Analysis 2022 List, Game Plan and Best 22?

I reckon Sheldrick will play a lot of reserves footy this year and may force his way in on a HFF but I doubt he'll play much true midfield this year absent of injuries.

The guys who interest me most on your list are Kennedy, Stephens, and Heeney.

Warner, Rowbottom, Parker and Mills are basically set in stone as first-choice midfielders imo. Florent will almost certainly reprise his wing role with, I suspect, Gulden and Campbell or Heeney getting time on the wing as well. Florent isn't beloved on this board but he just finished top 10 in the Skilton and I think does his job well enough week in and week out that, now that he's played almost 100 games, he's a reliable contributor to keep. Particularly if the options to replace him are even younger and less experienced.

Do they make room for Kennedy from round 1? Probably, but how does that leave enough room for Heeney to play in the middle like the coaches have stated they want? Stephens I'm sure has his eyes firmly on a midfield spot after re-signing for 2 years and putting on some weight over off-season. Personally, I think Heeney is best suited to staying forward the bulk of the game and moving into the middle if needed. He doesn't have the electric athleticism of Dangerfield, Fyfe, Petracca in the middle to burst away from congestion but he has got forward line athleticism where he's just about unstoppable one-on-one. I'd leave him there and let Kennedy/Stephens duke it out for inside midfield time.

I have a feeling that Kennedy will be a Mr. Fix It this year. He probably won't have a clear, set role, because it's unlikely Horse would give one to someone whose future seems so short-term. But he is still a leader and a quality player, so there will always be a place for him in the team as long as he's willing and able. I suspect that if Mills or Parker goes down, he'll be thrown back in as clearance beast. If we need a run-with role done, he'll get given that responsibility. If we need someone from the mids to just rest forward more, he could do that. Whatever Kennedy can do to make the others around him better is kind of where I think he's at.

I agree about Heeney. I'd also argue the first month or so are probably the most important of Florent's career to date. As you said, he's rated more internally by the coaches than he is on here, so I presume he will line up on the wing and be given the chance to maintain that spot. But I'm not sure this time he will get away with doing his usual routine of a few standout performances followed by very sketchy form. There's too much talent waiting in the wings for him to be able to afford to ebb and flow in form.

And as for Stephens, it's just so hard to peg him. I've seen mentioned around a few times now that he's doing great in training. We heard that in his first pre-season and he had a pretty decent first year. We also heard it last year and his season was underwhelming. He's obviously an elite trainer as that's been a constant of his time at the Swans, but he's gotta start converting that into meaningful performances. The longer it takes for him to do that, the further behind that pack of young mids (like Rowbottom, Warner and possibly Gulden) he falls, and the harder it'll be for him to break into that group.

Heeney is almost an impossible match-up when up forward.Speed, agility, aerial prowess, x factor goal sense. Played consistently midfield I sense it just dulls his impact because of the work load. I'd much prefer him to be that strike weapon. My only wish for Heeney is greater reliability in front of goal. Can occasionally miss when he shouldn't
I cannot like this enough. My thoughts exactly.

Heeney is almost an impossible match-up when up forward.Speed, agility, aerial prowess, x factor goal sense. Played consistently midfield I sense it just dulls his impact because of the work load. I'd much prefer him to be that strike weapon. My only wish for Heeney is greater reliability in front of goal. Can occasionally miss when he shouldn't

My problem with Heeney is he isn't consistent enough in general. He can have games where he seems unstoppable and then the next game he is around but isn't having much of an impact. If he could play closer to his best more often he would be an AA player easily.

And as for Stephens, it's just so hard to peg him. I've seen mentioned around a few times now that he's doing great in training. We heard that in his first pre-season and he had a pretty decent first year. We also heard it last year and his season was underwhelming. He's obviously an elite trainer as that's been a constant of his time at the Swans, but he's gotta start converting that into meaningful performances. The longer it takes for him to do that, the further behind that pack of young mids (like Rowbottom, Warner and possibly Gulden) he falls, and the harder it'll be for him to break into that group.

I never thought that Stephens was that dominant in his first two preseasons. I was surprised when people on the forums had him as round 1 best 22 in 2020/2021. In his first preseason he was still a lightly built kid soaking up knowledge and still not fully clean under pressure. Second preseason I think he had some injury issues so never got continuity.

From the few sessions I have seen this year. He did look promising. He is using his running ability by trying to be an option for the short handball. He seems cleaner with his kicking and skills under pressure. Also seems more comfortable with the physical contact when he gets spoiled from behind or pressured at the contest. At the end of sessions I have seen him practicing his one on one wrap up tackling.

I am not saying he will have a break out season. But he seems to be improving. And I think it is important for him to get continuity in his training.

I never thought that Stephens was that dominant in his first two preseasons. I was surprised when people on the forums had him as round 1 best 22 in 2020/2021. In his first preseason he was still a lightly built kid soaking up knowledge and still not fully clean under pressure. Second preseason I think he had some injury issues so never got continuity.

From the few sessions I have seen this year. He did look promising. He is using his running ability by trying to be an option for the short handball. He seems cleaner with his kicking and skills under pressure. Also seems more comfortable with the physical contact when he gets spoiled from behind or pressured at the contest. At the end of sessions I have seen him practicing his one on one wrap up tackling.

I am not saying he will have a break out season. But he seems to be improving. And I think it is important for him to get continuity in his training.

I was referring more to him being mentioned as a stand-out by Swans players.

I

Tt was good they gave him 2 more years. Gave me confidence that the Swans still rate him. Some take longer. At least we didn't do a Jarryd Lyons with him.

My problem with Heeney is he isn't consistent enough in general. He can have games where he seems unstoppable and then the next game he is around but isn't having much of an impact. If he could play closer to his best more often he would be an AA player easily.
I'm not sure the consistency is Heeney's problem but maybe rather your perception of him.
I see Heeney as a leopard. Lithe, agile capable of the impossible in tight situations. He is an impact player. Many on here wanting to see him in their eyes as a Dangerfield or Petracca. These guys are lions. Built tough like tanks that go all day but not agile, lithe like a Heeney.

Perceptions on people once set in your mind are hard to remove. You can be disappointed in someone because you expect something better rather than accepting they are what they are.

If you've never seen Heeney before and watched a match would your perception be different without your expectations?

Haven't posted for a while but i have been thinking, after watching footage of some of these new kids added to our already young & talented squad.

Jordan Dawson has made a HUGE mistake.

.................... and there is no way Hewitt would have been in our best 25 by mid season.

Hewitt is still criminally underrated here.

He might have been pushed out of the midfield on a few seasons but the coaching staff would have found a role for him somewhere else (likely in a shutdown or defensive capacity).

His versatility was a massive strength

He might have been pushed out of the midfield on a few seasons but the coaching staff would have found a role for him somewhere else (likely in a shutdown or defensive capacity).

Hewett is either the most underrated or overrated mid we have ever had on this board. There is no in between haha

Haven't posted for a while but i have been thinking, after watching footage of some of these new kids added to our already young & talented squad.

Jordan Dawson has made a HUGE mistake.
From a footy perspective, he sure has. He won't see the ball as much or have as reliable targets. They'll play him off HB where he's less effective and wonder why they bothered.
Personally he has more disposable income and a happy missus.
Last year's news.

Ridiculous assertion considering he was never dropped in 120 games for us.

Yep, people kept saying year on year "I don't think Hewett will be in our best 22" and year on year he always was. It was very very rare that at the end of a game people would say "Hewett had a bad game"

That was last year.
I am not saying he isn't in Carlton's best 25 this year. I was saying he wouldn't have a spot in our best 25 by mid year.
Not underrating what he has done for us. We now have a heap of midfielders with more strings to their bows, who are on the improve. Don't forget George was squeezed out of the midfield & into the backline early in the season but was put back in the end when Mills & Warner were missing.

Just my thoughts.

Dynasty talks when we couldn’t even get over gws

Let’s hold on just a little imo

Sort the backline out otherwise there no dynasty

Just lost an a grade hb/winger that won’t help

We do have a good group

That is fair. GWS and Gold Coast were supposed to be dynasties too and look where they got. Though I think it's still an achievement that we've been able to assemble a group of young talent comparable to theirs last decade, without having it just blatantly given to us via the draft.

Talk of Hewett and Dawson....
both would've been best 22.
Hewett is relatively easy to replace (Rowbum says hi).. and for half the price
Dawson (like Tedeski said) has made a huge mistake.
They've both gone.. no point worrying about that.. The good news is there are now two spots opened up in our best 22, and there are heaps of young players that have been drafted over the last few years itching for a go
Warner, Stephens, Gould, Rowbum, Sheather, 1st yr draftees plus more.. all see an opportunity (or two) to get a game (or 22 games)

He was basically shown the door Caesar. A bit heavy handed to be calling the opinion ridiculous and yes I think he would have struggled for a position.

Can never understand all this love for what's gone and not relevant anymore. I trust why the coaches shuffled him out the door even if I don't understand it. He's not here so.....I move on and focus on what is

He was basically shown the door Caesar. A bit heavy handed to be calling the opinion ridiculous and yes I think he would have struggled for a position.

Can never understand all this love for what's gone and not relevant anymore. I trust why the coaches shuffled him out the door even if I don't understand it. He's not here so.....I move on and focus on what is

If we don't care about the players, why should they care about us? They owe us no loyalty, since we show them none, so we aren't entitled to carry on whenever they seek a trade. And yet we do. I said this in the Hewett thread, which I'm not sure why the conversation was moved away from, since as you say, so few seem to care about him that perhaps the topic should just be kept there.

I've bitten completely through my tongue since this is the 2022 thread. Happy to tell people why they're wrong about him being easily replaceable, offering no unique or special "strings to the teams bow", or in a fait accompli, overtaken by others, in his own thread from now on though.

Analysis 2022 List, Game Plan and Best 22?