDoulton Langlands is suppose to be extremely quick as well.
Brad Howard was fast
Just couldn't football
And this is why I'm all in for a player like Sloane and had no hesitation with Fyfe last year.Yeah that's a concern of mine at the moment. Steele I have high hopes for, as for one he's well ahead of the likes of Armo and Seb at the same stages of their careers, but until he gets there, if he does, we don't have a "contested pig" and until we get/have one, we're probably not going to be in serious flag contention.
Much easier to win a flag without being amazing on the wings/outside than it is to win one without being bloody good inside, which is why as much as we need to be better on the outside (which I'm extremely confident we will, with more games and opportunity there for the likes of Acres, Sincs, Coff and Clark) we need to be better on the inside even more.
Hunter (and maybe/hopefully even Coffield) I expect will help us out a bunch in there eventually, but probably not enough for 2-3 years, so a Sloane in the meantime would be ideal.
As much as I hate to be dependant on someone who hasn’t played a game yet, but Freeman being able to play seniors makes our midfield all that much more dynamic.The common thead with the majority of our mids are they are not naturally gifted runners, apart from Stuv. Seb has a great top speed but he is not a burst player or quick mover in close. Steele and Dunstan are one paced (medium) and are obviously still building their aerobic tanks.
We need dynamic natural midfielders in the Shoey, Merrett, Sheil or De Goey moulds. We may pick up De Goey via trade but will definitely require another elite mid to threaten.
But with less suspensionsDunstan is not athletically gifted however he’s fairly well rounded & is made of the right stuff. There’s no reason why he cant have a similar individual career to Jordan Lewis.
Welcome to big footy manFunny to watch the turning of attentions away from the previous whipping boys Paddy/Long/Jimmy etc, to the next poor bastard who wasn't perfect in the previous game, or the one who has struggled with long term injuries. Whoops, I didn't mean to say funny. I meant pathetic.
That’s not a bad comparison at all mate.Nah I don't reckon so.
He doesn't have the kicking skill of Lewis.
As weird as it sounds he actually plays closest to Rory Sloane. Both inside mid by definition but rarely in the bottom of packs they leave to Crouch brothers/Steele and Koby but they are the ones to actually move out of packs and link up play transitioning out of defence.
Sloane or Dunstan are decent athletes, strong for their size, good mark not lightning but above average.
I rate Sloane as a top 10 mid and I reckon Dunstan won't quite reach his level but a rung lower.
Yep, got dropped. He went to water after a 2nd gamer (from Freo, Banfield?) Stood him. Hall got 2 touches in a half. We need outside run, but not someone like him
Funny to watch the turning of attentions away from the previous whipping boys Paddy/Long/Jimmy etc, to the next poor bastard who wasn't perfect in the previous game, or the one who has struggled with long term injuries. Whoops, I didn't mean to say funny. I meant pathetic.
That’s not a bad comparison at all mate.
Lukey is probably on par with Sloane at a similar age too I reckon.
I think a lot of already made up our mind about what type of player Dunstan is, but over the last dozen or so games he’s not only finding more of the footy, he’s really hurting sides more. He’s a goal kicking mid and his skills and link up have been terrific.
De Goey is just a ******* ticking time bomb, no no no. We are not a big enough club to have some dog punching, lying figjam. We will get crucified.
Just target some Free Agents and take our top 10 pick to the draft and get a gun.
I agree with all that .
But what if .......
We could get Root Rat and retain our 1st pick this years draft ?
Hand skills are good, especially at 2.00 am on King StI'd assume De Goeys kicking skills are pretty good if we are targeting him, not that I have seen piles of him.
I just can’t see Collingwood letting him go for less than a 1st round pick, and I think it’s too high of a gamble.
Perfect mentor for Billings...Hand skills are good, especially at 2.00 am on King St
On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app
1. Dayne Beams goes okayWhen was the last good player that Collingwood let go? Don't say Daisy Thomas as he hasn't fired a shot at Carlton. They always retain their players unless they're damaged goods. Seems like we're getting played again like Laverde. Even if we're not, no way we get him cheap. They made us pay a second round for freezer.