Prediction 2019 "Hypothetical Trade, FA, random player you wish we could get" thread..

Who will you be happy with Hawthorn landing?

• Patton

Votes: 164 71.0%
  • Finn Maginness

Votes: 198 85.7%
  • Greenwood

Votes: 48 20.8%
  • Frost

Votes: 111 48.1%
  • Bonar

Votes: 66 28.6%
  • Pepper

Votes: 35 15.2%
  • Cox

Votes: 36 15.6%
  • Petracca

Votes: 77 33.3%
  • Elliot

Votes: 68 29.4%

Exactly. If he's the best talent then GCS will take him first, there's just no guarantee that they wouldn't. You can't trade for a pick and then ask them to guarantee that they don't take a certain player that they may (also) think is the best talent - you might as well trade away the first pick. Who cares about the 'optics?' GCS are on their knees so optics should be out the window.

And we are talking about the team that is being run by Cochrane - someone who most on here think has it out for us. Do we really think he'd agree to suck a deal to save face because of the optics? This is a man who has publicly attacked the character of a stand-up individual in Jaeger at every turn.

There's more chance that they would take him first just to spite us for having the cheek to make a trade and then tell them who they can/can't pick. Even if they rated Anderson much lower.

Let's stay in 'Hypothetical land' for a few more moments and imagine Anderson was there at pick 2.

Smith and our first pick to get Anderson at pick 2 would take a in a heart beat.

I can't even (hypothetically) imagine Breust or Gunston being traded. Be crazy.

Maybe the carnage Jeff hinted at might be obout forcing the retirement of more Premiership players.....puopolo, burgers, Birchall, Shoemakers....

Let's stay in 'Hypothetical land' for a few more moments and imagine Anderson was there at pick 2.

Smith and our first pick to get Anderson at pick 2 would take a in a heart beat.

Maybe the carnage Jeff hinted at might be obout forcing the retirement of more Premiership players.....puopolo, burgers, Birchall, Shoemakers....
Forcing Popeye & Burgers into retirement is dumber even that trading Gunston & trading Gunston is crazy stupid!

Anyway we can get Anderson we should be exploring.. if there was a trade of one of our senior players and our pick 10/11 for their pick 2, then we’d need a guarantee that they will select Rowell. Both of these guys will be all Australians and stars, but Anderson is a generational type player, think a cross between Bont and De-Goey with some clearance ability like Cripps, legit star.

Now if you’re not willing to part with a senior player for that then I think you need to reassess. We need to get elite high end talent in, it starts this year.

We're talking up Anderson in a big way in this thread, but there are a lot of people who don't understand that Rowell is literally right there with him and will be more ready to play in a worse side round 1 2020. This is what Gold Coast need.

Rowell will have an awesome impact through the midfield next year if he can stay fit, where Anderson might get lost a little bit in a bad side. This is the difference.

You need to be in the right situation to realise your potential. It's the reason why Jack Watts career has amounted to nothing, wrong situation.

Personally I would take that trade. But the best chance of that happening is if GCS don't get a priority pick, and if they do I don't think they'd be trading it for Smith - they need a foundational piece or true veteran leadership.

Melbourne could be keen, but they would probably rather take the pick to the draft. If Anderson is as good as everyone on here is making out then they'd get more out of him than Smith and pick 10.

Melbourne will have the following picks (with no priority given to GCS): 2, 20, 38, 56, 74

And WBD will have: 12, 30, 41, 46, 48, 84

And we will have: 10, 28, 45, 82, 87

Both of those teams are apparently keen on Smith. We could maybe target pick 20 from Melbourne and pick 12 from the Doggies?

Hugh Dixon looks a talent, just kicked a nice goal. Tassie kid. Hawk supporter.

Get him in.

I only saw the second half yesterday, but he looks a good size, competed well against Jonas at full forward and against Lycett/Ryder in ruck. Hit a ripper pass into the corridor at one stage too. Took a nice grab under pressure from Jonas, but it had gone out of bounds! Looks to have some talent.

Hugh will be back home down here this week and is catching up with his Kingston Tiger mates, so hopefully I can get some info on where he is at with Freo. Apparently the lad was so nervous yesterday that the coaches had to take his phone off him. According to my mate down here:

I thought he did some really good things in traffic up the ground. Was great fun. All of the mates group got together and watched the game. They couldn't get back from Adelaide in time for work, otherwise they would have all flown over. He was so nervous before the game he had to hand his phone in.

Hawthorn: Smith + 28 + 45
WBD: 12 + 30 + 48
Would leave us with: 10, 12, 30, 48, 82, 87

Hawthorn: Smith + 45 + 82
Melbourne: 20 + 38 + 56
Would leave us with: 10, 20, 28, 38, 56, 87

Interestingly, with his finish to the year, do we actually want to get rid of Smith? I reckon the last 4-6 weeks he was very good.

I guess one positive, his trade value might well have increased.

Interestingly, with his finish to the year, do we actually want to get rid of Smith? I reckon the last 4-6 weeks he was very good.

I guess one positive, his trade value might well have increased.

Of any of our middle aged brigade I believe that Shiels is the most expendable - Mitchell, Jaeger, Worpel and Wingard are all better midfielders, and Coniglio is too (should he come).

We need outside pace (Smith) and goal options (Breust and Gunston) much more than a 5/6th midfield option. That role could be covered by a rotating forward or Howe, Maguinness(?), etc.

Of any of our middle aged brigade I believe that Shiels is the most expendable - Mitchell, Jaeger, Worpel and Wingard are all better midfielders, and Coniglio is too (should he come).

Yes, but because of that he has very little trade value. He's worth more to us from a midfield depth and experienced leadership perspective than what he'd get for us at the trade table.

We need outside pace (Smith) and goal options (Breust and Gunston) much more than a 5/6th midfield option. That role could be covered by a rotating forward or Howe, Maguinness(?), etc.

I’ll never not be baffled by how underrated Liam Shiels is.

Probably not the best best currency though. However gold Coast desperately need experienced consistent players with good leadership and defensive game. Shiels + 10 for 2 may be a long shot but not impossible considering the Weller deal with freo.

Surely we aren't just talking about what a quality person Shiels is, then next minute we wanna trade him to bleedin' Gold Coast.

I’ll never not be baffled by how underrated Liam Shiels is.

Who says I'm underrating him?

He's a very good solid player, a middle tier player who is capable of some big games. But out of the midfielders that I listed he's inferior to all of them, and in terms of team needs he's more expendable than Smith, Gunston and Breust.

Tell me where I'm wrong?

Who says I'm underrating him?

He's a very good solid player, a middle tier player who is capable of some big games. But out of the midfielders that I listed he's inferior to all of them, and in terms of team needs he's more expendable than Smith, Gunston and Breust.

Tell me where I'm wrong?
A player has to agree to a trade. Can't see any contracted Hawk player agreeing to a trade to the Gold Coast.

Pondered this myself last night.
"Potential" midfield/wingers of Mitchell, O'Meara, Worpel, Wingard, Shiels, Coniglio, Scully, Smith and if we are entertaining Whitfield next season then something simply has to give otherwise we may have a JPK scenario play out with young Finn Maginness and we don't that.

Yes, but because of that he has very little trade value. He's worth more to us from a midfield depth and experienced leadership perspective than what he'd get for us at the trade table.

It's in the eye of the beholder, isn't it?

Shiels, IMO, is the kind of player that GCS need. At least more so than a Gunstan or Breust. He's a great character and is leader (culture setter), the latter of which is something the other's aren't.

A player has to agree to a trade. Can't see any contracted Hawk player agreeing to a trade to the Gold Coast.
Correct. Ain't gonna happen. The only one who mayyy be interested in Burgoyne (uncontracted anyway), who just wants to keep playing.

Well we currently have 2. That means at least 1 trade out of someone with currency, and no plays for anyone in the Whitfield, Hill variety...

Not quite. I think we have three.

1st rd, 2nd Round, and Finn.

Finn could jeopardize our 2nd round tho so it’ll likely be traded up above where we think Finn will get bid on