2019 Draft

with Butler going (??) and the Higgins medical issue. We look a little short of small forward depth outside of Aarts.

picking one out with our 2nd-4th pick might be handy - maybe Kysaiah Pickett at 38/39/40
Dimma loves all the Pickett boys, beginning with his old team mate Byron Whispering Death.

with Butler going (??) and the Higgins medical issue. We look a little short of small forward depth outside of Aarts.

picking one out with our 2nd-4th pick might be handy - maybe Kysaiah Pickett at 38/39/40
How much small forwards do we need?

Rioli
George
Bolton

are in the team

Aarts - maybe not good enough? ok as a back up i guess?
Higgins - medical stuff

??

i would say at least one more if butler goes
If Dan, Shai or George go down play Stack forward. Edwards, Lambert and Graham can all play that role as well. We have options. Our squad is versatile.

Would steer clear of Gould based on these results. Obviously what happens on the footy field doesn't necessarily translate to test off the field but for an undersized third tall these numbers are concerning.

Gould's testing:

Vertical jump - 54cm - 2nd last
20m sprint - 3.218 seconds - last
Agility - 9.004 seconds - 4th last
Yo-yo - 19.40 - last
2km time trial - 7min, 16 sec - 2nd last

information courtesy of Pie 4 Life.

Would steer clear of Gould based on these results. Obviously what happens on the footy field doesn't necessarily translate to test off the field but for an undersized third tall these numbers are concerning.

Gould's testing:

Yo-yo - 19.40 - last

Maybe he's the perfect example of 'man child'

I think Worrell will be around our pick. Played forward for Vic Metro but is an elite intercept mark.

Will be gone by our pick. Honestly wouldn't surprise me to 1. go inside the top 10 and 2. be developed as a midfielder in the Bontempelli mould, which this comment I don't throw away lightly. Posters on here love to believe tall athletic players can become mids when most of the time they don't have the skillset for it but Worrell potentially does. I Think come draft day he will be right up there.

Gould's testing:

Yo-yo - 19.40 - last

would be a good get if still around at our first pick i reckon...

Maybe he's the perfect example of 'man child'

Yes and No. As concerning as those numbers are for Gould he has performed better than any other draftee against 'men' and obviously being the size he is has helped in that regard. However he was part of premiership winning team and a pretty big part at that, the potential problem that he could have going forward at the higher level based on those results is the small forwards might be too quick and nimble and the big guys to big and strong for him meaning the only role he can really play is as the main rebounding defender which although he is great kick he doesn't offer the run and carry that you would want from a player in that role like Houli for example.

he will lose the chub like Oliver with a preseason or two

previous touted as no.1 pick - would allow vlastuin to move middle

hurn like?

would be a good get if still around at our first pick i reckon...

Their are a number of guys around the 190cm mark like Gould who play an intercept/rebounding role of the half back and I think come draft day Gould may be the last player that I would pick. Right now I have Will Day and Trent Rivers top 2 but Trey Roscoe may be number 1 come draft day. I think this is a far better draft than people are acknowledging.

Will be gone by our pick. Honestly wouldn't surprise me to 1. go inside the top 10 and 2. be developed as a midfielder in the Bontempelli mould, which this comment I don't throw away lightly. Posters on here love to believe tall athletic players can become mids when most of the time they don't have the skillset for it but Worrell potentially does. I Think come draft day he will be right up there.

You might be right, his range varies a fair bit but he’s got a tonne of potential. We’ll see how the trade period changes the order of selections.

he will lose the chub like Oliver with a preseason or two

previous touted as no.1 pick - would allow vlastuin to move middle

hurn like?

Oliver was 3rd in the agility test and also hadn't completed a pre-season.

Those results are super concerning, you'd hope Gould was injured or something.

Gould's testing:

Yo-yo - 19.40 - last

With these numbers he has no chance to make it in the AFL , Hope he was just having a bad week but its terrible

Gould's testing:

Yo-yo - 19.40 - last

Geez, what did he have the flu or something!! Glandular fever. Maybe a groin. Maybe he just isn't that athletic. Imagine how Greg Williams would have gone at the combine! Lol

Oh, I'm not writing him off but his GF was his best game for the season by a fair margin.
Was regularly posting single digit possession counts through the H&A, though. If he has a big pre-season he'd be right in the mix for r1.
Hopefully he's wise enough not get get ahead of himself.

Riley showed plenty in the granny.

2019 Draft