2021 Training Reports

Hip 2 About 5 shots on goal, McStay 2, Rayner2, McCarthy 2, Matho

Wow, I thought Daniher & Cameron might of kicked a couple already given his form.

Still nice to be able to score well though.

A couple of photos which may answer some questions as to who played for "Lions Blue" the better 22 and "Lions Yellow"
The whiteboard photo is from start of game and is the Lions Blue lineup.
Check out the names upside down at the bottom of the whiteboard. Looks like they may not have played
One photo of each group. That's about all the photos i can post tonight.
Cockatoo did not take part and was the goal umpire at the end i watched from.
As others mentioned Neale, Zorko & Robbo played a half then laps
Berry's shoulder looks like it is okay. He cleaned Zorko up in a crunching tackle right in front of me. Both got up okay.
The game was played in a hard but fair manner and would have been a good hit out for the team
I left with a couple of minutes to go but up until then only one injury.
Bad luck for a young guy doing his hammy. I did not recognize his face so maybe someone not on our list

DSC_0048.JPG DSC_0047.JPG DSC_0052.JPG

No idea, that coach that worked with McStay last year seemed to work. Changing the technique maybe, this isn't a "all AFL players have this problem" as we were by far the worst goal accuracy team in the competition last year.

Fair enough, I'm going the other way though, I'd rather the 'don't mention the war' approach lol. Relax, enjoy your footy, all the other areas of improvement are coming along nicely, goal kicking accuracy will improve organically too, even moreso if you're not thinking about it.

Haven't seen any training so far, so watched the hit out with some fresh eyes. My take aways
- We were trying to play a quick moving, but kick mark type style of play. Big difference watching was the hitting up of leading targets, not just going inside 50 but around the ground. Focus on going through the middle if we could (were plenty of risky kicks and turn overs because of it) otherwise changing angles. Watching us kick a 40m pass to someone who just did a 30-40m lead was great, it was even better when that player wheeled around, immediately played on and did the same.
- Ely Smith was eye catching. He had some really nice inside releasing hand balls, but his work rate around the ground was top notch. He was getting plenty of it, and popping up from HB to HF, likewise Matho. Berry played a big role for the yellow team and got heaps of it, seemed to play fine without issue. Copped some big tackles and laid a few big ones himself
- All 3 talls were good. Hippy, Joe and McStay got a heap of the ball. Wont come as easy against real competition, but the way in which we moved the ball and hit this guys up on the lead was great. No "specky" marks, but all 3 took some nice strong grabs, wasn't just all easy out the back stuff.
- Rayner was impressive. Think the opening bounce was a clearance by Rayner, kicked it to Hippy, who wheeled and delivered to Joe. Can get use to watching that. Rayner ran hard, was involved and got a good amount of ball. Reckon he still kicked about 3 goals as well, pushing forward from the middle rather than starting forward.
- Some of the younger guys impressed. Prior had some nice moments, Ely Smith as mentioned but Dev was also good. Madden was making an impact with his pace, turned the ball over a bit but was involved and added something to the back half.
- Didn't see Ah Chee a whole heap, i think he played the opposite wing to where i was, but he looked clean and switched on. The few times i did see him, he was cutting through players and releasing others into space with some nice skills and good decision making. Towards the end he seemed to be playing more off the HB and was using his run to good effect.

Another thing i felt was that the yellow team, despite the score line, was actually very competitive. The blue team still could have killed them considering the shots they missed, but it wasn't a walk in the park, they scraped and fought and hit them hard, and the top up players didn't take a backward step. Few of them i thought did pretty well. Going off pictures 1 of them was Carter Michael who i thought battled really well. Yellow team just didn't have the polish to chain the touches together to generate the scoring shots. They played fast and went for it, but often just missed the target. Very different feel to years gone by where i watch these games and the bests just curb stomp the rest team by infinity.

Gardiner is a total pest, Birchall took a kick to the leg/groin area manning the mark at one stage which made him audibly gasp. Gardiner, who had been lazing on a specky bag watching the entire game, was in hysterics over it.

2021 Training Reports