2019 Draft

Well it could go wrong if you have SOS doing the ratings to get to best available.

A couple on here too, myself included I suppose 🤣

Hey mate, maybe I should just give you a call to discuss what I just posted.

We should get you to do your homework - you have been all over some absolute ripper picks in your time. You had Zorko pegged as a star of the future even after he was overlooked in the draft. You even dragged me along to watch the Great Zorko whilst still playing at Redland Bay. Massive call at the time - GOOD CALL! Taranto was a good call early before his hype too. You have had plenty of others too......
Cheers mate.

I am a bit like others have said, when we were crap, draft time is what we really looked forward to. Now we are the Best team (on and off the field), Off season is just a non stressful period, and the draft just doesn't have the same amount of emergency to it.

A great place to be at, but keeps us less informed. But now we are a week out, I am starting to find my interest. I just don't have the time to read all this back.

My thoughts...

I would like us to find 1 more developing key Back, then our normal Inside Mids search.... not that we are weak in mids now.

SO I am interested in what players will be available at the Key Back spot.

But I will definately find time to give you a call prior to Wednesday, to have a chat.

Melbourne's Pick 8 is a possible get! Demons likely looking for two picks for it. Think they'll hold off until live trading on Day 1 unless someone offers them something irresistable. Think there will be a a fair lull in proceedings between Pick 7 and Pick 8 as Melbourne sort through a few offers. Nothing is certain.

So, to be honest, I haven't really paid much attention this off season in the Draft yet, but now its getting close, interest is rising.

So I know little of the players, so my questions is more about Positional needs.

1. What are the Postions/types of player that the Tigers need most (top 3 needs?)

2. And after thats answered, who are a couple of Draftees that would be in the mix/best fits for us at 19, then around the next 3 picks.

Cheers to anyone who may anser this.

Our balance has been pretty good so I would be keen to just replace like for like:
Outside runners to replace menadue, ellis and grigg
Project KPF to replace moore and townsend
Pressure forward/small to replace butler and weller

I used to think we needed an inside bull to even up the clearances (and was very keen on trying to get Brayden Sier on the cheap) but now think that it just a byproduct of our gameplan and am not really fussed

Not sure about draftees that fit this bill though, sorry!

2. And after thats answered, who are a couple of Draftees that would be in the mix/best fits for us at 19, then around the next 3 picks.
I've now had a look through the draftees on the AFL website and draft central and....geez the cupboard is bare when it comes to key forwards.

Maybe Georgiades will be around at 38, 39 or 41? Seems a Riewoldt type and has slipped under the radar a bit due to injury. Comben looks ok but too big to work in tandem with Lynch/CCJ long term.

Melbourne's Pick 8 is a possible get! Demons likely looking for two picks for it. Think they'll hold off until live trading on Day 1 unless someone offers them something irresistable. Think there will be a a fair lull in proceedings between Pick 7 and Pick 8 as Melbourne sort through a few offers. Nothing is certain.

19 and future 1st...

i want hawks future first

deathriding hawthorn for a year sounds enticing
Didn't you watch the vid on the ALF site with the Champion Data dude saying how awesome Hawforn's recruiting is because they got 31-year-old Ricky Henderson??? They're a lock for 9th.

2020 draft is looking close to weakest on record. Around 12 of the top 20 players are tied to academies and the depth is not there. We should be trading our 1st round pick next year not looking for another one.
A first round pick is a good pick. And who's to say we don't trade that and our own pick for a damn good player.

And for those wondering...

HOW YOUR CLUB IS AFFECTED BY FUTURE PICK LIVE TRADING GUIDELINES

Adelaide:
Can trade one 2020 first-round pick, as they have acquired two (GWS’ and their own) but don’t have a full allotment of future picks.

Brisbane Lions: Can trade one 2020 first-round pick, as they have acquired two (Port’s and their own) but don’t have a full allotment of future picks.

Carlton: Can’t trade their future first-round selection as they don’t hold a 2020 fourth-round pick.

Collingwood: Free to trade any future selection as they currently hold a full allotment of 2020 picks.

Essendon: Can’t trade their future first-round selection as they don’t hold a 2020 third-round pick.

Fremantle: Can’t trade their future first-round selection as they don’t hold a 2020 fourth-round pick.

Geelong: Can trade two 2020 first-round pick, as they have acquired two (West Coast’s and their own) and have a full allotment of 2020 future selections

Gold Coast Suns: Can’t trade their future first-round selection as they don’t hold a 2020 third-round pick.

GWS Giants: Can’t trade any future selection as they traded away their 2020 first-round pick.

Hawthorn: Free to trade any future selection as they currently hold a full allotment of 2020 picks.

Melbourne: Can’t trade any future selection as they traded away their 2020 first-round pick.

North Melbourne: Can trade one 2020 first-round pick, as they have acquired two (Melbourne’s and their own) but don’t have a full allotment of future picks.

Port Adelaide: Can’t trade any future selection as they traded away their 2020 first-round pick.

Richmond: Free to trade any future selection as they currently hold a full allotment of 2020 picks.

St Kilda: Can’t trade their future first-round selection as they don’t hold a 2020 second-round, third-round and fifth-round pick.

Sydney Swans: Can’t trade their future first-round selection as they don’t hold a 2020 fourth-round pick.

West Coast Eagles: Can’t trade any future selection as they traded away their 2020 first-round pick.

Western Bulldogs: Can’t trade their future first-round selection as they don’t hold a 2020 second-round pick.

Reckon we're just sitting back watching this all unfold and realising that with 4 picks inside the top 40 we don't have to jump in to bed with just anyone, we can wait it out and see how the draft unfolds and then swoop in or take what comes.

If you're 89 points better than 2nd do you have any needs? :think::think::think::think:
Yes. We need better depth in tall defenders. This is the perfect year to get 1 more tall KPD. CJ/Chol look like tall fwds. Jury is out on Miller, Garth. & Balta's position, right now he looks best as a ruck/wing. So getting a couple more KPDs ( I think we lost our VFL tall defender) I don't any of the draftees but deKoning is real tall. We won't be debating his height like we did with Garth. Worrell. Is 195. Good, but Gould is only 191. Not tall enough to play KPD.

Reckon we're just sitting back watching this all unfold and realising that with 4 picks inside the top 40 we don't have to jump in to bed with just anyone, we can wait it out and see how the draft unfolds and then swoop in or take what comes.

Best way to get overs for your picks is to wait for the heat of draft night. Some team will get desperate and want to deal with us and we will capitalise.

So the trades are:

Adelaide get 22 & 2020 R3
Adelaide give 28 49 & 2020 R4

Crows now have 6 22 23 37 & 45

Dockers get 8 28 49 & 2020 R4
Dockers give 10 22 2020 R3

Dockers now have 7 8 49 58 69 79 & 83

Dees get 10 28 & 2020 R4
Dees give 8

Dees now have 3 10 28

Yes. We need better depth in tall defenders. This is the perfect year to get 1 more tall KPD. CJ/Chol look like tall fwds. Jury is out on Miller, Garth. & Balta's position, right now he looks best as a ruck/wing. So getting a couple more KPDs ( I think we lost our VFL tall defender) I don't any of the draftees but deKoning is real tall. We won't be debating his height like we did with Garth. Worrell. Is 195. Good, but Gould is only 191. Not tall enough to play KPD.

Maybe we should draft Elton back? He's 197cm!

Our balance has been pretty good so I would be keen to just replace like for like:
Outside runners to replace menadue, ellis and grigg
Project KPF to replace moore and townsend
Pressure forward/small to replace butler and weller

I used to think we needed an inside bull to even up the clearances (and was very keen on trying to get Brayden Sier on the cheap) but now think that it just a byproduct of our gameplan and am not really fussed

Not sure about draftees that fit this bill though, sorry!
I reckon we already have KPF depth with CJ & Chol. Not sure about Miller. Where has he been playing? Anyhow I tall and the rest to replace the departed players

2019 Draft