Draft Review 2019 - Revisit the 2019 AFL Draft

Thoughts on North's plans for their bevy of second rounders? A few handy players still on the board, but I'm not sure how many last another 8+ picks.
I'm no expert, can't say I've seen all the prospects, but from what I have seen, wouldn't mind Gould, Roberston, Rivers, however I don't think they'll still be available for our picks.

I get it. The bid was always coming at 9 for Henry and it was suggested by plenty of Mock Drafts. Maybe they wouldn’t be so salty if the green bid came before Henry?

Anyway I wouldn’t be salty if I was a Fremantle supporter, they nailed it last night. Best out of everyone I think
Should of been smart and done it themself at 8...didn’t trade ahead of us for the fun of it.

Played with severe shin splints could barely run. You obviously just looked up stats and didn’t actually watch any of the draftees footage?

You’ve watched plenty of Philp though right?

I did watch one Sandy game live where Maginness, Byrnes and Dean dominated but I can’t say I noticed Bergman at all.

Not so sure about the Hawks reaching.

A lot of recruiting gurus at AFL clubs viewed him as having one of the biggest upsides in the draft pool.

A fact confirmed by KM.
I think the Hawks got a beauty with Day. No one has been able to list any weaknesses apart from being skinny which no one gives a shit about for an under 18 player. Hawks will develop him into a great player.

They get another ripper tonight in Maginess, they've played it very well because he should've gone in the top ten.

Don't think any bridges were burnt - except amongst some salty fans who lack basic comprehension.

Try being an Essendon supporter and having a polite and respectable conversation with any Hawthorn or North Melbourne supporter. Very few and far between before they resort to petty sniping if not straight up trolling.

BF is appaling now a days.

I think the Hawks got a beauty with Day. No one has been able to list any weaknesses apart from being skinny which no one gives a shit about for an under 18 player. Hawks will develop him into a great player.

They get another ripper tonight in Maginess, they've played it very well because he should've gone in the top ten.
Watching the kids highlights I think the Hawks see him developing into a wing or outside mid with height, dash and goo$ footy iq and great foot skills.

You are right about Finn, he looks a ripper.

As does the bloke you guys got in Kemp.

I don't understand the anger from Freo fans.

They traded up specifically to get ahead of Carlton, knowing we liked Henry. They left themselves with a bunch of useless picks that were only really good for points matching.

We forced them to use those useless picks. I have to do the maths, but surely a bid 5 picks later would have used up almost as many points and Freo might have saved a couple of picks in the ~70s being sent to the back of the draft (which hardly counts as a downgrade as their may only be ~65 picks used this year...)

The biggest knock on Day is that he isn't an outright flashy player. He's very composed and quick-thinking, but he'll rarely do anything that's individually amazing like break a line / tackle for a freaky goal. He'll clean up his teammate's mistakes and dispose of the ball into space, consistently. Elite "linkman"-type. If that makes sense. I reckon he has the scope to become a big-bodied midfielder if he and the Hawks are lucky. Not like Fyfe or the Bont, more like Pendlebury. That, or he'll become a smart and crafty half-back like Grant Birchall.

Props to Carlton for having the balls to actually bid, of course. More clubs should take a leaf out of Carlton's book there. Green going so late was just ridiculous, a player who averaged 30+ disposals... insanity...

I wonder why only clubs preceding an academy or fs pick can bid?
Why can't any club bid on that player if they have enough points or even have to go into deficit. Just make it open slather bidding on academy/fs selections.
No discounts, clubs only have the right to match.

Next year's draft is not as strong/deep as this year's. Unless North have a few Academy and F/S picks next year, their strategy seems bizarre to me
Think trade targets and trading in for high picks. We clearly didn’t rate this draft.

How the **** did the AFL sign off that deal?

The Weller deal all over again.

Ban Gold Coast indefinitely from priority picks.

Next year's draft is not as strong/deep as this year's. Unless North have a few Academy and F/S picks next year, their strategy seems bizarre to me
There will be more academy and F/S picks next year, with clubs wanting to trade up to protect those investments. Or we use our picks to bid on those players ourselves. Either way we're looking in pretty good shape. And we'd need to be after that huge fricken question mark over this years haul.

Draft Review 2019 - Revisit the 2019 AFL Draft