List Mgmt. 2022 Draft Thread

Packaging up 39 and a future 2nd/3rd for a chance to take both George and Clarke would be ideal, but I reckon GWS will get a better offer for the pick and we'd probably need to part with a F1. At that price, I'd prefer to take Clarke at 24 and a Van Es / Binns / Gilbey type at 39.

Our midfield will need restocking next year, will be an opportunity to package up our firsts and grab one of the best available midfielders.

Packaging up 39 and a future 2nd/3rd for a chance to take both George and Clarke would be ideal, but I reckon GWS will get a better offer for the pick and we'd probably need to part with a F1. At that price, I'd prefer to take Clarke at 24 and a Van Es / Binns / Gilbey type at 39.

Our midfield will need restocking next year, will be an opportunity to package up our firsts and grab one of the best available midfielders.
If we take Clarke or George at 24 I'm very keen on Binns at 39.
He looks like a very tidy wing prospect, almost a cut price Hollands.
I think we definitely need to bring in at least one outside runner.

I’m just not convinced they’d outright part with a F2 (likely pick 19-25 next year) to get an extra player in the same range this year.

I’d do it for their F3 and a wink-wink that they’re not allowed to pick the next player we want.

I’d then try to package Essendon’s (early) F3 with our pick #39 to move up the order.
You may be right, but Bombres will know exactly who they can get at 24 if the deal is done and have many needs to fill.

They need players now (as evidenced by them knocking back 3 firsts including 2 F1s for pick 5).

With Sammy doing the negotiations, I reckon their F2 would definitely be the target.

For those in the know, what is the negative on Hustwait?
I think he's lightly framed and still growing so mids who will take a year or 2 can slide. I've mentioned him a few times though, really composed, excellent user, high IQ and will be a great size. If we took him at 25 I'd be rapt.

Here's another useful ABC article. They quite often do good statistical and graphic stuff from a new angle, not just the usual padded-out clickbait fillers that you see from so many other media outlets.

What I found interesting was their chart on which players were most frequently linked to certain clubs/picks. GWS were the club linked to both George (at pick 17) and Clarke (at 21). Of course they were forced to use their pick 17 on Rowston but if that weight of pundit opinion has any researched basis there's a very high likelihood they'll take either George or Clarke with pick 22 tonight. Then we just have to wait for the WCE pick before ours.

Also of interest in the same chart was that Hotton was the player most frequently linked to us at pick 23/24. Of course that was all pre-draft and could well have changed now that at least two of George, Ryan, Barnett and Clarke will still be on the board at our pick.

Also, have a look at the "stockpiling for the future" chart near the end. According to this rough assessment ("rough" because it will depend on 2023 ladder position) we have the fourth best draft hand in 2023.

Our next two picks should be quick and skilful players. Don't really care if they're midfielders or wingers but we certainly need more speed around the ball.
100% we were very one paced this season. Need to get Treloar and Baz around the footy more and add more speed around them.

Our next two picks should be quick and skilful players. Don't really care if they're midfielders or wingers but we certainly need more speed around the ball.
I really want Clarke first, Cody, West, Clarke, JJ is such a nice small forward group.

From there onwards agree we need speed and skills

HS seems to mostly be linking us to Cowan. Only other team they’re linking to Cowan is Sydney and they’re choosing after us. Might watch some highlights and try to get myself hyped for a strong four or five years before Tassie comes into the equation.

Honestly I'm fine with picking Cowan, even with the Tassie risk. If you're a non-tall and not contributing meaningfully in the first 5 years, you were a massive waste anyway. We should get some good footy out of him in a position of need, then be compensated if he does go.

You have to back yourself in to retain players, or else you risk losing out on the non Victorian talent that are among our best non-Midfield players (Dale, Daniel, Naughton, Gardner all top 10 in B&F, and English would have been up there if he didn't miss games)

Good chance that AFL will start up a Tassy franchise by 2025 or 2026 IMO. That would only be 2-3 years (with first year being a development year for him) and you can bet we wouldn't get adequate compo for it when he goes.

Honestly I'm fine with picking Cowan, even with the Tassie risk. If you're a non-tall and not contributing meaningfully in the first 5 years, you were a massive waste anyway. We should get some good footy out of him in a position of need, then be compensated if he does go.

You have to back yourself in to retain players, or else you risk losing out on the non Victorian talent that are among our best non-Midfield players (Dale, Daniel, Naughton, Gardner all top 10 in B&F, and English would have been up there if he didn't miss games)

Fair points. I still see him as more of another Bailey Dale, and as good as Dale is I don’t think we need two of him, but if he can use his weapons on the wing, that’d be good. No doubt he’ll be professional and give it his all, and hopefully in a few years when Tassie gets their license, he either stays or we get well compensated.

Fair points. I still see him as more of another Bailey Dale, and as good as Dale is I don’t think we need two of him, but if he can use his weapons on the wing, that’d be good. No doubt he’ll be professional and give it his all.
I don't disagree, would only want if he's not competing with Dale. I think it's more likely he pushes someone like Williams out of his spot eventually

Fair points. I still see him as more of another Bailey Dale, and as good as Dale is I don’t think we need two of him, but if he can use his weapons on the wing, that’d be good. No doubt he’ll be professional and give it his all, and hopefully in a few years when Tassie gets their license, he either stays or we get well compensated.
I don’t know too much about Cowan but I believe his defensive side is pretty strong?

Maybe the play here, if not to play him on the wing directly, is to shuffle out Dale to the wing? I’m reluctant to move him because he’s so good in defence but geez I think he could be an absolutely brilliant winger - he already hits the scoreboard every other game from half back imagine the damage he could do from the wing and delivering inside 50.

If Cowan can offer just half of what Dale brings offensively, but is better defensively that could be a big win for us if Dale can find his best on a wing. Also if he is better defensively it might let us get away with Cowan and Daniel at half back whereas I don’t think we can play Dale & Daniel both there.

If we take Clarke or George at 24 I'm very keen on Binns at 39.
He looks like a very tidy wing prospect, almost a cut price Hollands.
I think we definitely need to bring in at least one outside runner.

Binns wont get to 39.
Saints and Blues keen low 30s.
Blues maybe less so now they have hollands.

But Binns is a very smart user of the ball.
Id love that off our wing

M

Max King, Joel Selwood, Riley Garcia, Jake Lever all did knees in draft year
Reckon it's too early to call on King. With his brother also having an ACL injury there's gotta be a pretty high chance of recurrence. Hope I'm wrong.

I really wonder how we get involved with Essendons pick,

Either we swap them 24 for 25 with maybe an upgrade of F3 to F2 coming back or could we possibly get 25 off them so they just don’t have a pick in that range and use their next to match. Problem with that though is they don’t have to trade with us so we’d be in the bidding war with multiple clubs who want picks in this range.

Would anyone do F1 + 39 for 25 + F2? Means we downgrade a late first rounder to an early 2nd for an upgrade of 39 to 25 and could potentially get Clarke & Cowan this year which would be bloody brilliant

I definitely prefer to stock up on needs based picks. Outside speed, skill and goal sense are my wish list which obviously puts Clarke right up high.

A future mid would be nice but I feel like we can wait a season and use our 2 x F1 next year to acquire a young mid (Callaghan) and/or draft our future midfield.

Collins was All Australian fullback from memory... could, and have been wrong before though
IIRC correctly Collins was very highly rated.
2nd best KPD in the draft behind the No 1 pick and yes, AA.

From an article post draft:

"Collins, 17, partnered No. 1 pick Jacob Weitering this year and some recruiters didn’t see a massive gap between the backline junior stars.

Dalrymple said All-Australian Collins was a task-orientated defender with unshakable concentration, while his intercept-marking was an “outstanding trait”."

Not sure what happened?

Too slow and not able to cover for that with other traits?

Funny how he was part 2 of the trade down for picks with Carlton that also got us Dunkley.

While I am very leery of Cowan due to the incoming Tasmanian team within the next few years, he'd give us a very defensively minded player that could play up on the wing or the flank.