2019 planning

Missed the Freo game this week can anyone tell me how Lobb looked? I am seriously considering him at R2 with how cheap he is. My team just looks 10000% better with out both of Gawn and Grundy, not sure i can bring myself to do it though.
My R2 from the start, even considered him for a forward spot as I think he's good for a 78-83 average or more. Priced at 66 or 68 I think.

More points last week in the ruck but still serviceable with Darcy rucking this week.
It's been said on big footy that he looks like he hates rucking though.
Scored 97 & 70, will play every game if not injured and Freo will sit him forward to clunk marks when needed.
If utilised properly, I can see him returning to his top form where he once set a record for contested marks. Fyfe back in the middle winning a clearance from Sandi/Darcy, quick kick and Lobb will be hard to stop up forward with the structures the way they are.

Not a keeper but if he can pull out 80's with the odd 70,90,100 I'll be happy.

My R2 from the start, even considered him for a forward spot as I think he's good for a 78-83 average or more. Priced at 66 or 68 I think.

More points last week in the ruck but still serviceable with Darcy rucking this week.
Scored 97 & 70, will play every game if not injured and Freo will sit him forward to clunk marks when needed.
If utilised properly, I can see him returning to his top form where he once set a record for contested marks. Fyfe back in the middle winning a clearance from Sandi/Darcy, quick kick and Lobb will be hard to stop up forward with the structures the way they are.

Really like this pick. Spent a bit of time training with the main group on the DT drawing board a couple months back. Safe 80 with all the marks and (hopefully) goals he kicks

Lobb seems similar to last year and I know he was quickly traded out of many teams in first couple of weeks with his 74,72 and 52. Averages 66 last 3 years. I see this being around his score this season, I cant see freo scoring heavily either. At 485K there is Worpel in FWDs which i think has a higher chance of scoring regularly. I would look elsewhere, just my thoughts

Edit,
Hes around the price im looking at for F4

Made the biggest change to my side all seaosn with one big change - Macrae OUT, he hadn't left my side all season and I finally had to make way for him. The extra cash has allowed me to splash a lot of cash elsewhere and the team now looks very good.

Fingers crossed this side makes some money and I can get Macrae back in soon.

Lobb seems similar to last year and I know he was quickly traded out of many teams in first couple of weeks with his 74,72 and 52. Averages 66 last 3 years. I see this being around his score this season, I cant see freo scoring heavily either. At 485K there is Worpel in FWDs which i think has a higher chance of scoring regularly. I would look elsewhere, just my thoughts

Edit,
Hes around the price im looking at for F4
I need a ruck at his price though, exactly his price actually as every side I've had has had him R2 (except my joke side that had him R1 & Clarke R2)
I could downgrade Laird or Lloyd to get Lobb upgraded but it's just robbing 1 position of a 100+ scorer to pay another.

The lack of bankable scores from the $170-$270k bracket means you then need to look to the odd mid pricer.
I like Bailey and Elliott for forward cheapies that look like best 22 and safe scorers.

When I had T.T, an example was
T.T 105 & Lobb 70
Gawn 105 & $300k ish - basically someone that'll average 70 if lucky. Cousins & Walsh the most likely.

I need a ruck at his price though, exactly his price actually as every side I've had has had him R2 (except my joke side that had him R1 & Clarke R2)
I could downgrade Laird or Lloyd to get Lobb upgraded but it's just robbing 1 position of a 100+ scorer to pay another.

The lack of bankable scores from the $170-$270k bracket means you then need to look to the odd mid pricer.
I like Bailey and Elliott for forward cheapies that look like best 22 and safe scorers.

When I had T.T, an example was
T.T 105 & Lobb 70
Gawn 105 & $300k ish - basically someone that'll average 70 if lucky. Cousins & Walsh the most likely.
Could you go Linc the Stink at 300K - yeah 70ish average but thats still 100K profit or so.
I have a similar problem to you, Newnes has been floated at that score as well...

The lack of forward rooks is definitely annoying. Would love Dom Sheed (who I reckon can go 100) over Worpel (who smells like your typical inconsistent mid-pricer) but to do that I've got to have Parker on field instead of a guy like Bailey Scott/Constable.

Although I feel like I wouldn't be playing fantasy if I didn't have to endure praying for a rookie to go 50 each week.

Tim Kelly vs Travis Boak

Who wins. This is the hardest decision in my side atm
Im thinking Kelly.

At best Boak will replicate 2013/14 scores but he is over 30 now. Kelly has natural growth and looks like he has better fantasy game but is prone to bad weeks.

First time poster what is everyone's thoughts
thanks in advance
Rock solid team mate. You have the top guns on all the lines without completely compromising your team which is a great start.

Defence is smart. 2/2/2 structure so no complaints there.

Midfield is solid with a couple of speculative (per say) picks in the middle. Probably have one too many rookies starting on a high scoring line IMO so I would look to upgrade one of them. But can understand why you would rather not considering that’s where all the money generating rookies are this year.

Rucks obviously top notch.

Think that’s about where everyone’s forward line should be at this point. Good mix of premiums and a midpricer who appears like he can score. Then obviously filled out with rookies who will almost certainly line up round 1.

Good first post mate.

Things I would maybe look at if you want to solidify midfield would be downgrading one of the defence premiums to a midpricer to get enough cash to up a rookie. If that doesn’t leave enough cash then you could always upgrade both your speculative picks in Taranto and rocky for example to true top line premiums. Just a thought.

Rock solid team mate. You have the top guns on all the lines without completely compromising your team which is a great start.

Defence is smart. 2/2/2 structure so no complaints there.

Midfield is solid with a couple of speculative (per say) picks in the middle. Probably have one too many rookies starting on a high scoring line IMO so I would look to upgrade one of them. But can understand why you would rather not considering that’s where all the money generating rookies are this year.

Rucks obviously top notch.

Think that’s about where everyone’s forward line should be at this point. Good mix of premiums and a midpricer who appears like he can score. Then obviously filled out with rookies who will almost certainly line up round 1.

Good first post mate.

Things I would maybe look at if you want to solidify midfield would be downgrading one of the defence premiums to a midpricer to get enough cash to up a rookie. If that doesn’t leave enough cash then you could always upgrade both your speculative picks in Taranto and rocky for example to true top line premiums. Just a thought.

Thanks for the reply. Id love to field a few more 170k rookies to allow me to upgrade rocky and taranto to say treloar but not many decent rookie option so my hands are tied atm.
I'm settled on my forwards and defence atm unless people aren't named or injured.. which lets hope not.

Mid price madness and fallen prems for me! Running with a lot of blokes who had down seasons from their bests for certain reasons who I believe should be able to improve on their current price by 10+ points. Trying to only pick guys who I see upside in. Only exception being Grundy, I dont really see much upside with many of the rucks this season.

In the past I would've automatically grabbed Laid/Lloyd, Macrae etc. but trying to choose guys who will better themselves. More risk in this strategy as you dont have that security, and often guys who have been down on their bests arent as durable as these safe options, or carry inconsistencies. Love the look of my midfield at the moment though, think they all have a massive ceiling which is great.

Treloar and Laird vs Macrae and Witho
In these situations I try to take a guess on what i think these players will average.

For me I think Treloar can improve and average 110 - 115 (injury affected score of 66 in last years avg of 108.5, plus Collingwood appear to be playing a higher possession game) and Laird imo will probably stay the same 107. Macrae is a hard one to tell, will he be able to continue what he did last year? Averaged 122, and had a score of 44 where he got injured, we could give him anywhere from 120 - 125 depending on how we feel he is going to do. Witho averaged 88 and signs point to natural progression so maybe around 95.

Treloar 110 + Laird 107 vs Macrae 125 + Witho 95

Its all subjective and how you think the guys will go scoring this year. You can also consider value in your decision too, maybe you think Witho is 10 points underpriced which means your $$ are better spent going with him etc.

2019 planning